We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location but services needs a big improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked the Chester Brooklands based on the fact that the previous reviews were good and the location was ideal for us on our short trip to the UK. Rooms on the website looked on the biggish side so we decided to stay for a couple of nights which fell over the race weekend.

I've always been a big believer in making a good first impression and unfortunately my first impression of the Chester Brooklands was far from good. We were greeted by two managers (I believe Mark & his wife) who seemed like the last thing they wanted to do was to greet guests - add this onto the fact that we had just flown for 16 hours and you start to get a picture of what it was like. We were handed a key, nothing was explained (i.e. breakfast ordering system)and I then had to carry two heavy cases up the stairs to our room with not even an offer of help. After reading the other reviews it seems as if we might have caught the management on a bad day but even so I don't think there can be any excuses for this type of behaviour.

The room was clean with a nice bathroom with two big windows that opened to let in a lovely cool breeze. However, the shower needs to be upgraded - 80's style plastic unit that dribbles out scolding hot water is far from ideal. I stayed in a travelodge in London for business this week that put the brooklands to shame on this front.

The bed looked gorgeous but on closer inspection two beds had actually been pushed together - this inevitably left a huge ridge in the bed which was not very nice to sleep on. Surely a double room should have a 'real' double bed in?

Once we had worked out the breakfast system I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with the speed of service and quality of the food. The young lady serving the food was also very polite and efficient - a marked improvement on the earlier experience.

On leaving the hotel the landlord did apologise for his initial greeting (presumably after our complaint) but by this stage it was too little too late.

Definitely more negatives than positives for the Chester Brooklands and at £250 for two nights I can help feel that our money would have been spent better elsewhere. 100% will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

How sorry we are to read your awful very uncommon review. We clearly let you down despite in our opinion really working hard to try and help you get over your jet lag. You did not mention that your boyfriend was coming for a stag party and you going your separate ways with your girlfriends. The price you paid was fair I can assure you of that. You even had our larger family room which has the Super King Sized Zip and link bed as well as a single bed. All hotels have such beds as Zip and link beds in there family rooms to offer versatility. The bathroom is not as you put it an old fashioned 70's type which I do find rather unfair and crazy suggestion. Others who come along and enjoy our facilities will be able to vouch for this. Our checkout time is 10:30am but you chose to turn up at 9am which is fine but then you demanded the room immediately which again was rather unfair. We went out of our way to help as much as possible and told you to feel free to leave your bags for us to take to your room but you chose to take them up without our knowing until we got to the room to finish off the cleaning. As we say in life you can please most people most of the time but sadly not all people all of the time. We feel this matter would have been far better dealt with had you advised of an arrival time and asked us for all the information you needed as we stated upon arrival. Anyway glad you got home safely and wish you both well for the future. Chester Brooklands is still one of the best in our opinion. We love our home and our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

myself and my husband have just had two great days at the brooklands,very clean,very welcoming,thanks alot to mark and his wife.they felt like real friends made us so welcome,great room,great food,thanks alot we will hopefully be back in september,

Room Tip: nothing to much trouble
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you so much for your valued comments and are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed staying in our Executive Suite. We do very much enjoy helping our guests as much as possible during there stay be it answering any questions they have or any assistance they need. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we will very much look forward to seeing you again and being able to offer you more good ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A very friendly and comfortable B&B. Mark & Remina could not have been more helpful with tips about what to see, how to get there etc. Ideal location for exploring Chester, N Wales and Merseyside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very friendly b+b, nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable room, I even had breakfast out in the garden. This is a perfect location for the city, about 20 minutes walk and you can also walk into the city along the canal path. The railway station is 10 minutes walk away and it is very cheap to get to Liverpool and the Wirral. I would thoroughly recommend Brooklands, and Chester is a lovely city to visit.
Thank you John and Ramira for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysonthemoveEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

a very presentable b and b spotless and everything catered for,deco well done and layed out nicely.landlord and landlady very nice helpful and pleasant. a excellent location easy to get to and only a short distance to access all local ammenities and locations.breakfast top notch and well organized.looking forward to a return visit to get in everything we missed the first time.5***** in my book.

Room Tip: cant say only saw one room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Very friendly. Good sized clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldieSY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Found this B&B on the internet and chose it based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. Very easy to find and lovely and welcoming. Parking too and only a short walk into the centre of Chester. The room and facilities were fabulous, with everything we needed. Lovely break and we would definitely book there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We do hope to see you again and look forward to you booking directly with ourselves for the very best room rates. Thank you once again Mark and Remina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#21 of 44 in Chester
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 4 bedroomed B&B in Chester. We offer free car parking and free super fast wifi. You will find us very peaceful and a good place to unwind. All rooms are at the rear of the property. We have an abundance of restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Brooklands b&b
Chester Brooklands Hotel Chester
Chester Brooklands Bed And Breakfast Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing