We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for one night while in Chester. Since we didn't have much time in Chester we saved time by taking a taxi from the train station to our B&B and having the taxi wait to take us to the town center (which is about 15 min walk away) while we quickly went in to check in. Mark was so wonderful despite our rushing in and out. He offered to take our luggage up to our room for us so that our taxi fare wouldn't get too high while we checked in. When we returned later that evening, our luggage was in our room and our coats were hung up for us. The room was lovely and so was breakfast. We wish we had stayed longer at this wonderful B&B. Chester was a surprisingly great town as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justanotherM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Brooklands is a well managed, efficient and welcoming B & B on the outskirts of Chester. It takes about 20mins to walk to the town centre although there is a regular bus service from the main road a short distance away. Parking for 5 cars off road. Order breakfast the night before on a proforma on the desk in the hall. This works very well. The meal arrives promptly and is well cooked. Plentiful tea, coffee and cereals. We were give a triple room which was more than adequate for our needs. Very large bed and a very clean room with two windows, one overlooking the garden. The bathroom was fine, again spotlessly clean and the electric shower worked as advertised.
Free WiFi is provided. Local information and specific details on the B& B were well laid out and clear. A good location for travelling to other attractions in the area, Nat Waterways Museum, Port Sunlight and the Lady Lever Art Gallery and Chester Oaks. All told a very pleasant stay and warmly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Brooklands last week. On arrival we were greeted in a most friendly courtious and helpful way by Mark and his wife, (they do ask to let them know of your eta) offered some tea and Mark took the luggage to our room.
The room was clean and of a good size with a massive bed, two 3foots zipped together and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very well cooked with a very large choice (you tick of a choice card the day before) and if we wanted more it was no trouble.
There are some very nice shops and restaurants nearby in the village with a Sainsbury's open till 11pm. The walk into Chester took 15minutes or you could take a bus from almost outside the house, no it's not on a main road.
Mark gave us many suggetions of places to eat or go and see, this was helpful. one suggestion was Peckforton Castle, about 13miles from the B&B and on our way home. Thanks Mark it was a fabulous place to see and reasonable for a cream tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photogent m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklandsbandb, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. We also enjoyed you staying with us and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife and i recently stayed here in a double room , it was a bit on the small side but was nicely decorated and tea and coffee making facilities were available.
You had to order your breakfast the day before, i ordered kippers and scrambled eggs my wife ordered poached eggs.it was not what we expected i got boil in the bag kippers, my wife got a single poached egg on a plate.
Overall a little bit expensive for an average guesthouse.
I am writing this review in response to an email from Mark and Remina with a link to this page asking for our views. I hope they are not dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is advertised as an executive king size. it has a kingsized bed but it is at the top of the h...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Sorry you felt your breakfast order was not upto scratch. I can confirm you ordered off our menu Poached Egg on toast not poached eggs. We could easily have solved this for you if you had just asked. We always welcome guests to let us know what they need as without there talking to us we cannot put it right on the spot. My advice is next time you travel if something like this happens just simply ask and most hoteliers will not hesitate to put it right rather than withhold any concerns. Please give hoteliers an opportunity. Your stay with us was for a 1 night Saturday which is why you paid slightly more than a normal 2 night weekend break which is always very well priced. I do not believe the 7 foot ceiling was such a problem but sorry you felt it was. We do try our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My son and myself had a three night stay at Brooklands and everything was excellent a very nice room the breakfast was lovely and everyone was very helpful. It is well positioned just a short fifteen minute walk in to Chester City centre

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dp425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt we did all required to make your stay comfortable. It was a pleasure to have met you both and do hope we get to meet one another again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed overnight on our way back to Ireland. We had a friendly arrival and as I have mobility problems an extra chair was provided. We had a good stay and a pleasant breakfast. We appreciated the parking and the free WiFi provided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at the B&B for two nights while visiting Chester. The B&B has parking facilities and is also within walking distance of the town centre. A taxi fare is only £4 if youd prefer not to walk. The B&B operate a pre order menu system for breakfast which helps them avoid waste I guess but they will provide extra tea, coffee and toast. The owners were welcoming and were able to provide advice, information, maps etc of the area. It did say in the rooms that the towels would only be changed every second day however I feel it should be daily if required.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank yoyoottoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback and of course thoroughly enjoyed being your hosts. From what I see the fact you felt you only get towels changed every other day was a let down. Sorry you feel this way - we do try to protect the environment which is why we feel every other day is ample. We do like to feel though that we are approachable and would of course provide daily change of towels if requested. Thank you for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#20 of 44 in Chester
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £65 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 4 bedroomed B&B in Chester. We offer free car parking and free super fast wifi. You will find us very peaceful and a good place to unwind. All rooms are at the rear of the property. We have an abundance of restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Brooklands b&b
Chester Brooklands Hotel Chester
Chester Brooklands Bed And Breakfast Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing