We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dahinda, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just returned from a sixteen day tour of the UK for our 25th anniversary. The final three nights were at the Brooklands in Chester. Mark Tollet is the best host we found in our experience, and could win awards for his friendly and genuinely sincere manner. We felt as if we were being greeted by long lost relatives. He is a perfect encyclopedia of information and history of the area, and steered us to a really meaningful stay in historic Chester. The Victorian home that he and his lovely wife maintain is a perfect example of that era, with significant modern updates. Our top floor room was perfect. Clean, spacious, light and airy. The bed was large ( I 'm six feet, 2 inches) the bathroom spotless, the shower excellent and the breakfasts, ordered the night before, we're perfect. Should we get to Chester anytime in the future we will surely stay again at the Chester Brooklands B&B.

Room Tip: We had room 5 at then top of the house. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TV-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    57
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
170
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantastic stay...the owners are very friendly & very helpful! Breakfast was cooked freshly and was lovely...will certainly go back again in the future and will tell family and friends to go there if ever they go to Chester!Thankyou for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollescote
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

we arrived early for our 1 night stay and it was no trouble for us to park the car at the bed and breakfast and also we were allowed to check in when we arrived so we had our room key to come and go as we pleased. Mrs Tollet was very helpful by giving us a map and directions into chester and also advised us of pubs and eating places not far from the bed and breakfast. We walked into chester which took around 15-20 minutes which was great. Our room was very comfortable and clean overlooking the lovely garden, bathroom was also clean with plenty of hot water . The breakfast was great and the fact you could choose what you wanted and the time you want it was also a good idea. All in all a very nice b and b and will definitely recommend to friends and family and will go back ourselves at some point. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonicWollescote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to the proximity of friends who were staying nearby. The b&b was overall average but could do with some modernising. The rooms were comfortable, however as we stayed over thurs/fri there were roofers outside our bedroom window on the friday morning which meant no privacy. The breakfasts were brought out with plastic covers on them which was a bit odd and even though I had written my breakfast order the night before i still had to remind the host for a pot of tea. On the morning of check out which was considerably early at 10.30am we received a knock on our door at around 10am reminding us of our check out time which i thought was unnecessary and somewhat rude as we had not requested a wake up call. Probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottaluv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtollet, Owner at Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us in our home and our Bed and Breakfast. We would like to respond to some of your comments made if thats ok. When you booked your confirmation clearly stated that checkout time is 1030am. On your day of checkout we did not see you for breakfast but we left you asleep until 1020am as we knew you had been out drinking late that previous night. Sadly when we went to the bathroom you had left sick all over the bathroom which was rather frustrating and we had to completely sanitize the bathroom due to the condition you had left it. Our property is very old and the Victorian fireplace in your room, all being original, are something we would not wish to remove from our home. The Victorian sash windows are originals and we have them fully serviced every year. The carpets are all Axminster and very modern as our all the King Sized beds in each bedroom, the furnitures are all matching and less than 2 years old. The bathrooms all ofer large shower cubicles with strong power showers, modern WC and wash basin whilst we have plenty of hanging spaces in both the bedrooms and the bathrooms. We have wall mounted flatscreen digital televisions throughout and all rooms have hairdryers and designer toiletries as well as large fluffy towels. Our decoration is all neutral colours regularly maintained for any marks to maintain the excellent condition they are in. The breakfast has covers as we want to serve our breakfast nice and hot for all our guests as travelling between the kitchen and the dining room without the covers would lead to us serving a cold breakfast which we feel is not good service or custom. You are correct in saying my wife forgot to bring you the tea but once you mentioned it this was rectified right away so sorry for this. The roof was being maintained and insulated during the day and this was something that just had to be done - sorry if you felt this spoilt your stay. Like I say we do maintenance on our property to keep it well cared for. However it was done during the daylight hours and did not start before 9:30am each morning and ended by 5pm each of the 2 days it took to complete. It is sad to receive comments like yours but we feel our B&B and our home offers our guests what they come to expect from an old Victorian building which has been decorated in keeping with the age of the house using colours from the Victorian selection. We are sad that you failed to enjoy your stay but trust the Wedding you attended went well. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent location only a 15 minute stroll into town centre. Friendly hosts. Lots of advice and tips about where to go and where not to go. Rooms lovely.we had a superior double. Spacious, good facilities. Loved it...

Room Tip: Room 5 lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

had a lovely time, room was huge, the bed was massive and really comfy, extra pillows were stored away in the wardrobe which was nice and saved us having to ask! en suite did what it says on the tin, shower worked lovely and was constantly hot, which isn't always the case. The room was spotless, really clean, smelled clean too! We were welcomed as soon as we came in, the owner was really lovely and knew alot about where to go and things to do, which again was great as we've never been to Chester before. I loved the fact breakfast was to order an that you can chose a time which is a lovely touch. We stayed too night and were in and out quite abit but this didn't seem to be a problem. It's a non smoking guesthouse which is great even though we both smoke the idea of smoking inside isn't an appealing thought, and the owners wife let us know that we are okay to smoke in the garden. We had a great time, the guesthouse was more like home than a hotel, we would recomend anyone staying in Chester to stay here. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilsmallfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Brooklands is situated in a pleasant road within easy walking distance of Chester, although buses are also available. A good choice of places to eat in 'the village', 2 minutes away. Mark was very welcoming, providing a cup of tea as soon as we arrived, and friendly and informative without being intrusive. The breakfasts were excellent, allowing you to choose as much or as little as you wanted. The room was very clean and well-appointed. The only 'but' would be that our room was on the second floor - fine for us, but could have seemed a lot of stairs for the less able, though Mark was quick to offer help with our bags. We would certainly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 4 bedroomed B&B in Chester. We offer free car parking and free super fast wifi. You will find us very peaceful and a good place to unwind. All rooms are at the rear of the property. We have an abundance of restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Brooklands b&b
Chester Brooklands Hotel Chester
Chester Brooklands Bed And Breakfast Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing