We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stafford Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$119
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
17
28
20
20
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
28
20
20
31
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at The Stafford Hotel for one night and wouldn't ever stay there again.

Although the bed linen was clean, there was plenty of other things to complain about:
* We could hear people talking in the room next door - clearly!
* the kettle was full of limescale and the cups and teaspoon hadn't been washed properly - still wet and the teaspoon hadn't been washed at all.
* If you're a thin person you'll be ok as the shower cubicle was so tiny you could hardly move in it.
*The hot tap only worked on occasions,
* The bedroom window was open when we arrived so the room was freezing and although the radiator was on full there was no heat - cold room all night.
* There were massive damp patches on the walls, mold and peeling wallpaper on all corners of the room.
* Breakfast was back to basics with Tesco value yogurts and value cereal presented (the really cheap value products). The full English was ok, but looked like it had been cooked and plated up way before we came down for breakfast.
*No one in attendance at reception to assist with checking out, even after ringing the bell several times - we just left our key and went.

Definitely wouldn't recommend and definitely won't be staying there again.There are plenty of other nice hotels in Chester, but this isn't one of them. very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayBreakCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

After doing what most people do before visiting a hotel I looked at the reviews and was not looking forward to my stay at this hotel. However I must learn not to do this as this hotel was in fact it was very clean, freshly painted and had very friendly and helpful staff. When i return to chester i will be booking this hotel again. Recommend this hotel for being a very central location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Arrived for a 3 day stay to be met by bed sheets scattered all over the reception area seating. Receptionist was waiting to go, so rushed us through usual form filling. Room was not ready, we were left standing around feeling in the way. Informed our room not ready but then given key to no 16 and she then went (obviously end of her shift) The room was absolutely awful, tissue on floor with blood on, matteress badly stained, Bed had broken base, carpet stained, the bath was blocked with someone elses hair. Complained straight away to someone else on reception who seemed surprised at what I told them. This person had just supposedly cleaned the room!!!! Another worker arrived and immediately appologised and looked embarrased, said we should have been in room 6 and gave us the key. We checked the room with MOS and were very pleasantly pleased. Bigger, cleaner room. The was the only plus side though. Breakfast was just OK. Seemed too much trouble sometimes. No tea one morning, no coffee another morning. Cook (receptionist from the morning) not welcoming at all infact quite miserable (This was the same person we saw when we first arrived) In fact this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many over the last 20 years. Thank goodness Chester is such a lovely place for its shops, pubs etc. This hotel is a BIG NO NO! Needs cleaning, new staff etc. etc.etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole902004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

stafford is in easy waking distance of city centre,our room wasnt bad but for £70 a night it was a joke.nearly fell over laundry on the stairs.( wish i had)wardrobe door fell off which i thought was funny but we fixed it ,shower cold on the sunday morning and shower doors hadnt been cleaned for ages full of slime.did want tea with my breakfast was sick of having to ask. dont know were the owners were maybe away for weekend lol, would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineann083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Poor greeting from owner-manager: not entirely surprising given her surly attitude on the phone, not to mention giving out misleading price information on her web site.

Dirty carpet in bedroom - didn't even want to walk on it in my socks. Cold tap not working properly. Curtain needed re-attaching. Depressing breakfast room. Just a grungy, old-fashioned dive - the sort of place you just want to sleep - and not to spend a minute more of your time!

Stay somewhere else for a little more!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews