We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively dire review”
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #43 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Redcar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Positively dire review”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I only read the reviews on this hotel a few hours before I was due to check in, "people just like to complain, be positive". my other half said, so here is my positive review:

The bathroom & sheets were clean and the receptionists polite. The receptionist was not lying when she told me twice that porridge was available for my marathon running partners breakfast, she was just mistaken, anyone can make a mistake. It was a good idea to make everyone pay up front on arrival, some people just like to complain & refuse to pay. The ice cream tub on the floor in the reception to catch the leak, wasn't very full.

Room 21: The bath only leaked a little bit when we showered. We didn't actually need the bathroom door to close and lock. I have used a shower that does not hook on the wall a few decades ago when in Greece, the multi tasking & contortions necessary to wash your hair & shower using one like this, did eventually come back to me. The hole in the outside of the bathroom door wasn't very big. Perhaps the plumber had an off day when he tried to fit the bath, there was only a gap between the bath and the wall in one place.

Some people like paint on the top of embossed wallpaper and mocha brown doesn't show the dirt, let's face it not everyone can paint in a straight line. The sunlight streaming through voile type curtains wasn't a problem as it was October and we needed to get up early. Perhaps I was being over cautious in making sure my bare feet did not touch the carpet. Also we could get one channel on the TV, so it's not as if it didn't work. Some people like satin 'effect' throws and cushions on the bed. of course that type of fabric tears easily and cannot be washed for every guest. The bright red cables across the white ceiling to the smoke detectors were an eye catching feature.

The marathon runners were promised breakfast at 7am, although there was no one there at breakfast time, the door from the dining room into the staff kitchen was not locked, so we managed to take cartons of milk and a kettle so that we could make our own instant coffee and have cereal, this had been left out for us along with fruit. We did eventually find the light switches, so we weren't sat in the gloom the whole time. There was only one cupboard door in the dining that was on the floor. At 7.30 am a Scottish lady (the owner??) with muzzed up bed hair and smudged make up under her eyes, did appear. She must have been tired, the poor thing, not her fault we had already helped ourselves. As we had been required to pay on arrival there was not a lot for her to do, she could have gone back to bed really. Could you say a little more about it? - Yes I would hesitate to call the ice cream tub a swimming pool so I won't give the swimming pool a review.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, any hotel, even a hostel, even a cardboard box by the station, a park bench, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    20
    20
    31
See reviews for
10
53
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

This place is so run down & under staffed that it needs closed down. Shabby furnishings, paper hanging off ceilings, damp smell, burnt out light fitting and so on. Breakfast was a bowl of cereal & some limp processed cheese & ham for toast. Choose another place to stay whatever you do!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMdavies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked this hotel very last minute and only paid something like £30 for new years eve! Was a little worried when I go there as I thought it was going to be awful from the reviews but when me and my friends arrived the woman on the desk was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely to be fair, 2 beds, a big mirror and a nice bathroom! It was also very clean. Great location too. Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Stafford Hotel does not set out to be an up market Hotel.
It is reasonably priced and positioned well for a City break.
The continental breakfast offered more than we imagined, and was replenished as items ran low.
The Hotel itself, is in need of some TLC. The rooms were large, but the standard of house keeping was NOT fantastic. Issues were 2 people, but only one towel & NO soap. These were addressed when brought to the attention of the staff.The reception was not staffed adequately, probably due to insufficient staff. All these negatives, did NOT detract from our stay, but were niggling.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PellisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Window would not close as no handle or lock and the window wsa looking over a flat roof so anyone could get in. mould on the bed and in the bathroom, woman on reception was horrible and no english breakfast. The wife was disgusted at the state of diss repair that everything was in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Visited the Stafford Hotel yesterday and have to say we were a little under-whelmed. Don’t like to moan but this is how we found it. It is an ideal location situated near to the train station and easy to find and park outside for an hour. We arrived after 5 pm so we were able to park overnight until 9 am for free.

On check-in we were taken to a room somewhere up in the Gods (lots & lots of steps) in a very warm building. The room itself was clean but the décor & finishing left a lot to be desired. On one of the walls, the brown emulsion on embossed wallpaper was patchy. On another wall the white paint hadn’t quite been finished. There had been some new smoke detectors fitted in the room at some point but had bright red cables showing across the ceiling that could have done with being concealed. We went back to reception to ask if we could have a couple of glasses and some ice as the bar was closed due to a change of management some weeks previous but the receptionist was happy to go into the cellar to fetch some ice.

On the squeaky double bed was a felt-tipped stained throw & a cushion which looked like it had been gnawed at by my pet hamster. I would have rather them not to have been there at all. There was only one very flat pillow each but I must admit once we got back in the evening we couldn’t be bothered to ask if there were any more available. The towels didn’t match but that is being really picky. The curtains were voile so there was no hiding from the sunlight. The T.V worked well with a good signal and had a built in DVD player. There was an adequate built in wardrobe with so many miss-matched hangers you were spoilt for choice.

The continental breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel was full that morning so the dining room was lively and full with happily chatting people so the atmosphere was good and the assistant in there was cheerful and more than happy to help. She even managed to understand a non English speaking customer without too much fuss. All in all, we were glad to be staying just for the one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed for 1 awful night ,the first room we went to had no bedding or curtains , went down to unfriendly lady on reception,who said we could have another room ,but it had no telly.This room was in basement no kettle, dirty cups, taps were loose,carpet dirty,then when we switched lights on after coming back in none of them worked . A different pleasant lady got us a bedside lamp which was all we had for the rest of our stay,we needed light as no natural light coming into this room at all so were showering in dark.Next morning were expecting a full english breakfast as was stated when we booked only to be told this was not the case .When asked for management they were unable to tell us who it was as they were new there,but gave as a number to call for head office ,still waiting to hear back from them .Would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: City Road, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing