We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great seay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickle Trafford Manor
Ranked #28 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a great seay”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in the balcony room with my husband and daughter. The room was lovely and plenty of room for us all. It is a beautifull house which is tastfully decorated with lots of original features. The owners where really helpfull and nothing was too much trouble. My daughter was going to the zoo to take part in a experience day, Sam knew a girl who looks after the children on experience days so she sent her a text. this was very thoughtful. Cant wait to return. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammie68, Owner at Mickle Trafford Manor, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
hope to see you soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here in December for a second girly weekend at the Manor. Sam is a great host – friendly, efficient, but unobtrusive. (I have stayed in other B&B type places, where the host presumes you’d like nothing more than to listen to them moan about previous guests!) This was not the case here – the Manor has all the advantages of a B&B (cosy accomodation, big comfortable lounge, friendly local advice, help on getting taxis) while incorporating the privacy of a hotel.

I love the little details like the free cake in the reception room (yum!) and the roaring log fire. We also got a free bottle of wine from Sam, to start our weekend on a good (boozy) note! My friends and I are all converts to the Manor, and we love our girly weekends here :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are quirky and cute - some are not featured on the website though. I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JellyBaby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammie68, Owner at Mickle Trafford Manor, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
look forward to seeing you all again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed at the Mickle Trafford manor last weekend, and what a beautiful place. Could not fault a thing, sam is an amazing host made us feel very welcome. Our room was fantastic, the breakfast is brilliant and all at a very reasonable price. Will be planning our next trip very shortly. Thanks Sam.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHORODEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The reception area is full of character with great warmth from the open log fire. Furnished in a manner that well suits the essence of the the cottage. Surprisingly spacious yet cosy feel to it. Felt relaxed and at ease after a 5 hour door to door trek.

The room was light and airy with a beautiful calming view of the grounds. The balcony was an extra definetaly, i could certainly see imagine a cup of tea in serenity and privacy as the plants cover the railings.

Family friendly atmosphere. The decore is almost like the fairy tale cottages that have a sense of curiosity, history, comfort. the service great. i was kindly offered transport in a unique classic car a 1950 bristol 401 model to my destination for the day. All that was needed was the red carpet!! Thank you John. definaetly coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We enjoyed our short stay at The Manor and found the room was very comfortible with lots of nice little touches to make guests feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good and it set us up as we discovered we had a flat tyre! Sams' father couldn't have been more helpful and he soon had us on our journey home - really appreciated his help. Would certainly recommend The Manor to anyone wanting a "nice little piece of England".

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRoss332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great place. Felt very much at home. Our room was spacious with lots of lovely little touches, moulton brown shampoo and bubble bath in the bathroom and sherry and chocolates in the bed room. Breakfast set us up for the day, just what we needed for our day trip to the zoo.
Chester itself was great too, so many things to see and so many shops to browse in. Next time we need to stay longer. Thanks Sammie and John for a wonderful stay. See you soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mickle Trafford Manor, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

An immaculate room, in a great old Manor, in a beautiful setting.
Although only there one night we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
10.1 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,622 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Fields Country House
Park Fields Country House
#1 of 1 in Christleton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
3.4 mi away
Little Mollington Hall
Little Mollington Hall
#4 of 25 in Chester
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 79 in Chester
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickle Trafford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickle Trafford Manor

Property: Mickle Trafford Manor
Address: Mickle Trafford Manor Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mickle Trafford Manor Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing