We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC PEOPLE, AWESOME SERVICE, WONDERFUL BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mickle Trafford Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mickle Trafford Manor
Ranked #25 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PEOPLE, AWESOME SERVICE, WONDERFUL BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We just spent 3 very wonderful, relaxing (when we weren't touring around) nights at the Mickle Trafford Manor (Sept 11-14,2012). Sam and her dad John were wonderful hosts and a wealth of information on places to go, things to see and giving great directions! Fabulous room and loved the jetted tub after walking all around all day. The bed was great and provided us with a good, peaceful night's sleep. Very quiet atmosphere and the fireplace in the entryway welcoming us "home" was a cozy touch as were the goodies on the table. We would highly recommend anyone travelling to Liverpool, or places in Wales to take advantage of this wonderful retreat as a home base.

Room Tip: From the rooms we "peeked" in they are all large and comfy. We stayed in the :balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunni2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammie68, Owner at Mickle Trafford Manor, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Many thanks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kingswinford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This has to rate as one of the best B & B's we've ever stayed at! The place is huge & the rooms are to die for. The room we stayed in was amazing with it's own lounge separate from the bedroom which looked out onto the beautiful gardens. There is a separate sauna room on the grounds & hot tub if you fancy relaxing outside. The owner Sam is lovely. She has a very relaxed approach & basically lets you have the run of the place. There is a fridge in the breakfast area where you can buy bottles of wine if you fancy which are all reasonably priced. There's an honesty box where you can leave your money which is a fabulous idea. Breakfast is exceptional with a wide choice. A truly fabulous stay & we'll definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipton Oliffe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The third night is half price. The room we had was very nice and the breakfast was good. There is a self service element for coffee etc.(make your own cafetiere)There was plenty to eat and the Illy coffee was very good. Parking is awkward at the front with limited space and a cobbled yard which makes it difficult to reverse out unless you get one of the better spaces. It is convenient for the park and ride into town. The price is quite high for similar good B and Bs I have stayed in recently. One day the cups from our tea and coffee-making facilies were not washed up. A simple oversight I'm sure, but still not expected in a place with a reputation for quality. There is a computer you can use in the lounge, but I found it unusable even for simple things like accessing one's emails.Nevertheless an enjoyable stay and friendly welcome. Would I stay again? Perhaps , but only after checking carefully that there were not better deals available at other good places around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We arrived straight from the plane from Australia. A piece of cake and tea and a great room to get rid of jet lag. Sam was brillant. The brekky the next day was fantastic but the friendly atmosphere was better. The balcony room was just perfect and the afternoon drinks on the balcony were better.This is a fabulous place to start your UK holiday. Great value, good rooms, quiet and a fantastic garden.Would recommend The Manor to anyone.

Room Tip: The balcony room is fabulous for being quiet and views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

booked mickle manor purely on the feedback on trip advisor. I booked the master room for the wifes 50th birhtday and the look on her face when we entered the room was priceless. £20 less per night would get you a nice premier inn or equivilant, but this place is full of 500 year old plus history. Every floorboard squeaks. the double bath, beams in ceiling, 7ft wide bed yup 7 ft wide. we only spent 2 nights there as a base to explore Chester and we could of spent the 2 days exploring mickle manor. A big bless ya luv ya squeeze ya from tashyboy and wife.
PS, Sorry from not signing guest bookn when we left. but we will see you again

Room Tip: pay a couple of quid extra and book the master. if you dont get it dont worry you wont be disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

8 of us stayed here on 9th July 2012, on our way home from a Charity walk of Hadrians Wall Path.
Rooms and facilities were amazing and Sammie the owner was lovely. Can't wait to stay again and visit Chester.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent only one night here but will definitely be back! Warm, friendly and a fantastic location. The rooms were brilliant, beds comfortable(almost needed SatNav to find my husband), very good reception on the TV (didn't realise Andy Murray match would coincide with our stay), with Molton Brown accessories in the bathroom; the breakfast (often a topic in my reviews) was excellent!
The advise given by the very ameniable hosts was spot on and we spent a very enjoyable day in Tarpoley. Nothing was too much trouble - thank you for a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We had the Master Bedroom and we could have brought the whole family there was so much room - not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 81 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#12 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Fields Country House
Park Fields Country House
#1 of 1 in Christleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
2.1 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#1 of 81 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickle Trafford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickle Trafford Manor

Property: Mickle Trafford Manor
Address: Mickle Trafford Manor Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mickle Trafford Manor Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing