We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mickle Trafford Manor
Ranked #28 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
North Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I decided at the very last minute to have a night away and looked through a wide range of places to stay around Chester and because of the excellent reviews for Mickle Trafford Manor and the images of the place, it was exactly what we wanted! We had the balcony room and it overlooked the gardens and all you could see was trees all around you, it was so tranquil and relaxing. The room was beautiful and comfortable and we felt very relaxed whilst we were there. It is very easy-going there, they have an 'honesty box' as they provide cold wine, beer and soft drinks in the fridge in the breakfast room. Also, there was a home-made cake for you to help yourself to in reception. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. The reading room was really lovely and overlooked the garden. We did not use the hot tub or sauna so can't comment on these. John and Sammie the owners were a delight and very friendly and welcoming. We definitely will be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: The Balcony Room is the only one with this added feature and you are at the back overlooking the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnergirlNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to Mickle Trafford Manor for a wonderful stay last week. We have stayed before and were thrilled that our second visit was as wonderful as the first! Sadly we didn't share our stay with Rick Stein like last time (how lucky was that!!) but we did enjoy the lovely sunshine in the historic walled city of Chester and relaxed in The Manor's immaculate gardens afterwards. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cheshire from now on... Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreeDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we recently stayed for 1 night as a stop over travelling from tewkesbury to liverpool, and what a good decision!. the house is obviously olde world but very welcoming and our room was superb, with the huge bed, double ended bath and high beamed ceiling. sammie was a great host and always willing to give any help or tips she could. the breakfast in the morning was lovely and fresh as well. even though it is not really within walking distance of anything it is still handily placed only a couple of minutes from the M53, and on the A56. would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just back from a brilliant 10 days at the Manor. Sammie was the perfect hostess, and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in the Balcony Room, which as the name suggests, had a private balcony which was perfect for sitting on for an hour or so before going out and visiting some of Cheshire's attractions. The bed was massive and very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and great choice, in particular the thick crusty toast from freshly made bread. A perfect location for touring the area, the Manor is less than a minute's drive from the motorway. I feel we arrived as guests and left as friends. Will definitely stay at the Manor again anytime we visit the area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

First time we stayed at this privately run hotel as we could not get in at the Travelodge where we usually stay.
Lovely place incredibly wide comfy bed, spacious room and superb breakfast. This will be our default hotel from now on when we visit Chester.
Only fault I could find was that the car park is long and narrow so some parking skills required but enough space for everyone!

Room Tip: The groom room is nice but next time we will try the balcony room as it has a bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I booked the Mickle Trafford Manor on word of mouth from one of my work collegues.as it was my partners Birthday we usually go the Lake District but i wanted to find somewhere different. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by John and he was very helpful in advising us of places to go.We were really happy with our room it was very spacious with the original featrures from the manor, the room was open planned with a fantastic bathroom.and a bath you just wanted to relax in. the Garden was stunning and the Manor house was its old original features which is something we loved about it. Breakfast was lovely and we were made to feel very welcomed by Sam. We took a trip into Chester town in the afternoon which cost six pounds,even the taxi drivers which we used Kings cabs were very friendly. In the evening we went to Artichokes Bistro which was amazing the food and portions were to die for the atmosphere was very relaxed highly recommend if your in chester to eat there.We were certainly stay at the Mickle Trafford again and visit Artichokes.

Room Tip: You could not go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

just got back from a fab stay at the mickle trafford manor. on arrival we recieved a warm welcome from john with help n advice on local places to see n visit. the building is full of charm n character n the rooms are huge, breakfast was superb and would deffo stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.9 mi away
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
3.0 mi away
Pied Bull Inn
Pied Bull Inn
#18 of 79 in Chester
570 reviews
7.0 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#27 of 79 in Chester
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 79 in Chester
78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cotton Farm
Cotton Farm
#12 of 79 in Chester
101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Fields Country House
Park Fields Country House
#1 of 1 in Christleton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickle Trafford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickle Trafford Manor

Property: Mickle Trafford Manor
Address: Mickle Trafford Manor Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mickle Trafford Manor Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing