We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The house made a fabulous weekend that bit better!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill Barn Cottage

Mill Barn, Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area Mill Barn, Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Kitchen area
Mill Barn, Dining area
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Ground Floor, Double room
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King Size en-suite room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Stairs
Mill Barn, Double room
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Games rooms at Milton Brook Estate
Cottage in Milton Brook Estate
Fishing Lake at Milton Brook Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HairyDuck...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The house made a fabulous weekend that bit better!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends, it was a reunion/ birthday celebration. The house was ideal for our needs. The house was clean and tidy. There was enough seating for everyone with a spacious open plan living area. Great for entertaining and for everyone to be involved.
Plenty of parking. Pub within walking distance.
We tried the swimming pool but it was very cold. May have just been the day we tried.
Plenty of taxis available to get to Chester and reasonably priced.
Great place for a large group, good location and quiet surroundings.
Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living- great for reunion
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelKe...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here with a group of 12 friends for a birthday. We planned to go out into Chester on the Saturday night which was handy because the cottage was around a ten minute drive from the centre.
We arrived on the Friday at the cottage with the keys already in the door. A lady came to meet us and showed us round then left us to it.
The property is very spacious, a lot bigger than what we expected. The only problem we had was finding the cottage. It took us 25 minutes of driving round before we finally found it!
We had a great weekend and I would definitely recommend staying here whether you are a group of friends or a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area the property was situated
Liked least: The dishwasher, not the best
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely , well equipped , cosy place”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weekend for my friends 40th . It is perfect for this. It offers lovely cosy surroundings for people who appreciate home comforts . You are left alone but know there is help if needed. It is situated in a picturesque location with the city of Chester about £9 in a taxi .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prof_hool...
Liverpool, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a fab family getaway”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The photographs do not do this place justice. Large living area, amazingly well stocked kitchen, rooms and facilities all as described. I could go on for a long time about how good this property was. Ideal for all ages, accessible with bedrooms and bathroom on ground and first floor. Close to a range of really interesting attractions, we visited Delamere Forest and the Ice Cream Farm (top tip, pick up a Cheshire Guide from the pool table area and you can claim a free ice cream!). Would recommend for all uses (stag/hen do/ family occasion/ friends weekend). And the icing on the cake was the fab shared pool. Will definitely be back. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: Wifi signal could be stronger
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor C
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hen do location!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The barn has loads of space and we loved the open plan element as it felt very spacious. We went for a long weekend to celebrate my hen do and loved the cottage - once we all found it as it is a bit difficult to locate. It was clean, welcoming and had plenty of space for a group of girls. We loved the use of the outdoor patio, BBQ and pool which were a great touch as gives some variety, we didn't have to stay in the cottage all the time. It is about 10-15mins into Chester which was easy enough. Overall, everyone had a great weekend here! Would recommend for parties to stay.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caggie198...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but needs modernising”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Convient location for all attractions. We stayed in mill barn cottage, the house was ok but could do with modernising and a deep clean after every stay, needs a few extra touches to make it a good holiday home. There was lots of space, we had 6 adults and 5 children, garden space would have improved the stay as we couldn't let children run round outside due to cars coming in and out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing