We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill Barn Cottage

Mill Barn, Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area Mill Barn, Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Kitchen area
Mill Barn, Dining area
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Ground Floor, Double room
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King Size en-suite room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Stairs
Mill Barn, Double room
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Swimming Pool at Milton Brook Estate
Poolside changing rooms at Milton Brook Estate
Games rooms at Milton Brook Estate
Cottage in Milton Brook Estate
Fishing Lake at Milton Brook Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thorne201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, barn in much need of care, attention and maintenance.”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is perfect for nearby Chester town centre and other attractions. Whilst we had a uninterrupted stay in an idylic countryside location the barn itself needs some general TLC, we found one of the showers not working, part of the oven not working, most beds uncomfortable and an all round need for painting and a deep clean necessary. We had a lovely stay here but as the person booking this for a party of 9, I did feel disappointed with the general feel of the barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor86
1 review
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely spacious barn. Perfect for my hen weekend. All other guests loved it too. Definitely would recommend. Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny7420...
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice house, great location”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely stay, very friendly welcome. Clean house and great facilities for a group of friends, easy access to Chester and countryside for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawchew...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a family party or goup”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed 3 nights just after Christmas 2015 for a family wedding - our party was five adults and three toddlers. This was perfect for the job - plenty of space, well equipped and spotless, very handy for Chester and also nice facilities on site. The owners provided cots, stairgates and high chairs.

A bonus was the generous welcome basket and the Christmas decorations. Highly recommended.

No pets allowed in this property but I believe some of the other cottages in the complex are suitable for pets.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helkab
Bergerac, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice accommodation, good location.”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very handy for visiting Chester and surrounding area. Nice holiday cottage with all mod cons. Our only complaint was that the swimming pool was a bit cool!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HairyDuck...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The house made a fabulous weekend that bit better!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends, it was a reunion/ birthday celebration. The house was ideal for our needs. The house was clean and tidy. There was enough seating for everyone with a spacious open plan living area. Great for entertaining and for everyone to be involved.
Plenty of parking. Pub within walking distance.
We tried the swimming pool but it was very cold. May have just been the day we tried.
Plenty of taxis available to get to Chester and reasonably priced.
Great place for a large group, good location and quiet surroundings.
Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living- great for reunion
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelKe...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here with a group of 12 friends for a birthday. We planned to go out into Chester on the Saturday night which was handy because the cottage was around a ten minute drive from the centre.
We arrived on the Friday at the cottage with the keys already in the door. A lady came to meet us and showed us round then left us to it.
The property is very spacious, a lot bigger than what we expected. The only problem we had was finding the cottage. It took us 25 minutes of driving round before we finally found it!
We had a great weekend and I would definitely recommend staying here whether you are a group of friends or a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area the property was situated
Liked least: The dishwasher, not the best
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing