We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“chester”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

very good city centre hotel, great staff, make sure you get car park ticket validated at check out time to get discount £7.50 for 24hrs

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tailscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    587
    177
    48
    37
See reviews for
236
867
36
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Only stayed here for one night, the staff was very friendly, and service very fast... I cant comment on must of the stuff... But we booked a club room which entitles you to free drinks, we arrived late and missed the free drinks, if the women on the phone had of told us the times we would of arrived earlyer... The room was lovely and clean, bed was so comfy and room services very fast... Some of the prices was expensive, but you expect this from a good quality hotel i would recommend this hotel, but as i only stayed one night i didnt have time to explore

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Having heard very good reports about the Crown Plaza Hotels I elected on behalf of my three travelling companions to book two rooms at the the Crown Plaza Chester on a DBB tariff over two nights.
My first disappointment was having to pay for the car parking. Cheaper Hotels were available with free car parking.
Reception staff were very good and first impressions of the Decor was encouraging.
Room sizes were equal to some of the Premier Inn hotels and the bed was equally large and comfortable.
Disappointment number two occurred in the Bar area where afternoon drinks were served without any nibbles and the Gin was served with the Tonic added. We specifically asked for the tonic to be served separately. The air conditioning was set at a very cool level in spite of the Autumnal weather conditions prevailing during the 6/7Th of September2011.
The only other two people in the bar sat with their jackets on.
Disappointment number three, we were informed by the Restaurant staff that our Dinner allowance would be capped at £23. PER HEAD.
Although the presentation of the food was first class, the overall value for money was no where near that of other Busier Hotels. When we were in the Restaurant there were only twelve other customers. We met two people who had decided to eat out stating that the Menu in the Hotel was on the expensive side. Once again, the restaurant Air Conditioning was set Far too cold and we asked to be moved for the following night away from the ducting.
To Our amazement,during an afternoon drink in the Bar,
A Senior member of the Staff seemed to be conducting a Job Interview with a young lady whilst Televisions and background Music Played.
All in all, The ambience of this Hotel does not match the Bill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Chester Crown Plaza for two nights. It is a nice, clean hotel in a great location. The most impressive thing about the hotel is the friendly staff. They went out of their way to help us arrange a side trip to Liverpool that would fit into our tight schedule.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler84663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Superb hotel, with great swimming pool/spa facilities. The breakfast is really recommended, biuffet style and great quality and service.
The bar doe snot deal with money after a certain time, so I would sugget placing a amount onto your room card which you can use throughout the night. The invoice can be seen on your television screen in your room. The rooms are very clean and great night sleep. The parking is payable even if you are staying at the hotel and to be honest we had a nigthmare finding a parking place and the places are very small.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiljoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Neiljoann

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to read that you are looking forward to visiting us again here in Chester. Please be assured that your comments are shared with the team as they really enjoy receiving positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Chester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed here for the weekend 02.09.11-04.09.11 as a family of 4. Had a room (executive) on the third floor. This meant we had access to the club lounge . Enjoyed the free drinks between 5pm-8pm. As the children are not allowed in this lounge between theses times we were allowed to get the free drinks in the silks bar and sit with the children. All the staff were friendly and helpful. This is from the reception staff, bar staff lovely and bring drinks to table, restaurant staff and room cleaners. Our room overlooked the welsh hills and the racecourse. The hotel is very handy to the city center.
Really enjoyed the weekend. Well done crowne plaza Chester

Room Tip: third floor room 307 family overlooks welsh hills and racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family had been to the Crowne Plaza some years before and were reasonably satisfied with the hotel so we thought we'd give it another go. The real beauty of this hotel is its central location within the City, which made it ideal for getting about on foot. The two rooms we were allocated were clean and tidy and overlooked the the race course with panoramic views of hills in the distance, but the big down side was the noise from the main road.
Breakfast was good with a wide variety of food to choose from (though on two occasions the eggs, bacon and sausages were not very hot). We didn't eat in the restraunt this occasion due to our previous experience of poor service (so not sure what it's like now, but once bitten twice shy).
We used the leisure facilities every evening and the only comment I would make is the equipment in the gym is getting rather old, worn out and crammed into a small space. The gym, pool etc was clean and well maintained (a credit to the Leisure Centre Staff).
We had very little contact with the hotel staff, but when we did they were exceedingly helpful, polite and efficient.
Finally - the fact you had to pay a daily rate of £7.50 to park your car was I felt rather expensive.
Would we go back to the hotel again and would we recommend it to our friends - yes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJD15Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing