We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had on overnight stay here and after reading mixed reviews were pleased with the room and the hotel. The pool was a little small and changing rooms a bit dated, but nevertheless fine for a quick swim. Staff are very polite and helpful. Our only issue was the temperature of the room- it was boiling!! There is air-con but it's too noisy to sleep with it on.
However, the hotel is in a good position for the centre and car parking at £7.50 for 24 hrs is reasonable. We will probably go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Once again a fantastic stay here , the staff are sooooooooo nice and the place is first class for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked in advance and got a very good rate including breakfast (which was good) for 2 rooms. It's clean and modern with very friendly service. And the kids loved the small pool. Centrally located within the roman walls of Chester, you pretty much walk out right onto one of the main shopping streets. Perfect steak house (upstairs at the grill) round the corner. The only downside we could think of is that you are staying in one of the ugliest buildings on the planet. What were the planners thinking of?! We will be back.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank SW11London_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed there for a brithday break in Chester. The hotel was lovely and the staff couldn't have done any more for us. All the facilities are wonderful - we had two nice sessions in the pool and steam room/sauna and a lovely breakfast the following morning. We were even treated to a complementary bottle of wine as a brithday present. Really excellent customer service and well worth it. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterloomonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza is situated on the edge of the city centre within very easy strolling distance of the main hive of activity but far enough away that it is quiet. With it's own car park (£7.50 per 24 hours) it is the ideal place to stay for a last minute weekend away. The hotel, whilst not the most modern or contemporary of hotels, offered great value with the most fantastic staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. The flaws of this hotel - uncomfortable pillows, quite a few hen parties and charges for parking were far outweighed by the service of the staff, the nice little touches in the room, the standard of food in the restaurant and the overall welcoming feel.

We were visiting Chester for my partners birthday and on check-in we were given a room with a view of the racecourse, soft fluffy robes, a complimentary bottle of wine in our room and vouchers to use in a local restaurant that I'd mentioned we were eating at the next night. Kim, the receptionist, was warm, friendly, knowledgable and we can't praise her enough. We would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza and would stay again (but bring our own pillows and ask for an even quieter room!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the racecourse - the views over the welsh hills are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becks_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Becks

Thank you for posting your recent review regarding your stay with us here in Chester. I was pleased to read your comments regarding the team and the service that you received. I have noted your comments regarding the pillows, we do have a choice of alternative pillows available from reception as we understand everyone has different tastes when it comes to pillow choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chester in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First impression from outside was oh no! Its attached to a multi storey car park and doesnt look flashy at all and the main entrance was a little dingy. Once inside we changed our mind. Its a lovely hotel in a great location. The room was clean and spacious with all you would expect. Breakfast was delicious. We would return to this hotel again on future visits to Chester.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicholaHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Nicola
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here in Chester. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and pan to return in the future, giving us the opportunity to demonstrate the great service we strive to achive again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A typical Crowne Plaza average rooms but no flat screen TV which surprised me. A little expensive, nice breakfast with the exception of the over diluted grape fruit juice!! At £135 Plus breakfast i would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesrosbifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Lesro

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the management team to ensure our breakfast standard is maintained to the high level we strive to achieve. Most of our rooms have flat screen TVs’ with the remainder due for replacement.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £95 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing