We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service & Standards I have ever had....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Service & Standards I have ever had....”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Lovely hotel with great rooms, well equipped, stayed with partner & 2 kids in an executive room, was fabulous, staff were so attentive, facilities were great, best hotel breakfast I have ever had, try the kippers and poached eggs, hoently I run a pub and am ferocious with my expectatiosn but this exceeded mine, best hotel visit i have ever had, they had a guest reward how can you name one!!! WIll definatly be back!!! xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    586
    177
    48
    37
See reviews for
236
867
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I spent a week in this place to attend a course, remaining into the hotel for the whole day every day!
The service is pretty good, staff is really kind and helpful, lunch and breakfast simply great!
Unfortunately the hotel and its rooms are too old fashioned to be a 4* (CRT TV... oh my god...).
Overall, my impressione is quite positive, but the hotel has really a huge margin for improvement!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubusettete83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments on your recent stay with us here in Chester.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay . I hope you will return to us in the future for another visit to Chester so you can experience our beautiful city and all it has to offer.

I am pleased to say that we are upgrading all of our televisions to the latest flat screen Samsung Smart televisions by the end of 2012.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husbabd and I have stopped in both Crowne Plaz's in Liverpool on numerous occasions so we looked forward to stopping in the Chester CP. Very disappointed, rooms were very tired. We stopped two nights and the room was not cleaned in between, the bed was literally pulled up and my nightie screwed up on top of pillow and dressing gown dumped on the other pillow. Bin not emptied and bathroom not cleaned either. No nice flat screen tv and a in need of decoration. The laundry trolly and all its cleaning materials was left in the main hall area where the lift opened over night. Wont recommend or go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaBradford0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Chester.

I am sorry to read that the quality of your stay was impaired by the lack of housekeeping throughout your stay. It is unacceptable that this occurred, please do not hesitate to email me on gm.cpchester@qmh-hotels.com to discuss any issues you encountered. If you choose to do so, please quote your name, room number and date of stay as I would appreciate the chance to investigate the issues that you mention.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

arrived at hotel and was quite amazed at its luxurious lobby and reception for a 4star.Reception staff were v welcoming.We used the leisure facilities which were spotlessly clean and they provided towels,shampoo etc and even a hairdryer and moisturiser.The room wasv spacious with two v comfy beds.My only criticism was the rooms were too hot at night..Checkout very simple and taxi they ordered was prompt.A super hotel in a great location..you will not be disapointed...matches any 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us here in Chester.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the facilities that we offer to our guests. We like to ensure that we provide everything you may need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Recently stayed for one night and would have loved to have stayed longer but hotel was fully booked. Room standard was excellent and staff very friendly and enjoyed the Craic. Just one minor thing no triple rooms for families. Restaurant food and staff excellent. We hope to be back again maybe next year. This was our first trip to England and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Chester is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionsefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel. Chester really is lovely; I’m honoured you chose us for your first trip to England and I hope we helped make your visit that little bit more special.

I hope to see you again next year when you visit again and I hope you can stay longer to enjoy everything Chester has to offer.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We chose the Crowne Plaza for its central location and because we were using credit card points via eBookers.

The room was a fair size, clean and had most things. For a 4* hotel the TV was pitiful! A TV at least 10 years old with fewer channels than advertised - maybe 8 or 9. Come on, even freeview has about 5 times more choice!

Breakfast was pretty good, although the service was a bit hit & miss.

The pool/spa was okay, but the jacuzzi was out of order and staff said they wouldn't (not couldn't) phone an engineer until Tuesday.

A really safe choice if you don't know hotels in Chester, but don't expect to be blown away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m pleased to read that most, aspects of your stay were acceptable. Our rooms are currently all being updated with the latest Samsung smart flat screen televisions, this should be completed within the next few weeks.

Please be assured that I have spoken to the team regarding the Spa to ensure we rectify the faults in a speedier manner

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our family of 6 adults and my 5 year old grandson have spent a lovely weekend at the Crown Plaza Chester. Rooms were lovely and clean, excellent food and lovely and very helpful staff. For anyone who wants to spend a few days in Chester it is worth paying that little extra to stay at this hotel, we will definitely return here again. Very convenient for the town center and great Spa facilities., If I have to include a negative that would be about the posh people in their black ties and very posh frocks who were swanning around attending a party on Saturday night looking down their noses at us, but we had the last laugh they were falling all over the place and throwing up in the car park - shame on them. BUT IT PUT A BIG SMILE ON OUR FACES!! Wonderful hotel, hope to visit again soon!!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magirhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing