We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
rianham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Myself and my husband recently stayed at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the hotel had a very calming and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were vey attentive and nothing was too much trouble. During our stay, we ate in the hotel's restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. The hotel is also very central to the lovely city of Chester. Would definatly return and would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kozbirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that your stay was so good and you would recommend us to anyone. I will pass your compliments onto our team about their attentiveness and the food. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Firstly I would like to say the Staff are the most friendly i have come across in a uk hotel..they go out of thier way to be helpful.
Our room on entry looked ok but then ..the bath had hair in it...when you sat in the bath you could see under the toilet rim it was black (needs bleach not plesent !!!)
you then look at the room and notice more ...there were black marks on the skirting boards and ceiling ..i may sound picky but when you are paying £130.00 a night you expect general cleaning.
you are then expected to pay £7.50 a night for carparking if you require internet/wifi ££10.00 for24 hours and if you have not been lucky enough to get a bb deal then £10.00 per person for breakfast all adds up.
we used the leisure facilitys they are nice but again as others have said need updating people where having to wait for the hot tub because only 3 could fit in it any more and you were sat on each others knees.
the hotel is ideal fr the location it is in the center of chester..would i stay again ...yes if the price was a lot lower as i feel it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BUGSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear BUGSI,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry you poor received service from housekeeping both in the bathroom and room. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Visited the Crowne Plaza last weekend for a weekend break with my wife.The staff on reception are really nice and helpful they allocated us a room overlooking the welsh hills and racecourse.
The hotel is in a fantastic spot around 2 minutes walk to the main street but still nice and quiet.
The bar was expensive though.
As it was my birthday the hotel kindly sent a bottle of wine to our room

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday break with us and that our location added to your experience.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon and a very happy (belated) birthday.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay in an Executive Club Room. The positives are, extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially on reception, the free drinks and canapes between 17:00 and 20:00, (we thought this was very special and added a nice touch), and a reasonably comfortable bed. On the negative side, for the first night we were there the whole hotel was hot and stuffy, we had the air con on in the bedroom on the lowest possible setting, but it made little difference and our sleep was disturbed. The second day/night it was as though someone had flicked a switch and there was no problems with the heat anywhere in the hotel. Buffet breakfast was ok, but some items were dried up and tasteless, obviously been sat under heat lamps for too long. The bedroom, considering it was supposed to be an executive room, was a bit dated and not what I was expecting compared to other hotels I've stayed at. The bathroom needs modernising, and a deep clean. Shower head and bottom of the shower curtain were both dirty. Grout has gone a funny yellow colour. Toilet seat loose. Toilet flush needs a few pumps before it will actually flush. Ideally customers do not expect a shower over the baths these days, especially if they've upgraded to an executive room. And finally, why charge for wi-fi? I've stayed in plenty of other places and paid a lot less and received free wi-fi.
So to summarise, the hotel was average, the staff are great, the location is good, Chester has plenty to offer if you want a short break, but I wouldn't recommend staying at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 406, avoid if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karamel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your compliments onto our reception team. I am sorry that your stay was marred slightly by the standard of cleanliness in your bathroom.

We have always tried to ensure that our bathrooms are spotless and whereas human error can occur, what you experienced was far from the standards we strive to achieve. I will make sure that the bathroom you have mentioned receives the level of attention it missed the first time around. .

I hope that this experience with us has not put you off returning to us in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Went for an executive room as we really liked the idea of complimentary alcoholic drinks and canapes between 5-8pm (soft drinks available around the clock). The room itself lacked the wow factor of some other Chester hotels we've stayed at but more than adequate with good shower, firm bed, tea and coffee making facilities and no problems with noise. Breakfast was excellent, well staffed and plentiful hot and cold buffet. I'd give the staff 10/10, everybody very friendly and efficient. Parking was bound to be a slight issue on Chester races day but alternative arrangements worked well as the hotel car park was full. Air conditioning worked well. Would give it a 5/5 but the room didn't pass the "executive" test!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshMamKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just what you need to unwind after a tough day away with work. Had to have a twin room and the beds were a little small. The room was adequately comfortable if not a little tired.

Excellent location in the centre of Chester.

Very good service from al staff, and an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Try the eggs benedict
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Not the worst hotel by any means but really quite dated and suffering some basic problems. Our room had a stain on the bed sheet which is seldom an indicator of high standards. The bathroom looked tired and the grout was a bit mouldy and discoloured. The tv was a CRT. I'm literally amazed that any hotel can still be using these. It's a relic. It made the room look ten years older than it needed to be. Breakfast was ok although hot glasses direct from the dishwasher weren't ideal containers for the heavily watered down orange juice. Water for tea was tepid, and there as a long queue to get food from the buffet. So why 3 stars? Well, it was comfortable enough and clean (notwithstanding the previous comments). The bed was comfortable enough and the bar and staff were pleasant. You could do worse for sure, but there's so much better available that its hard to see us staying there again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky_Beaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Sneaky_Beaky,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Chester, England.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing