We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here overnight for a work trip in December. It was an easy pleasant check in with friendly polite staff. The spa facilities were good, although the sauna was out of order. A good range of drinks and food, although we had a room upgrade that served complimentary drinks for 2 hours which was well worth it.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachaeljanepr1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I will be sharing your kind words with our team members about how you found them so polite and pleasant. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night during a week off work to use the spa facilities. Only a 20min walk from the station.

The location of the hotel in terms of being in the heart of the city is spot on but the appearance, or at least the facade is bizarre. The entrance is hidden away under a dingy car park and wasn't the easiest to find as there was no signage up for people looking down the approaching road. So much so we were practically stood next to it (by the church) and ended up walking all the way around the main road before coming back in ourselves to find the entrance.

Once in, it was great. Grand decor. Very pleasant staff. Lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna section and a belter way to spend a Monday afternoon. We didn't eat at the hotel as unfortunately for its restaurant it's located right next door to the best place in Chester - Upstairs At The Grill - if you like the finest steak that is. You could see the racecourse from our room so would be absolutely perfect if you were visiting for that. Very good.

A week later and I wish I was back there in the pool put it that way.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

I’m very pleased to read that your time with us was relaxing and just what you needed. I am pleased you found our team members to be very pleasant and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family in nearby chester. Our room was nice, bar food adequate. Breakfast was nice Good location near the shopping centre. Not the prettiest hotel. Will stay again if in the area but not as nice as the London crowne plaza's

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliecat4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be comfortable with good meals. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms and very professional feel to the hotel, although the reception area was peculiarly situated and cramped and the hotel somehow lacked presence, being tacked to a shopping centre. There was also a lack of natural light. Good for business but would not bring the family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuralRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I’m very pleased to read that you found our hotel to have very nice rooms and a professional feel. I can assure you that our guests who bring their children with them hugely enjoy their stays too as we provide a lot of children’s entertainment. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here for a three day break in March. We chose it because of its location, a three minute walk to the shops in Watergate Street, and its modern facilities including a great indoor swimming pool. We were not disappointed. The hotel was spacious, comfortable and efficiently run by very helpful staff in all areas. We booked regular king bed rooms online with breakfast included at a good rate. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Our room, 135, was very warm, even when the radiator was turned off. This was due to the main heating pipe running along the skirting board. We managed to get the room temperature under control using the efficient air conditioning unit - a little surprising for March. Breakfast was the normal buffet style with a good choice of hot and cold food. There was also a small a la carte section, but beware. Don't order these if you are in a hurry. One of our party had to wait 30 minutes for a small portion of smoked haddock! We tried the Silks Bar for dinner on one occasion. It was adequate rather than special. We later decided to try the multitude of cafes and restaurants that abound in Chester. If arriving by car there is a very convenient and secure car park attached to the hotel. Overall a very good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have great views over the racecourse to the Welsh hills together with lovely sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iveltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything during your stay to be to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We Stayed at the Crown Plaza Chester for 1 night, it was a birthday treat for my Husband and booked a spa package in the Executive Room.
The Room itself was nice, clean and comfortable, we had robes but no slippers, and found the room to be a little warm, could not get the air conditioning to go below 17 and had to sleep with the window open. We did not use the mini bar, or the Executive Lounge.
The swimming Pool and Leisure facilites were not the best kept, and i found them to be a little unkept, the female changing rooms had towles left all over and the area around the pool had cups left by the side.
The Staff at the Hotel were very helpful, and the location of the hotel is excellent.
The breakfast at the hotel is lovely, so much choice and freshly cooked and good quality food. Although the staff were helpful, basic things like milk and sugar, butter was only on some of the tables, not all of them and when asked they said they were running out!
Overall we enjoyed the stay for the money would probably have expected a little higher standard, but if we were to return to Chester would consider staying here if the price was less.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our spa package. I’m glad your room was comfortable and you found our team members to be very helpful and your breakfast to be of a high quality. I have taken your comments concerning the tidiness of our leisure facilities into account and I will be sure to discuss them further with our housekeeping team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 1st and 2nd Feb with my daughter for a spa weekend on 2 night weekend break with dinner on 1st night. Excellent location, nice room and lovely dinner on Friday night and as the restaurant was nearly empty did not bother to book for next night. However at 8.30pm on Saturday night we were refused a table as we hadn't booked even though there were several tables empty in the restaurant and we had to eat in the bar,they wouldn't let us have the restaurant menu and the bar menu was overpriced and rubbish to be honest. I complained on checking out and the receptionist took my details but nobody contacted me. On the plus side the spa treatments were wonderful and the staff in the spa very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hev141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us including your meal and spa treatments. I’m sorry you were turned away the second night for dinner but as we get very busy it is hotel policy to book a table for dinner to avoid disappointment. If you would like to discuss anything further directly with me, please email me on gm.cpchester@qmh-hotels.com.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £92 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing