We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just had a 3 night break here and found it very relaxing. My husband has some mobility problems after breaking a leg but the hotel staff helpfully gave us a first floor room close to the lifts. The hotel entrance is in an underpass, leading to the car park, which seems rather bleak but once inside it was spotless in the elegant public areas as well as the bedrooms, which had all you could need for a good weekend. Everyone was very friendly. The town centre is close so it is easy to find from the hotel. I took advantage of the pool and spa; had a massage with shells which was very relaxing. I had the best few nights sleep I've had in ages - partly due to the quiet atmosphere and partly to the very comfortable firm bed. We booked room only as we went to Chester to meet up with friends living nearby, but we would certainly return to the hotel again and try their food as the menu looked very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful couple of nights sleep with us. I’m very happy to read that everything you encountered during your stay was perfect and you would happily return in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in Chester.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    580
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay here.
on arrival,Rebbeka at reception was cheerful,polite and very helpfull-she is an asset to this hotel-I do hope management appreciate such a good advert for the place!!!
Had an executive room,on the 3rd floor-very good room,with wonderful views to the Welsh hills.
The club lounge,with canapes from 5-8pm,hot and cold drinks-beer,wine,etc,was a nice place to sit,chat and have a drink before dinner-free internet,tv etc.
Both dinner and breakfast,was included in the deal,and we enjoyed both meals-dinner was greay-and the buffet breakfast was wonderful.
Every member of staff was happy and cheerful.
Thank you Chester,we has a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to share your review with the team members in question and I’m very happy to read that everything was to your liking during your stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotelsoon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

I am here on business and really appreciated the efficient friendly staff. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from Crowne Plaza, good rooms, clean and nice food but its staff make difference. The hotel is also ideally located in the centre of Chester.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Macca1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything (particularly our team members) to be perfect. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our team members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Centrally located - few minutes walk to main shops
Comfortable and clean bedroom - albeit decor was a bit dated. I was on L1 and heard no noise.
Full buffet breakfast was terrific. Didn't have opportunity to eat in hotel in evening as we chose to venture out but have no problems about going back here.
Didn't try the wifi - like most hotels it's expensive - and not needed when you have 3G signal.

Room Tip: Not sure if this is same in every room - but room had a traditional home style water radiator that g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and you found us to be quiet with a terrific breakfast. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in April. This is a city centre hotel and I found it very pleasant. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast is good and so are the staff here. There is a reasonably priced bar meal menu as well as a restaurant. I found the access to Wi-Fi a little confusing - I was not sure if it was available or not - and at what cost - if any. Apart from that - a good stay. Car parking available at a daily rate of about £7.50 which is a bit steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I booked this weekend for a birthday treat. For £155 for B&B for one night, I was hoping for something special....it certainly wasnt that! I didnt pick this hotel on its looks but seeing the area opposite the entrance was far from palatial However it was a pleasant reception, once inside.

The room was fine, spacious and clean but very noisy. I could hear the neighbours chatting yawning and going to the toilet! The robe and slippers were a nice touch as well as the complimentary water and sleep spray, (now I understand why they provide this!)

I was surpised they charged for internet connection and it wasnt cheap considering the rate of the room.

Now at this point I know i'm being picky but personally I'm a fan of the flavoured tea or even an Earl Grey, unfortunately the options were limited to english tea or english tea! The room service was fast and good quality of food, even at 2am!

The breakfast arrangements were not great the following morning. Not only did we have a long wait to be seated, we were ignored then told, to take a tea and wait, of course there was no hot water. When we finally sat down for breakfast, parched at this point I ordered my earl grey and it didnt arrive until my second request, 10 mins later, not great service, no apology was given either times. The food however was enjoyable, a good range of options and good quality.

The gym and pool were small but adequate, nothing fancy but did what it was supposed do. Some of the staff were great, one in particular wasnt.

All in all I was disappointed with the standards of this hotel at this sort of price but a few small changes could make a big difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear tanya18,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in a suite after getting married and the room was clean and the huge bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great - good selection of pretty much everything you can think of or would want! Good food also in the bar.
Would like to particularly highlight Rebecca who is without a doubt the most welcoming and helpful employee I have encountered in a hotel reception and really did make us feel extra special. Similarly, Leah was most attentive at breakfast and I was particuarly impressed with her ability to pay attention to guests whilst also organising the waiting staff efficiently and discreetly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time for us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you found everything in your suite to be perfect on your wedding night. I am very happy that everything was to your liking and I will share your review with the team members in question. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and congratulations on your wedding.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing