We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not quite....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed overnight with my husband to break a long journey. Nice hotel helpful staff, standard room perfectly OK. Booked to eat in Silk resteraunt as too tired to go out. Air con freezing asked to be moved to warmer spot which the staff were happy to do but there was nowhere warmer. Went upstairs to room to add another layer but not really successful. My meal was OK, however my husbands risotto was in his words the worst he had ever had. Overcooked rice and having no taste at all. We told the chap in charge as we were going back up to the room, too chilly for desert, and he did not charge us and apologised but it spoiled the meal. As I said before it was a good rating spoiled by silly touches.

Room Tip: You can have a room in a quiet part, we were offered this on reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troublesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I’m pleased to read that you found our team members and rooms to be more than adequate but I’m sorry that you found our restaurant to be too cold despite being moved to a warmer spot. I will look into this to ensure the air con is at a more comfortable temperature. I hope that despite this you choose to return to us in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. Excellent service for a British hotel and actually deserves its rating.
Good club room and worth the extra cost. Very nice breakfast.
Location is superb for the town.
Club lounge could be larger though as it was full.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be well-deserving of our rating with wonderful service. I hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on the 13th August with my wife and three year old daughter. The hotel is spotless. It is right in the heart of Chester but not noisy so lots to see and do. Swimming pool was great. Will definately go back...............

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your family break with us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking from our leisure facilities to our location. I hope to welcome you all back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently and initially believed the place to be of good quality. After a few days you begin to notice small things that make your stay not unpleasant, but not comfortable. On Saturday night, I decided to meet a couple of friends at the bar for a quick drink before we headed into town, we got an order in fast enough, as we were guided to a seat and told someone would take our order which they did, which was a nice touch, but from here on in, it seemed like chaos! There appeared to be two or three people serving 50 or so sat at tables, and it wasn't working at all. After about 15 minutes we eventually got our drinks, but by this point we were sick of waiting and just wanted to leave. Other negatives included the temperature of the rooms, they were like saunas, plus no free wifi! Also I decided in the morning to have breakfast and was quoted something like £16, so walked out of the hotel 5 minutes and found a small cafe for breakfast which looked far nice food at a reasonable price. Except for the things mention, the rooms were clean and beds comfortable, and the staff couldn't do enough to help, especially reception, Rebecca particularly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Reception Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

Although I am pleased to read that you found the majority of your stay (rooms and team members) to be of a high standard and impressive, I am sorry to read that your experience in our bar led to confusion. I will look into this instance to ensure our standards are not slipping. I hope you realise this is not a comment I hear often and give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel provides the level of service to which all Holiday Inns should aspire. Rooms are well maintained, staff courteous and its location is superb. There is recognition for Priority Club members which, sadly, is no longer the case in all of the IHG brand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay from start to finish, what a beautiful hotel, no expense spared on the decor & the pool & hydropool are wonderful. Slept soundly & breakfast was made with quality produce. Such a bonus with it being in the centre of all the bars, restaurants & race course.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to be to your liking. I’m delighted that you slept well and enjoyed your breakfast. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another break soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We came to Crowne Plaza for couple of days with friends t was their first stay and our third stay. We all agreed it was excellent. We booked the Exec rooms at £149 per roo. Per night DBB plus snacks and drinks until 8pm. Food in restaurant excellent and breakfast had improved since we lat stayed in Feb 2013. Staff are so helpful Central location. Excellent hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Exec rooms are excellent value
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

I am very pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay with us very much and found that we have improved on our breakfasts since the last time you stayed. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £93 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing