We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok. But ok is just about it..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It's ok. But ok is just about it..”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with two kids and my wife. Booked a so called suite on the club level floor (free drinks and canapés from 5-8 every day). Room was very poor, wallpaper peeling off the Walls, Stains on bed ware and carpets. Sink in bathroom leaked and was never repaired even though we mentioned it. The staff at the hotel where very good and quite friendly but lacked any local knowledge when pressed for local recommendations etc.. The hotels location is second to none just a 2 min walk to chester city centre. Car parking on site is convenient but very expensive at £7.50 a night, if your going to provide parking, guests should never be expected to pay. The biggest wind up for me though was there was no free wi-fi, they wanted £15 a day which imho is disgraceful. I can go to costa coffee and spend £2 and get all the free wi-fi I want but pay these guys £150 a night and no chance. Wake up crowne plaza. The food and drinks we had were very good quality and the food at the bar was good value and was served with a smile. Overall you can't fault the location but that's not enough to recommend it. We won't be returning in a hurry. Chester itself is fantastic and well worth a visit and I can highly recommend Hickorys smokehouse down by the river fa a great food experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Perrisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you found our team members and food to be of an excellent quality and you were impressed by this and our location. I am sorry, however, to read of your dissatisfaction concerning your room. I will be sure to look into the issue with your bathroom as soon as possible and I will talk to our housekeeping team to ensure the best care is being given to our rooms. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    587
    177
    48
    37
See reviews for
236
867
36
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A good business hotel. Very good breakfast and friendly and efficient staff. Location is good but the design of the hotel with the main entrance in back street cover car park tunnel lets it down. Short of knocking the hotel down a rebuilding it I’m not sure what can be done about this however. Downsides the broadband costs £20 for 2 days which seems expensive to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us a great deal and found everything to your liking from our breakfasts to our friendly and efficient team members. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed overnight with my husband to break a long journey. Nice hotel helpful staff, standard room perfectly OK. Booked to eat in Silk resteraunt as too tired to go out. Air con freezing asked to be moved to warmer spot which the staff were happy to do but there was nowhere warmer. Went upstairs to room to add another layer but not really successful. My meal was OK, however my husbands risotto was in his words the worst he had ever had. Overcooked rice and having no taste at all. We told the chap in charge as we were going back up to the room, too chilly for desert, and he did not charge us and apologised but it spoiled the meal. As I said before it was a good rating spoiled by silly touches.

Room Tip: You can have a room in a quiet part, we were offered this on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troublesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I’m pleased to read that you found our team members and rooms to be more than adequate but I’m sorry that you found our restaurant to be too cold despite being moved to a warmer spot. I will look into this to ensure the air con is at a more comfortable temperature. I hope that despite this you choose to return to us in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. Excellent service for a British hotel and actually deserves its rating.
Good club room and worth the extra cost. Very nice breakfast.
Location is superb for the town.
Club lounge could be larger though as it was full.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be well-deserving of our rating with wonderful service. I hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on the 13th August with my wife and three year old daughter. The hotel is spotless. It is right in the heart of Chester but not noisy so lots to see and do. Swimming pool was great. Will definately go back...............

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your family break with us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking from our leisure facilities to our location. I hope to welcome you all back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently and initially believed the place to be of good quality. After a few days you begin to notice small things that make your stay not unpleasant, but not comfortable. On Saturday night, I decided to meet a couple of friends at the bar for a quick drink before we headed into town, we got an order in fast enough, as we were guided to a seat and told someone would take our order which they did, which was a nice touch, but from here on in, it seemed like chaos! There appeared to be two or three people serving 50 or so sat at tables, and it wasn't working at all. After about 15 minutes we eventually got our drinks, but by this point we were sick of waiting and just wanted to leave. Other negatives included the temperature of the rooms, they were like saunas, plus no free wifi! Also I decided in the morning to have breakfast and was quoted something like £16, so walked out of the hotel 5 minutes and found a small cafe for breakfast which looked far nice food at a reasonable price. Except for the things mention, the rooms were clean and beds comfortable, and the staff couldn't do enough to help, especially reception, Rebecca particularly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, Reception Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

Although I am pleased to read that you found the majority of your stay (rooms and team members) to be of a high standard and impressive, I am sorry to read that your experience in our bar led to confusion. I will look into this instance to ensure our standards are not slipping. I hope you realise this is not a comment I hear often and give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel provides the level of service to which all Holiday Inns should aspire. Rooms are well maintained, staff courteous and its location is superb. There is recognition for Priority Club members which, sadly, is no longer the case in all of the IHG brand.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing