We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable,quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable,quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have visited this hotel on more than one occasion and have been happy with each visit. The rooms are of a good quality and always clean. Breakfast is very overpriced if your booking doesn't include, there are many great cafes minutes away which serve breakfast at a fraction of the cost! The location is great, right in the heart of the city which suited us as we wanted to shop and visit some of the restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Im pleased to hear that you’re a guest who likes to come back to us again and again! I will be sure to pass your feedback about our well maintained and clean bedrooms over to our housekeeping team, As im sure they will be just as pleased to hear it, as I am.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    580
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions previously and, like this time, have usually been quite satisfied. We had booked a two day executive autumn package, ie two days B & B and dinner on the first night in an Executive king. With that comes use of the executive lounge and spa. We were pleased to se that 'Silks' restaurant had greatly improved their menu and, although pricey, we had an excellent meal. The room was fine, apart from a couple of following points and the beds very comfortable.
My main gripe was the cost of Wi-fi, £15.00 per 24hrs and there were connection problems. Eventually I had my money refunded. I could of used the free PCs in the Executive lounge as well.
The shower was not very powerful and controls were idiosyncratic to say the least. Comments were noted at reception.
The total bill, with coffees in the lounge and two guests for dinner was £345.00. Pricey when your company isn't footing the bill, but we will, no doubt go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanky ou for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I am pleased that you found our staff welcoming and friendly. However I was disapointed that you felt your room was a little noisy. If you choose to come to back to the hotel in the future, Ask one of the reception team to allocate a quiet room for you, and we will try our best to accommodate. Overall it appears you enjoyed your stay, which is brilliant, and I do hope you choose to visit us again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwllheli
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Chester for 2 nights.Good points. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Room spacious, and tidy. Bathroom clean and plenty of towels provided. Towelling dressing gowns and slippers were also provided. Room service very good! Breakfast very tasty and freshly cooked and the staff were very attentive. Ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely.
Now for one or two minor bad points. The drinks in the bar were overpriced in my opinion, so only had the one drink! Bedroom walls were too thin, could hear other guests walking, talking, going to the bathroom etc. Beds uncomfortable.Lastly thought that paying £7.50 per night for parking was a bit steep.
All in all had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mersanpwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal using the internet. Fantastic welcome to find we had been give an upgrade which was a nice suprise. The facilities were very good. Food couldn't complain. The breakfast was really nice and worth the extra expense!!! The room was very clean and modern!!! Great view!!! Will be booking again in the future!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shovel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. 5 out of 5!.. Thankyou! I will be certain to pass over your kind comments to the team, and im pleased to hear you enjoyed the views over the welsh mountains and the racecourse from your room, If you catch it at the right time, the sunset over the hills is certainly one to remember!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, with the very biggest bed I've ever slept in! The pool, gym and spa are really excellent facilities. I was very impressed that here was no extra charge for my daughter (who lives in Chester) to use them either. Only the charge for wifi seems unreasonable and stopped me giving this a 5 star rating. £5 for an hour! Just wanted to google local attractions and restaurants....

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, Im pleased you enjoyed one of our kingsized beds during your stay! Hopefully by the next time you stay with us, If you are an IHG Rewards member, The internet access will be complimentary. Free WiFi for rewards members will be introduced early next year, So hopefully the charge for the WiFi wont deter you from joining us in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We weren't going to the races but happened to stay here for one night when the races were on. I was a bit worried about noise - but it was fine. The rooms are good - we thought that they were up to scratch for the price. Check in was quick, very friendly and polite. The hotel is very well situated for wandering around the town of Chester. The hotel is much nicer in the rooms than the external appearance or the décor in the lobby might suggest. We found that it was a really relaxing stay (a rare child free night) and it was comfortable and a tad luxurious for stressed out parents!
We didn't have breakfast - and it is so near the town centre with its many coffee shops that if you prefer to pop out, it is easily do-able.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prehistoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its good to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful child free night, even though it was Chester Races! I will make sure I pass over your positive comments to our reception team in relation to your swift, yet polite check-in experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Regards,

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager



Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I booked an executive 2 night stay here and haven't been disappointed. Rooms are clean and functional - best bit was that our exec package included access to the club lounge where we had complimentary beer, wine and canapés between 5-8pm every evening (brilliant) and it also included breakfast which was very good.
Would like to recommend Hannah in the spa - fabulous massage for my poor knotty shoulders!
Staff have all been really welcoming and couldn't do enough for us - would def recommend!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirribilli1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester, Im pleased to hear you enjoyed the benefits of our Executive Club Lounge, and our full English buffet breakfast. I will personally ensure that your positive feedback is passed over to the team during their team meetings this month.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing