We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting the city on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. We were upgraded to a Club Room which was ideal for our needs. The food, service and staff were all very good. There were some improvements going on at the hotel but nothing that disturbed anyone, and all was finished by 5pm every day. Can't say much more than I would stay again and would recommend to anyone, especially that the hotel has its own car park and is only a few yards away from the City Centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

What a brilliant review! Thankyou!! I will sure to pass over all of your comments to the team during their next team meetings. Thankyou again for your kind comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for valentines day and the saturday night after, a strange place for a hotel but very nice literally two minutes walk from centre. Refurb going on but that not a problem staff very friendly hotel clean and quite posh. Had a valentines meal which was lovely and i got free chocs bonus!! Bar lovely also used room service Very good!! Problems i had walls thin you could hear everything!! Car park tiny and one girl in restaurant very ditzy took our order for tea and coffee n disappeared couple that arrived after us got served first so had to ask for ours when it came was cold!! Also no spoons!! Second day spoons but no milk!! Little things but very frustrating all in all would stay again however think some staff need more training!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KIMB33369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

Im pleased to hear you had an enjoyable valentines break away, and that you found most of the staff very friendly. I will be sure to follow up with the restauarant manager in relation to the feedback you have given about breakfast. Without your feedback, We wouldnt know the areas in which we need to improve, So thankyou again for your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 7.2.14. After a disastrous trip to another hotel which was awful (dirty hotel), Crowne plaza was excellent. Staff very helpful. Listened to our story and gave us a free upgrade and a free bottle of wine. Room was lovely and clean although was a bit warm despite window being open. Fantastic view over the racecourse. Close to shops/bars. Bar staff more than helpful. Loads of works going on as they refurb, didn't bother us, even workmen were polite. Breakfast was nice and fresh. Overall, really nice and pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarke-Bulloughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

Im pleased to hear that following on from a bad experience at another hotel, That you where well looked after by the team. Thankyou for your patience during the refurbishment works, Im happy to inform you that the refurbishment is now complete.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chester in the future,

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

stayed here the end of January for 3 nights, We paid about about £530 so not cheap but we upgraded to a club room so we could use the club bar from 5-8. This was quite nice as you had complimentary drinks and snacks for the time you were in there. One disadvantage was I couldn't get a signal on my phone here to do some work but there was a computer in here

The upgraded room on the 3rd floor though was ok but we didn't have a view unfortunately
While we were there, there were quite a few disruptions as there was renovations going on which was bit of a disappointment so we didn't spend much time here because it was a bit of a pain and not great to relax
the car park was handy and we paid about £24 for the 3 days which was good
the food was lovely and could not fault it
chester was fantastic and cannot wait to go again but don't think I would stay in the crown plaza
I have just received my bank statement and realised that the hotel charged me twice. I was not a happy bunny and good job I realised cause I had to ring them up and they admitted they had made the mistake!!! Good job I checked my statement.
What was disappointing was that they didn't actually do/give you anything or the inconvenience of the renovations or the fact that they had charged me twice....very disappointing and this might make me decide to go somewhere else on my next visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellyfish40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

I am pleased to hear that you found our executive rooms comfortable & made use of our executive club lounge during your stay with us, However I was disapointed to hear that there had been a clerical error from which you where charged twice in error. I can assure you that this is a rareity & the relevant training & procedural changes have occurrred to reduce the likelyhood of this happening again in the future.

Hopefully your experience does not deter you from staying at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were treated to a Valentines meal at the Silk Restaurant, Crowne Plaza, Chester bupy my son and daughter-in-law last night.

The hotel has just about finished being refurbished and was looking very swish.

The staff in the bar were very attentive and greeted us immediately upon our arrival with an offer to sit down whilst they brought our drinks.

We were greeted at the restaurant by the Manager and shown our seats by Brandon, a lovely waiter. After drinks we had a beautiful 3-course meal with wine, which was very well presented and well cooked. All in all we had an excellent evening and would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Thanks to all the staff, especially Brandon and Rachael, who looked after us so well, we had a lovely evening!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackandwhitetyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

I am pleased that your dinner with us went well, and that you have had the opportunity to experience our fantastic new Bar & Restaurant area. I will be sure that Rachel & Brandon are commended on their service skills, They will be happy to hear such positive comments!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were recommended this hotel by one of our customers in our restaurant in turkey who had previously been for their new years gala dinner!!!!this was definitely a good recommendation!!!
The hotel was centrally located with car parking and wifi in all areas and the central areas were smart and upmarket
The rooms were spacious,beds comfortable and clean and they had aromatherapy sleep aid products which were a nice touch
Room service was fast and efficient for both food and drinks
All the staff were smart,efficient and friendly
The gala dinner was fantastic and an excellent price compared to many other hotels and venues with a fun disco and haggis at midnight!!!!the drinks bill was even reasonable!!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we had stayed longer to enjoy the reportedly good spa facilities which we didn't have time to use
Definitely a must for anybody thinking of staying in the area

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have views of the race course
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, What a wonderful review to read!

Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us over the new year period & that you found our staff smart, efficient & friendly!.. (We aim to please!) Thankyou again for your kind feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Its a few years since I last stayed at the Crowne Plaza Chester, and it's unlikely that things changed much between visits. The good news is that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and will hopefully return to its previous high standard. The hotel is probably the least attractive in Chester and looks like the adjacent Multi storey car park. However, the rooms and public spaces are clean and comfortable although a little worn. The hotel is very convenient for the centre of Chester with plenty of parking space. The limited number of staff met appeared friendly and keen to serve

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliveratnagiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Cliveratnagiri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our public space clean and our location convenient, On the other hand, I apologize for any inconvenience our on going refurbishment may have caused, Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing