We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We arrived for my wife's 40th birthday celebration weekend with my two kids,had a very warm reception and was offered a bottle of wine with our inclusive meal which was a nice touch.The hotel layout is fantastic following the very recent refurb.We had a great 2 days with the heated swimming pool/sauna/staem room & Jacuzzi.All the staff wherever we were in the hotel were very friendly and helpful.The Club Lounge made it for us which gives you that VIP feel about your stay.5-8pm access to alcohol and beverages is brilliant with 24hr access to tea/coffee/soft drinks etc.The canapés were fantastic.The kids loved the hotel and the location is brill! We have been to Chester plenty of times over the years and we will be back at the Crowne in the next 3 months without a doubt.It's great value for a weekend.We stayed 21-22nd Feb in room 330 which was ideal for size as a family of 4.We have recommended the hotel to friends and family.See you soon Crowne Plaza Chester

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenyonmailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

Im glad you enjoyed your recent stay for your wifes 40th, and im pleased to hear our reception team made you and the family feel welcome. By the sounds of your review, It wont be long until we see you again!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is probably the ugliest hotel in the country. Get over it! It's ideally situated a short walk from the historic city centre, just off the main road (so easy to find). The rooms are spacious, with great facilities, look great and are well maintained. The restaurant is a wow - spacious, warm with great views over the welsh border region. Service is superb but above all you're made to feel very,very welcome. From the receptionist to the barman the four of us were all made to feel very welcome with our requests handled professionally and with great warmth. We stayed in an executive suite - two adults and two children - in February and enjoyed the pool, spa and gym as well as enormous breakfasts. For a short stay in a great hotel that you can walk into Chester in seconds I'd recommend this without reservation.

Room Tip: Choose the executive suites and enjoy free drinks and wi fi. In that order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

What a lovely review to read! (Especially after yet another busy weekend here at the hotel!) Im pleased to hear you made use of our fantastic location & that you found our staff warm & welcoming.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just had a fantastic stay at the crowne plaza lovely clean rooms staff were brilliant but the best part was the breakfast was the best I've ever tasted so much choice well done crowne plaza looking forward to a return visit x

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Job7321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

What a fantastic review to read!! Thankyou for your positive comments, Im glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us (Your right, there is certainly a lot of choice!!)

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The pool & spa is clean, the women behind reception didn't have a clue what she was doing, tried charging me 3 times over! The executive rooms are on the small side! Most of the staff are miserable, charged for the carpark when there was no need & you can just drive out!

Only good point about this hotel is the location

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordanmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

It was disapointing to hear your recent experience did not meet the high expectations that we strive for. Please be assured that the member of staff you dealt with during your stay has been retrained & the relevant procedural changes have been implemented to reduce the likelyhood of the problems happening again.

I hope your experience doesnt deter you from visiting us at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Group of us went here to celebrate, it was our Christmas get together for work. The food was reasonable for the price, a disco which we shared with a motley bunch of people doing the same as us. A little like a weird institution, dodgy music a tiny dance floor. However we laughed non stop so it was a strange success.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mead186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

Im pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our Christmas Parties (even with the Cheese!) Next year, Our fantastic new Bar & Restaurant should hopefully feel a little more modern! Thankyou for your comments either way,

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

city centre hotel, the main entrance is off putting but once inside its clean and bright the staff are friendly and helpful we were booked in promptly and shown to our room that was clean with a very comfortable bed nice clean bathroom. we booked a table for dinner but i think that you only need to do so during race week. the restaurant has been refurbished and is bright and modern the food and service was spot on and staff attentive. would we stop again yes. the only down side was the charge for parking

Room Tip: if you mention you would like a quiet room their is some set aside i believe on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 191278Larry1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

What a pleasant review, Thankyou! I will be sure to pass over all of your comments to the team & im certain they will be as pleased as I was to read them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but they charge parking, which I find frustrating being guests are already paying a lot I stay at the hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a gym and a pool, the gym was basic but had everything I needed.

The conference facilities were good, we had an event and the food was good, staff were attentive.

The rooms are nice with good facilities. I was in an exec room in the club floor. Comfortable bed, good shower, all the amenities you expect and great Internet connection when the computer stayed connected. It kicks you out regularly and you have to log in again.

Breakfast had to be one of best to date, great variety on offer. The restaurant is a good size so you don't feel crammed in. They also sat me quickly.

I would stay here again and would recommend it, particularly for business travellers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Neenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,

I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and I will be certain to pass over your comments to the team. Your comments about our breakfast makes for some fantastic reading! Thankyou again for your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £97 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing