We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Car Parking is a Nightmare!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Car Parking is a Nightmare!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as four friends in this hotel and arrived on a Saturday afternoon about 3pm (1 hour after you able to check-in at 2pm).

The hotel car park was already full and so we parked at the Trinity Street council car park next to the hotel. Only be told at check-in that the hotel has an overflow car park.

We proceeded to move the cars to this car park only for this one to also be full and gave up after 30mins of waiting/driving around to find a space.

Come on Crowne Plaza, sort this out!!! You have a decent hotel in Chester but the parking situation is farcical !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NottmFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear NottmFamily1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Was booked in here by my company for a couple of nights and found it to be very comfortable with some great facilities. I enjoyed a swim, steam and sauna in the fitness centre - all really clean and modern. Room was nice, bed was enormous! There were some nice little touches such as pillow mist to aid a good nights sleep. Room service was fast and the food was good. Waiting staff at breakfast particularly friendly and accommodating. Good location for a pleasant stay. If I was being picky I might say that the wi-fi connection was tedious, but once you're on it worked fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester last month.

It sounds like overall you ejoyed your stay with us, Which is fantastic to hear! I will be sure to pass over your feedback to all Heads of Department for them to feed back to the team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Chester in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza last September for our anniversary and had a great stay. We chose an executive room which was clean, modern and had a great super kingsize bed in which was really comfortable. As we had an executive room we were entitled to free WiFi which was fast and reliable, as well as entry into the Executive lounge which was well stocked with drinks (both alcoholic and soft), snacks, and a good coffee machine. We unfortunately didn't have time to use the leisure facilities although we did take a look at the pool which looked nice. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and there was plenty to choose from, all replenished frequently. All in all we had a great stay and will definitely book again for our next stay in Chester.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the executive level - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

5 out of 5! Thankyou! Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed the added benefits of our executive room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Many Thanks &
Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived at 6.15 on a monday night - there were two on reception - and six people waiting - only one receptionist was dealing with check in - the other was on the phone for the whole 20 minutes we queued - no real apology. I asked if wi fi was free - only in the executive rooms -- £5 an hour otherwise! I really feel this is so unecessary these days especially for a 4 star hotel.
The room was so hot we couldnt sleep - turned the radiators off as soon as wel arrived due to the heat and tried to get the air conditioning working to no avail on return from dinner as the room had not cooled down even though we left the window open - it was too late to report it that night- they have a little booklet on how to sleep well - keep the room cool - it was impossible and the window opened an inch.
We did report this but as usual nothing has come back to us about this - I say as usual as it seems filling in the cards at hotels these days brings no feedback.
the breakfast was excellent the next morning and staff efficient - we were just so very tired and had a long journey to Ireland to face. A poor start to our holiday

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exploreandwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear exploreandwonder,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is really nice to know that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. On the other hand, we are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the air conditioning unit and over the unsatisfactory WiFi. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent location, good for shopping and sight seeing. Hotel room was spotless and staff went out of way to help and very friendly. Cannot fault the food either. The room was very spacious, fresh clean linen and a spotless bathroom with little bits and bobs to compliment your stay. Don't worry about parking there's plenty of it!

Room Tip: Any standard room all good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldean c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

What a fantastic review! Thankyou! Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Chester, and its pleasing to hear the staff where helpful & friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Many Thanks &
Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

As an Elite Priority Club member I was upgraded to an executive suite which I would recommend for any stay, the rooms are what you would expect for a quality hotel my only negative comment would be that the flat screen TV was too small for the size of the room.
The location was good, close to the bus station and shops, lots of historical sites and near the wall which circles the city.
I had the battered fish and chips and the fish was half the size of what I would expect but no big deal whilst watching the Champions league on the big screen in the bar area.
breakfast was buffet style and good value and you could invite a guest for free, the crispy bacon was perfect and the staff were very attentive
Parking was convenient in the hotels car park with direct access to the hotel, pity it was not free to guests.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good 4th floor is for the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for reveiwing your time with us in Chester, and thankyou for your loyalty as an IHg Rewards Platinum Elite Member.

Im pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay & you made use of our fantastic location. Your comments in relation to the TV in your room & the food taken in the bar area, is appreciated! Without your feedback, We wouldnt know the areas in which we need to improve.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future,

Kind Regards

Mark Thacker
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great central location, close to shops, bars and restaurants.

Car park attached to the hotel, £7.50 for 24 hours, locks at 11pm and reopens at 6am - very secure.

Check in at 2pm, check out at 12pm - I recommend leaving the air con on as it got very hot in our room.

Was very clean and tidy, we had a twin room, was very spacious with tv, nice big chair, big mirror and desk, great for getting ready girls! Big wardrobe with plenty of hangers and had all essentials, shower gel, shampoo, teas, coffees, bottled water and dressing gown and slippers!

Was very quick to check in and friendly staff to welcome us.

I would happily stay at this hotel again. :)

Room Tip: we were in room 242, was very spacious and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your time in Chester,

Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you would stay with us again in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Mark Thacker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing