We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

lovely hotel easy to find and easy to park. Room was cozy. We booked a exec room so we had access to the club room between 5 and 8 complimentary beers wines soft drinks and canapes . Just for this we would book again an exec room..It was such a nice touch and only us in there at the time too.We asked about wifi and Sue on reception sorted us out with free wifi in the room as we joined the rewards scheme. I have to say all credit to Sue on reception so friendly and helpful she sorted us out a restaurant for our evening meal and gave us 4 free drinks at the bar as it was our anniversary .. Bar upon return friendly staff and relaxing room to sit and chill out. We had a good nights sleep bed was comfortable and breakfast was a lovely buffet full english.. I highly recommend this hotel for its position, facilities and lovely staff ..Will definitely stay here again next time we get away for the night .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester.

It’s wonderful to read you had a lovely stay and will be passing on your positive comments to our department managers, especially with regards to Sue whom you mentioned specifically, Im sure she will be over the moon to hear your comments!

Finally, I appreciate you recommending this hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Crowne Plaza in Chester.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    572
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
849
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Now Chester is a beautiful City well worth a visit and if you can get The Crowne Plaza at the right price I would defiantly recommend staying here. It's got a pool which is nice and you can have a good swim in it chill in the beautiful City and if you need to eat the restaurant is good not too pricey but of a good standard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I’m happy to read you enjoyed the facilities here and would recommend this hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith<east yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting the City and friends. Firstly we parked with no problems in the onsite carpark and were then greeted by a very friendly reception. Unfortunately the room wasn't ready but were able to have a lovely coffee in the the bar whilst waiting, this again served by another very friendly lady. First impressions of the room were good but we needed the sofa bed making up as we had our son with us and as luck would have it the chamber maid was outside our door working on the opposite room, now this member of staff could do to visit the charm school as we only asked for help and were told very abruptly to ring reception as it wasn't on her to do list!! ok!! Anyway we left our stuff and went out exploring the City and would recommend this hotel as it is so central, 5 mins walk to main shops etc. The food was nice and plenty of choice at breakfast. The only negative i would say is the place could have better communication and info of facilities as it appeared to have a lovely pool and spa but had absolutely no idea of how to use etc? Also had no idea where breakfast or anything was so just had to wander around guessing but other than this would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazNLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel was beneficial to you. Your constructive comments regarding the information of the hotels facilities and the lack of communication regarding the sofa bed will be addressed in the next managerial meeting to ensure those issues can be rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights for my sons birthday as we were going to Chester zoo, the weather was so bad we ended up going on our way home. We still had a fantastic weekend thanks to the hotel. Our children loved the swimming pool and the relaxed friendly atmosphere in the hotel ensured we had a great time. The staff were extremely helpful and went out there way to ensure we had a stress free stay. We stayed in a Club room which we found excellent value for money. We ate in the hotel both evenings as the rain was so bad we couldn't get out, the food was delicious and the children were welcomed. The room was clean and comfortable and huge, plenty of room and storage space. We would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suttons7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester.

This was a lovely review to read and it’s wonderful to hear that despite the weather you were able to have a fantastic weekend with us. We look forward in welcoming you again in the near future with hopefully better weather!

Kind Regards,
Peter Gregory.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great break away for 2 nights, lovely to find a room that can accommodate us with a double plus sofa chair for child - a great idea. Great to have a pool for us to have a swim after a busy day shopping as Cheshire oaks only 10 mins away. The restaurant was lovely a great dining option of 2 courses & glass of wine for 2 people under £40 and kids eat free - lovely food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellykins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester.

It’s lovely to hear you had a nice break and found our facilities accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent facilities, good location, good food. Excellent friendly staff and also an executive lounge that's very good.
Every time we come to Chester we stay here and enjoy our stay as much as the first time we came here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Crowne Plaza in Chester. I’m so pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great venue for business meetings, very good facilities and a friendly welcome. Walking distance from Chester city centre, and a stones throw from Chester races. Beautiful interior. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank matt_tee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay/meeting with us at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our conference and events facilities and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Gregory
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing