We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

really enjoyed this hotel and its facilities. Relaxing yet excellent quality. Enjoyed the restaurant/bar. Excellent location to town centre.Rooms are extremely comfortable. Staff were attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bowky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting the fabulous historic city of Chester and wanting an excellent hotel location; excellent, friendly, caring, considerate and 'Happy' staff; excellent food (especially breakfast!) then look no further - the Crowne Plaza fits the bill! This hotel is a little gem which I wanted to keep quiet to ensure that next time I visit Chester, there will still be a room available but that would be unfair and I needed to share my wonderful find! Your stay in the Crowne Plaza will complement your visit and experiences that Chester has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purple-liscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have recently returned from our time away at the crown plaza and it was perfect. We had a great stay and the staff were all lovely. Daniel who worked for the hotel helped my boyfriend plan the perfect weekend and surprise proposal which was just perfect. He also went out of his way to walk us to a restaurant in the surrounding area of the hotel in his own time. We will definitely be returning to stay at this hotel in the near future. Room was great and very comfortable and the staff were very efficient. We've had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time with us & I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for one night a Saturday, arrived at around 1pm to find the car park full, we were eventually directed to another car park. It then took over half an hour to check in as the que was extremely long.
First impression on entering from street level was that the area was sparse and the doors to the lifts were dirty.
Eventually got to our room to find a smell which we were unsure what it was. The draw on the dressing table was open and the chair was out. One of the gowns in the wardrobe was wet. The bathroom needed some diy applied to it, overall I did not feel that this room or the bathroom had been cleaned properly. I WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

Its very disapointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I can assure you that the experience you had is not to the high standard that we strive to achieve. We have implemented the neccesary procedural changes in terms of your waiting time to check-in. The problems you encountered in your room are un-acceptable & I have passed over your comments to our housekeeping manager for investigation. If you do wish to discuss your stay further, please dont hesistate to contact me directly.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show you our high standards on a future stay, however once again, Thankyou for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A midweek break at the Crowne Plaza and from the outset we knew we'd made the right choice. On booking we'd asked for information to be sent on the city's attractions and this was promptly provided by Daniel with some very helpful suggestions. The hotel was easily found, right in the centre and the car parking well catered for. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Sue on reception who within minutes had provided a map and given directions to everything we wanted to do during our stay. The room was immaculately clean, a welcome tray of refreshments and bottled water (it had been a long hot drive!) and the bathroom toiletries were of a very high standard.
The first night, we dined at the hotels "Stables Bar" where a set menu of two courses (beautifully cooked) and two large glasses of wine was available for the reasonable price of £39.99 for two. Our waiter Brandon was friendly and a mine of local information. The bonus of the Stables was being able to watch the sunset over the nearby Welsh hills, a wonderful sight.
Next mornings breakfast was presided over by supervisor Amy. This lady loves her job and it shows. Vivacious and cheerful, she greets every customer like a long lost friend and gets your morning off to a great start! Having made good use of the leisure clubs swimming pool I was ravenous but the breakfast certainly met my needs. It was the BEST hotel breakfast I have ever had anywhere, everything grilled (no greasy fry ups here!) and the chaffing dishes replenished regularly with fresh hot food. A real good start to a hard days sightseeing. Incidentally it is not unusual to find hotel leisure facilities in a rundown state, often a steamroom, sauna or jacuzzi malfunction but Simon had everything up and running beautifully at 6.30 each morning.
A second dinner at the Stables two nights later proved as good as the first and we chatted to Robin the manager who was as pleasant and friendly as his staff.
Chester was a delight and the Plaza proved to be a top quality hotel, staffed by people who really DO want you to enjoy your stay. We came away knowing we still have a lot to see in and around Chester and when we return, the Crowne Plaza will be where we shall be staying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spindrift1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

WOW!! Thankyou!! What a fantastic review! Its brilliant to hear that each of the team made an impact on your first time with us at Crowne Plaza. I will be sure to congratulate the team on a job well done!.. As you say, They genuinely try their very best to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us, so its brilliant to see that it shows!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future,

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the crowne plaza 26/7/14 for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great location. On checking in, even though we had a que behind us, the receptionist took time out to give us directions etc, we got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for her.
The room was spotless, bed very comfortable and plenty of white fluffy towels!
We used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room, again all spotless & staff very helpful and friendly. Following our night out we spent a relaxing hour in the hotel bar, which was lovely. We didn't experience any noise disturbance over night & slept soundly!
We paid for breakfast in the morning at £10 pp quite pricey but boy was it worth every penny, everything you could possibly want and more!
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely use this hotel again should we return to Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

Its great to hear you found the reception team helpful & accomodating, and that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us! see you same time next year!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future,

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday, we decided to do something a little different, we booked a double exec room on the club floor which I would highly recommend. Food was amazing, staff very friendly would defiantly stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank xbethanycx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester,

Its wonderful to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us & that you will be again in the future (Maybe for your Birthday next time!)

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future,

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £97 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing