We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is excellent, but we were sadly let down as the the room had just been repainted. The smell of paint fumes was horrendous, and we were unable to sleep. The management tried to rectify the problem but was unable to as there were no rooms available to move us to. They offered us a future stay at the hotel which was accepted. All the staff are a credit to the hotel, the food is also excellent and we are looking forward to going again in the future. Please do not boycott this hotel as it is a brilliant place to stay and easy access to the city centre just a 5 minute walk.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Im pleased to hear you found the staff helpful throughout your stay & please accept my apologies once again for the problems with the re-painted room. We are continually looking at ways to improve our bedrooms & our guest experiences to the highest standard, however it did become apparent that this room should have been put out of order for additonal days.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    580
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family room at the club floor for 2 nights. The hotel is within walking distance from the rows shopping area and also the Roman walls. Parking is available in the building. Very convenient. We had 2 extra beds for the children. Although the temporary beds are not as comfortable, they are good for 1-2 nights. Evening drinks and cold breakfast are provided to guests at the club floor. There is a swimming pool as well. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent a long weekend at this hotel, celebrating our 30th anniversary, and I have to say that the staff are exceptional, particularly Sue, Laura and the young concierge, whose name I did not get.
The hotel was fully booked and had weddings and other clelbrations over the weekend, this did not deflect the professionalism of the staff.
We stayed in a club room, at the front of the hotel, and had viewsover the hills. Beautiful.
The hotel is very centrally located, and you are only a short walk to the shops and bars etc.
We had a very minor situation with our room nd this was addressed very quickly. We saw the young concierge deal with a potentially volatile situation ,involving noisy guests, in a very cool, calm and professional manner. The club lounge is a bit small, and could improve with someone being in attendance during breakfast times to ensure choice is maintained. Hot food would not go amiss. The bar and lounge areas are very spacious and well looked after. Bar staff are very helpful, if they don't know how to make a cocktail, they will find out. All in all this is the place to stay if you are in Chester.

Room Tip: High floor facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, I will be sure to pass over your feedback to the team. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Sat 26th July as a surprise trip for our wedding anniversary. Arrived just after lunch, car park full but directed to pay and display around the corner and given a ticket to display. Reception staff were very friendly, hotel entrance felt like we were in 5 star hotel. Stayed in executive club room on 4th floor. Hotel facilities were excellent, had treatments in the spa, swimming pool and jacuzzi before breakfast again staff were great. Had a brilliant nights stay, 4th floor was quiet and heard nothing even though I think there was a wedding party staying. Breakfast was amazing, had a table overlooking welsh hills, lots of choice and again like the rest of the staff nothing was a problem. Would definitely stay again, can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed 4 nights from the 24th of July I must compliment the management on this hotel.Everything from checking in to checking out was actioned with ease.We stayed in a club room and found it lovely with complimentary robes and slippers.We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday night and was also very impressed with the meal and the atmosphere in the bar was good with great banter with the staff.Also must say the cleaner who cleaned our room was very courteous in the morning.
Will definately be returning very soon as Chester is a great place for a few days and the Crowne Plaza was excellent.
Well done

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

really enjoyed this hotel and its facilities. Relaxing yet excellent quality. Enjoyed the restaurant/bar. Excellent location to town centre.Rooms are extremely comfortable. Staff were attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting the fabulous historic city of Chester and wanting an excellent hotel location; excellent, friendly, caring, considerate and 'Happy' staff; excellent food (especially breakfast!) then look no further - the Crowne Plaza fits the bill! This hotel is a little gem which I wanted to keep quiet to ensure that next time I visit Chester, there will still be a room available but that would be unfair and I needed to share my wonderful find! Your stay in the Crowne Plaza will complement your visit and experiences that Chester has to offer!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple-liscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing