We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked the Plaza for our 6th wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who on realising it was our anniversary offered to arrange a complimentary bottle of wine for our room (unfortunately we did have to chase the wine as it was not brought to our room on the first night, but we did eventually get it). Our room was lovely, very clean and comfy with lots of complimentary toiletries. There were two miniature cupcakes waiting for us when we arrived in our room with a postcard congratulating us on our anniversary. We paid for an upgrade which meant we had access to a lounge with free tea, coffee and soft drinks. In the evening the lounge offered free alcoholic beverages and a variety of nibbles. We paid for breakfast which offered a good selection of hot and cold items. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay at the Plaza again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soojanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay & 5 out of 5! Thankyou! I hope you had an enjoyable anniversary stay with us & you enjoyed your cupcakes!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    598
    182
    49
    37
See reviews for
247
883
37
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic - we booked the chester zoo package which was fantastic value for money - we paid £170 approx for 1 night which included a family room, (sleeps 2 Adults 2 children) breakfast, zoo tickets and use of the club 10 lounge - complimentary drinks and snacks throughout our stay!!! These included alcohol drinks up until 8pm!! (Bottled lager, alcopops, wine, sprits and soft drinks. The breakfast was lovely and the quality of food fantastic - the room was lovely and clean and plenty of room for all the family. The location of the hotel is perfect a 3 minute walk to the main shops and bars, 10 minute walk to the river and museums. We didn't eat in the hotel as we chose to eat at Hickorys smokehouse again an absolute must if staying in chester but please ask reception to book a table as if gets extremely busy! This hotel is by fair the best iv stayed in the staff are also extremely helpful! - I will be definitely be booking this on my return to chester in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location near the shopping and the City Walls and other attractions.
It has it's own car park at only £7 per day.
We had access to the executive lounge which is dull and some depressing however during the cocktail hours between 5pm and 8pm you can get free drinks from the main bar.
Leisure club is good as are room and breakfast.
Would definite recommend for a short stay in Chester.

Room Tip: Go for executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband when he was working in Chester. The staff are very friendly and helpful and it makes me feel better knowing that my husband is being well looked after on the days that I am not able to stay with him. The location is ideal for exploring Chester by foot as it is metres away from East gate. The breakfast was delicious and the room was big and comfortable. We once came to this hotel for the New Years Gala ball and we loved it. Chester is a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: The 3rd and 4th floors have the biggest and best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night using my IHG Reward points, which we have done in a number of the chain hotels throughout the UK, South America and Asia.
The approach to the hotel is a little disappointing, but the entrance lobby is very smart. The reception staff were polite and efficient. However, when we reached the room both key cards didn't work. On entry to the room the door closer broke, and our first impression was that it felt more like a Travelodge than a Crowne Plaza. The room was small and dated.
We didn't use the restaurant as the breakfast was pricey, but the swimming pool was nice, and again staff were generally friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_and_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you found that staff friendly during your stay, however its disapointing to hear about the other issues that you had during your stay with us. I will take all of yoru feedback on board & ensure re-training is carried out if required.

I look forward to Welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in an executive room and thank god for the air conditioning!!!

Very comfortable beds with amazing pillows, great nights sleep, the rooms are very quiet even though it's on one of the main roads through Chester.

The Stables Bar & Grill served excellent food and drink and the staff were first class,

Would definitely recommend staying here, the location is perfect for everything that's in Chester.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and this was fine, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have used this hotel a few times now and it's handy to park the car and is right next to the main shopping street and also handy if you are at the races.
The rooms are clean and fresh with top quality bed, it was also handy having the small fridge in the room.
Breakfast was OK and the only small niggle was the staff at breakfast on both mornings tended to spend more time talking amongst themselves than getting you seated!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. I will be sure to follow up your comments in relation to the breakfast staff & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing