We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lack of any ambience or welcome at either street or car park entrances gives this hotel a hollow feeling although staff at reception - once you find it - are great .
It was a last minute find - very cheap - we stayed one night in the large family room and had access to the club lounge and swimming pool.
The room was not 100 % clean otherwise I'd give a 5 excellent - but the loo seat wasnt clean and their was tissue in the bowl - also a childs coloured in mask was on the side ( used).

Great breakfast - super value and again, staff smashing !

Room Tip: Family room is large and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amfoster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Im very sorry to read that you encountered so many little niggles. Please be assured from your review all these issues have been addresed.

It always gives me great pleasure to read about the fantastic team of staff I have here at the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed Saturday night. Managed to get into car park and easy /friendly check in. Rooms are large and well equipped although no interesting view. It is a 2 min walk to Main Street and pleasant walking by shops and along old walls. Breakfast on Sunday was £10 per head but good quality with lots of options so was good for us. We had a couple of drinks in the bar- prices ok and we could "people watch" a wedding reception underway in one of the entertainment rooms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review, and that you found the breakfast buffet had lots of variety, the bar where you were able to relax and that you liked the location.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel

Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we stayed here, as a family, while visiting Carfest north for the weekend. It exceded our expectations. the family room was fine, with views across the racecourse. we slept well in comfy beds. the hotel staff were very good and helpfull. when we arrived late each evening, the carpark was already full, but they sorted us out, which is what you want with a sleepy toddler and loads of baggage. we had access to refreshments in a bar, at all hours . There was a small pool and gym which i was pleased with. The breakfast was good. exactly what we wanted. Also very close to the shops etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

It gives me great pleasure to have met your expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future

Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed one night. The location was perfect for our trip to Chester. We had a spacious, clean and comfortable room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was lovely and warm! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you taking the time to submit a review .

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here for one Saturday night with a friend,we finally found hotel carpark which was full which isn't difficult as it has very limited spaces.so was sent to the nearby market carpark,which is a typical old dark multi storey and I wouldn't feel safe returning to my car on my own at any time.Having returned to reception we were welcomed by a very pleasant lady who inundated us with places to eat, drink and see.we had a standard double which faced the hotel carpark but we had no problem with noise at all.the room is okay,nothing to write home about.the bathroom fairly standard too,my only real gripe was the smell from the basin,very unpleasant.if we were staying for more than one night I would of complained about it.we had free wifi which is always a bonus .£7:50 parking charges for 24hrs,okay for one day, anymore and it starts to become an expensive addition to you room cost.breakfast was £10 each person so we declined and made our way to the town for a cheaper alternative.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 350neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear 350neo,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear your positive feedback about the front office services and room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the unpleasant smell in the bathroom. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a 2 night stay up in the North West (the 2nd night was to be spent in Liverpool).

It was my first wedding anniversary, so I pushed the boat out and booked an Executive club room. I'd never paid in excess of £100 for a hotel room before so I had high expectations. I was not disappointed one bit. The lady on reception was absolutely fantastic. She spent several minutes showing us various places to visit in Chester, and went on to explain the 'perks' that came with our room. The hotel has a classy feel about it.

We arrived at our room (301) and was simply blown away. The size of the bed was unbelievable. The decor and facilities available were of a very high standard. I was so pleased it lived up to my expectation.

Breakfast the following morning was excellent, one of the best I've ever eaten in fact. Piping hot, with a wide choice.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay. In total the room including breakfast and parking cost £130.00 which is now a distant memory. I would definitely book to go again if we found ourselves in or around the Chester area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very central to the wonderful city of Chester. The hotel charges for parking and wi-fi, the parking charges are less than standard parking so good value. Disappointing though that wi-fi is charged for. The hotel has a spa, although not tried on this occasion. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. There was a wedding on on the main floor but soundproofing must be excellent as we heard nothing. The menu looked appealing and a very limited 24 hour facility was available.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park and adjacent dual carraigeway but were not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JojoCeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester.

Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and im pleased to inform you that as from the 1st of July, All our IHG Rewards Members recieve complimentary Wi-Fi with us. If your not a member currently, Please ask at reception during your stay stay at an IHG property.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future & hopefully your stay will be just as pleasant (but with free wifi!)

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £94 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing