We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel, attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just returned from a weekend break visiting Chester for the race meeting. The hotel is in a very good location for everything - only a 5 minute walk to the race course, even less to the centre with lots of lovely shops and bars.
The rooms are very large with an enormous bed that would have slept 4 never mind the 2 of us. We had a view of the racecourse in the distance, all the usual hair drier, iron, complimentary toiletries, tea/coffee, air conditioning etc. Beautifully decorated and a very comfy bed.
Breakfast was buffet service but we never had to wait for a table and the food was plentiful with a great choice. Tea and coffee was served to the table in your own personal pot which was nice.
There is a spa and pool at this hotel but we never got chance to visit it.
Would highly recommend a stay here...not the cheapest by far but well worth the money in my opinion for a great location :-)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (room 108) - didn't see any others so not sure how it compares
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Its brilliant to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, and you liked the size of our kingsize beds! Hopefully next time you are here you will get to relax in the spa & leisure facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    580
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in a family room on the club floor (gives you access to free drinks, space to chill out etc). Room was modern, nicely decorated. However there was an issue with the room and at that point the fantastic service from Reception kicked in. They were so helpful and accommodating and quickly resolved the issue. The way they helped us out was so impressive and made the stay really special - great work! The hotel is 2 mins walk from the central street in Chester, so a very good location to stay. 20 mins drive to Chesire oaks. Hotel has a pool (quite small), gym, sauna etc. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shsh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

What a fantastic review!! Thankyou!! Its brilliant to hear that our reception team really made you feel welcome. I will be sure to congratulate them personally & im sure they will be just as pleased to read your review as I was.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are wanting a clean, comfortable hotel within easy reach of the shops/restaurants. Just a 5 minute walk to the centre, which was ideal. We stayed for one night and chose an executive room - nicely decorated, clean, comfy beds, plus access to the club lounge with complimentary drinks and canapes - a great way to start the evening! The welcome we received at the hotel was exceptional, and all the staff we spoke to were very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was high quality and the buffet style breakfast was delicious, with a good choice. We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa area, but the pool looked inviting. the only slight negative would be the location of the hotel entrance - don't be put off by this. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

What a brilliant review! Thankyou! Its lovely to hear you managed to make use of our executive club lounge & that your initial welcome by the reception team was "Exceptional" I will be certain to congratulate the team on a job well done.

Thankyou again & I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here in August. Came primarily for Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet but were nicely surprised by the location of the hotel to the great shopping in Chester too.
The room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful.
The food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was great. A good bar to relax in and a pool and gym too - great facilities.
We bought a 2 night deal at this hotel and found it very good value for money, and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARWIT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Its wonderful to hear you had such a successful shopping trip away from home & you managed to make use of our facilities during your stay

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

A very nice stay at this hotel. Easy parking next to the hotel with direct lift access. Staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant dinner was very good and great value. The room was quiet (at the back of the hotel), roomy and warm on a cold day.
We would stay here next time we are in Chester.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay & you found the staff helpful throughout your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a last minute booking for a Bank Holiday Saturday, so the choice of hotels in Chester with available rooms was limited. We wanted a city centre hotel, so were prepared to pay a little extra for the convenience. We booked on line, and the confirmation email gave directions to follow to find the hotel when travelling by car. With my wife reading the directions and me driving we got hopelessly lost despite trying retracing our steps twice. It would have been very helpful if the hotel had included a map in the confirmation email. My GPS set had inconveniently decided not to play that day!
I luckily spotted the hotel on our third circuit of the city, and we were able to find then hotel car park which was full. There is however a pay and display car park in the same building, which costs £2 for an overnight stay.
Check-in was quick and efficient, although the main entrance, as someone else has commented, is slightly unprepossessing. The room was clean, with all the usual amenities, and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Hotel information was apparently available via the television set, instead of the usual information booklet, but try as I might I was unable to access it with the hand set. The room was quiet, with a nice view, and we slept well. A nice touch was two vials of aromatherapy oils to enhance our sleep. Whether they worked or not, I do not know, but we woke refreshed.
A friendly woman met us and showed us to our table for breakfast, which was of the buffet style, but very tasty, and seemed to have been freshly prepared. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu, with the option for some dishes such as kippers, omelettes or smoked salmon with poached egg to be cooked to order.
There was really nothing important to complain about on this visit. Although I usually prefer smaller more intimate hotels, I would certainly consider using the Crown Plaza again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iain789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Firstly, thankyou for mentioning your trouble in finding the hotel. I have forwarded your suggestion to the Reservations Manager who will look at improving our directions to the hotel (especially for when the Sat Nav fails) Its great to read that your check-in experience was quick & efficient, and that you enjoyed your full english breakfast. I will be sure to pass over your comments at the next team meeting.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Visiting Chester every month for a few months. This was the closest hotel to the office where our meetings are held. Approach to the front door is gloomy beneath some kind of under-pass. The hotel reception is actually upstairs so the "lobby" is actually a lift lobby but they have done a reasonable job of making it feel nice. The lifts are terrible - extremely slow and there are not enough of them. Reception area is nice, if a bit dated now but has been very well maintained. On my first visit I had a charming English girl check me in. The second visit I was checked in by a young Spanish lady who to be honest didn't know what she was doing at all - she tried but she obviously had very poor training. The room on both occasions was nice: clean and functional. Internet works fine. Water pressure in the shower is very poor in the first and second floors (these being the floors I used). The room had water, biscuits, magazines - felt welcoming. Room service is pretty good and fast. Breakfast area is nice and the staff friendly. My only criticism was on the second day of the second visit they had no meat for continental breakfast - only cheese! Thats pretty poor management in my view, I mean who is going to eat just a pile of cheese for breakfast! That meant I had to eat a fried breakfast which is not what I wanted - but it was very nice! I would definitely come back here again. Its not perfect: when I checked out the card machine was broken and I had a taxi waiting so the reception staff took my business card and said they would email me the bill and refund the balance of the deposit they took on my credit card "within 10 minutes". I had to call back 2 days later to remind them. I was told it would be "within 30 minutes" - still waiting. With a little polishing this hotel could easily me an excellent, as it is I give it a very good.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to 3rd floor executive rooms. My company booked 3 rooms, 1 for me and 2 for peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam19771977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

It is great to hear such detailed feedback, which should help us improve in the areas you have suggested. Especially in terms of staff training for the reception team, along with your experience with the continental breakfast. However its great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay & that hopefully you will choose us again for your next stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Gregory
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing