We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy a break with excellent sevice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We had the dinner and breakfast package with a an executive room.fFood was unbelivable it was so good.The room was lovely.We also enjoyed the spa with treatments,Hannah the therapist was fantastic.All the staff were professional and nothing was to much trouble.Downside was leaving the hotel at night the route to town was either through the car park or on a road which is busy during the day but quiet at night.But loved the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 09. The hotel looks awful from the outside, but inside is lovely with contemporary decor. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to an exec room on the third floor which was spacious, clean and had some great lighting features. Exec rooms also have use of a club lounge where you can have complimentery alcoholic and soft drinks with canapes from 5-8pm, and also a small choice of continental breakfast items from 6am.

We bought breakfast tickets costing £15 for 2 people, and the breakfast was exceptionally good - a comprehensive range of cold items and a good range of cooked items which were hot and well cooked. It was also good to see a smiling breakfast chef (Esta) who made pancakes to order and seemed to like her job! The dining room is large and very well laid out with the buffet behind a glass screen.

The hotel is in a great location - only a 5 minute walk to the start of the shopping area and about 15-20 minute walk from the river.

My only 'niggles' would be the lack of pressure in the shower, and the cost of wifi access - £15 for the day. Other than that this was the best Crowne Plaza we've stayed in, and a credit to the hotel management.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I spent a week staying here whilst traveling on business. The hotel itself looks awful from the outside as it is built on top of a multi storey car park. However, once inside this is a very nice hotel. Rooms and food were very good as was the service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSRQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I stay here regularly and the hotel never disappoints. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are always clean, and while I am here for business, the hotel is in a great location for leisure travellers too.
Service is always good in this hotel, and the staff recognise you after one or two meetings, and always with a friendly smile. All requests are dealt with promptly and courteously, and the hotel is very flexible.
The hotel also has a spa and leisure centre on-site, staffed by friendly personnel, in particular Hannah who does the most amazing back massages! The pool is of a good size too, as is the gym and there are exercise classes to boot (@ £2 per class). Much superior to other hotel leisure facilities.
The food is also great and is of a consistent quality and the restaurant is usually quiet, which is surprising given how nice the food is.
Make sure you book in advance to get the best deal (and via the priority club website) and if you are a member make sure you ask about an upgrade at check-in, as they usually oblige if there is space. Rooms on 4th floor are best as really nice shape.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Expected much better for price. Were given a twin having booked double and told no other rooms available. Had emailed to enquire about possible check in but they did not reply. Room good size but poor attention to detail, i.e. curtains dirty, biscuits were broken, maid did not replace tea/coffee on second day, cups/glasses did not match, arriving at buffet breakfast there were no clean plates. Staff seemed generally disinterested and for a budget hotel would have perhaps not minded but not at crowne plaza prices. Restaurant advertised as having wonderful views which it does if you ignore the retail park and decaying industry. As not impressed by restaurant ordered food from room service and were rewarded with a tough dry burger with no salad or dressing. Would not stay again.....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyrnyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us in January.

I would like to assure you that all feedback is discussed with the management team to enable us to improve the service levels we strive to achieve.

If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards
Mark Thacker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

A nice modern hotel in a very good location - just two minutes walk from the centre of Chester. There is an annoying £7.50 charge to park in the hotel’s car park. I have never before been charged to park at a hotel – however, we were told that all hotels in Chester charge for parking. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and check in was speedy and hassle free. However, we booked a standard double room but were disappointed to find we had been given a twin. I tried to change the room for a double but was told there were none available as the hotel was full. This was not too disastrous as we were only staying the one night. The room was fairly spacious with a small but useable bathroom. The shower was a little lacking in pressure but it was still OK. The room was very clean and well maintained and had complimentary bottled water as well as a good selection of complementary toiletries. There was a mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities and the TV had the usual channels + pay movies. The view from the room was not fantastic but at least it had one. The walls seemed to be reasonably sound proofed but there was some noise heard through the door from the hotel corridor.
We did not use the gym but the swimming pool, sauna and steam room were nice after a day’s sightseeing in Chester.
The bar area was very cosy and the drinks seemed resonably priced, the bar staff were very friendly and service was prompt.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel, and when we booked we decided not to pay the £10 per person for breakfast. However, on check-in they offered us breakfast for £7.50 per person which seemed very reasonable. The breakfast was very good with all the usual cereals and fruits + the continental touches of cheese meats and croissants. There was also a good cooked selection; all-in-all well worth the money.
Not luxurious - but a good modern hotel – a little pricey perhaps – but it served the purpose of a comfortable base for a very short city break. I would definitely consider this hotel if I visited the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddyslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Only stayed one night, but got a good deal over the internet on a room only basis. The Crowne Plaza is a well-appointed modern hotel, literally two minutes walk from Chester's historic centre. Our room was spacious and clean with excellent facilities. The hotel has roof top car parking, which, although it costs £7.50 for 24 hours, is well worth it for convenience and security. The reception staff were professional, pleasant and helpful, and the small pool and jacuzzi is a relaxing bonus. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the restaurant. Would definitely stay again, if we can get another discounted weekend rate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £97 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing