We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Stone Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chester Stone Villa
Ranked #1 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with the offer of a cup of tea and warm mince pies with cream. This set the tone for a most enjoyable two night stay in Chester. Our bedroom was spacious, comfortable and clean with a large bathroom. The breakfast choice and quality was first class served with a friendly smile. Dave and Kirsty's recommendations for eating out proved very successful too and their knowledge of the city centre and the surrounding area very informative. We will return again next year!

Peter and Susan Brenkley Co Durham

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Many Thanks Peter. We have got your booking and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Returning guests are always a pleasure - and I guess are the proof a good review. Thank You Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    46
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
619
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stone Villa certainly lives up to the reputation it has.
Everything about this place just ticks all the boxes, lovely rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast and great hosts. Please, if you stay, you just have to try the porridge.
Easy ten minute walk into town, or there is a regular bus service past the top of the street.
On arrival, after been shown to room, we were offered tea, this was served downstairs, accompanied by warm mince pies and cream.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Many thanks for your generous comments and kind review. We are working hard to ensure a great proposition, and we are glad we are delivering. Thank You Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

To describe Stone Villa as a guest house or B&B is a massive understatement - it is a beautiful truly perfect boutique hotel. The personal service and friendly welcome far surpass any you will receive at any branded hotel, and the room is likely to be better - spacious, tastefully decorated and cosey - a credit to the owners, Dave and Kirsty - a very 'up-market' home from home. The public areas are warm & welcoming, as are the coffee & cakes (or, in our case, home made mince pies - yummy!). And breakfast was the best we have ever experienced in a hotel in the UK - amazing! I would highly recommend a stay here - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was a twin with a double and a single bed - very spacious & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Many Thanks indeed for such a glowing review. This means so much to us, and we cherich your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in Chester in the near future. Many thanks again. Kirsty & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My mother and I stayed here for two nights to attend my cousins wedding, and how pleased we were to have such lovely hosts and excellent accommodation. The room was ideal and just like the picture on the website (always a good thing) and it catered for all your needs including complimentary water in the fridge, and the breakfast was certainly 5 star. I just wished we could have stayed for longer, and should I be in the area again...this is where I shall stay! Thank you Dave and Kirsty for a perfect visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Tracy, you are so welcome. and it was a pleasure to meet you. Many thanks for your review and kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Dave and Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the First time we stayed here, off the main road and has private parking. We were greeted by the owner dave and shown to our room. We were then offered cake and refreshments which was nice. The room was spacious with a large flat screen tv and DVD, fridge with complimentary water. The bathroom was a good size as well. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and everything cooked fresh. We felt very relax here and would definately recommend staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
And we look forward to seeing you back in Chester. Many Thanks for reviewing Stone Villa, it means a lot to us and we are working hard to improve the proposition every time. Thanks Kirsty and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location and very welcoming. we were offered coffee and cake when we arrived. Very friendly. Good parking. Lovely places to eat and drink just around the corner. Recommend the restaurant, sticky walnut to eat. Great for walking to center too.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you! What a lovely to the point review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay Jane, and we look forward to seeing you again. Dave & Kirsty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the accommodation very comfortable. It is a short walk to one or two local bars and restaurants, as on the outskirts of Chester but still within walking distance of the centre, which we walked into in about 20 minutes. It was lovely to be given tea and cake on arrival as after a long journey it is most welcome. The breakfast buffet had a good choice on offer, as well as various cooked options including the very filling full English. Certainly a place to go back to again as there is so much see in Chester and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecomfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
With many thanks for your review. We are pleased the Stone Villa 3 pm breakfast (so called because it should not need topping up until 3 pm) did its job. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and our aim is to provide the best. Many Thanks for your kind review. Kirsty and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Stone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Stone Villa

Property: Chester Stone Villa
Address: 3 Stone Place, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chester Stone Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Villa is situated in a prime position in a quiet cul-de-sac only 50 yards from the main approach road (A56) into Chester. Stone Villa offers a very high standard of accommodation. We have two grades of rooms Standard and Executive. There are 3 ground floor rooms and wheelchair access.Every effort has been made to make your stay most comfortable in this completely refurbished establishment.Stone Villa's breakfasts are second to none and served in our large breakfast room.We have a walled floodlit car-park at the front of the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chester Stone Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Stone Villa Hotel Chester
Chester Stone Villa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing