We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay a home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester Stone Villa
Ranked #2 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great place to stay a home from home”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A big thank you to Kirsty and David for making our stay so enjoyable.
From the first welcome to the last farewell you are made to feel at home. If you are looking for a place to stay in Chester, then look no further. Stone Villa ticks all the right boxes. You are within easy walking distance of the historic attractions, shops , Cathedral and restaurants. A walk to the city is recommended to build up an appetite for, or to walk off the splendid breakfast. If you wish to travel further afield and do not wish to take the car the station is not too far. To sum up Stone Villa Chester, Friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newquaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow! What a fab review - Thank you so very much. We are delighted to have been able to look after you and we are grateful for such kind comments. Hoping to see you again soon. Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    50
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
136
672
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed hear recently for four nights. Great location very quiet 10 minute walk to the train station. We felt very comfortable staying here Dave and Kirsty very friendly. We stayed in room 5 which was a lovely room very spacious and clean. The whole guesthouse is lovely. The breakfast is excellent especially the fresh fruit in the morning best selection of fruit I have came across in all the places we have stayed. Would recommend to anyone going to chester if you are looking for a B & B.

Room Tip: We liked room 5 very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind review and lovely comments. We appreciate every review and we are delighted you enjoyed your break. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.Thanks again Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here a few months ago, just remembered to put a review on. Very friendly hosts, lovely welcome and really lovely breakfast. Really good on special diets which was nice and in our experience was more 4 star than 5 star with a 5 star price. Not too far out of town and good information from the owners on where to eat. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockBCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Jock B, Thank you for your review and kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I do have to take issue with you on one area though. Stone Villa has been rated by the AA as a 5 star Guest Accommodation (not hotel). The AA is an experienced and professional rating business. I have checked our rates and using a random date across 382 5 star businesses we would be the 40th cheapest in England. Out of 13632 4 star businesses we would be rated at 1113th. I would conclude that Stone Villa is 5 star rated and 4 star priced. We also regularly check our pricing against the local market in Chester and feel that we offer a very competitive 5 star experience. I hope this clarifies matters. Thanks again for your review. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Let me add my voice to the others who loved this B&B. My husband and I stayed one night only in early June but we arrived early enough to enjoy tea and cake with Dave and Kirsty. We also walked into Chester and walked the town walls before having a nice dinner there. We had a clean, comfortable room in the front, very quiet. It was great to have a parking lot right in front. Breakfast was excellent and we especially enjoyed chatting with our hosts. If you are visiting England, especially if you are visiting Wales too, this is a great location for a stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the B&B in the room they call the "Watergate". It was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Deb

Thank you so very much for your lovely review and kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and when you are next over in Europe - just look us up!
Thanks Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were greet and farewelled by lovely hosts. The room was clean and comfortable...the bathroom was tight, we weren't able to have our toiletries in the room. Breakfast was fabulous, we loved the fresh fruit and cooked english breakfast. We enjoyed having an insight into the local area and we got some great tips for day trips. A small negative comment would be that the bed was not made properly, the quilt was filled up and the bed sheet not straightened and tucked in. Despite this we would recommend the B&B. Visit the Faulkner Bar around the corner, good food and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Jen, We are delighted you took the time to review Stone Villa and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We take on board your comments regarding the bathroom and can confirm that upgrades are planned in this area. As you will recall with the bed you requested the quilt be removed because of the heat which we did, so clearly the bed could not be made up as designed. We pride ourselves on our beds and you can be assured they are made up properly 100% of the time. Thanks again Dave & Kirsty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there on the 9th and 10th July, lovely room with lots of little extras and good breakfast. Would certainly recommend it. Lovely and central. Restaurant's recommended were great too, would certainly stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLOWERS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Flowers, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again in the future. Dave & Kirsty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having visited Chester many times and stayed in the large well known hotels, we booked this bed & breakfast online... We were a little unsure what to expect as we don't normally stay in bed & breakfasts but we do now! Excellent welcoming hospitality shown throughout our stay, great quiet location and value for money... We've booked already for next year and we'll certainly be visiting David and Kirsty again before then!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samgibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Sam, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to look after you both, and indeed to do so again in the future. Thanks a million for your kind comments., Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Stone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Stone Villa

Property: Chester Stone Villa
Address: 3 Stone Place, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chester Stone Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Villa is situated in a prime position in a quiet cul-de-sac only 50 yards from the main approach road (A56) into Chester. Stone Villa offers a very high standard of accommodation. We have two grades of rooms Standard and Executive. There are 3 ground floor rooms and wheelchair access.Every effort has been made to make your stay most comfortable in this completely refurbished establishment.Stone Villa's breakfasts are second to none and served in our large breakfast room.We have a walled floodlit car-park at the front of the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chester Stone Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Stone Villa Hotel Chester
Chester Stone Villa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing