We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No home creature comforts” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curzon Hotel

Curzon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curzon Hotel
Ranked #67 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No home creature comforts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Arrival met by the owner who was more concerned about security matters than looking after the guests. Very dated decor. Only hotel I could find at a reasonable price on race day and I know why now. Good points were ample parking and breakfast was quite tasty. Bad points were no tv channels in room and no wifi even though the owner said there was but knew very little about it.

Room Tip: Get a room low down to get tv and wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I used to regularly stay at the Curzon when on business in Chester and having deciced to take my girlfriend to the city for a short break in the spring of last year, thought it would be good to stay at the hotel again.

Yvonne, the proprietor of the Curzon remembered me from the old days and was as hospitable and professional as ever. We were made to feel most welcome and the hotel was still as comfortable and inviting as it always was. We were very well looked after in terms of the room offered to us; it was clean, spacious and comfortable.

The atmosphere, food quality, handy off-road parking and standard of service contribute to the Curzon's appeal and I would recommend staying here, whether on business or holiday, particularly if you're looking for something that differs from the clinical chain hotels The only down side to staying here is the location relative to the city centre, which is about a 15-20 minute walk away but on the plus side, it is situated close to the attractive Curzon Park, which is far quieter than the bustling city. Also note that, at the time we visited, only breakfast was served so do check with hotel to see what the current situation is in terms of evening dining.

It was a pleasure to return to the Curzon and to see Yvonne and Gordon again; we'll certainly be returning when we come back to Chester. Thanks again and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite large (family size) and it's worth asking what rooms are available f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumwhinton
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

When looking at this property on this website I thought it looked like a lovely hotel and that it was rated quite highly.

When I arrived I was very disapointed the building looked tired and quite grotty to be honest. It is also situated near a busy road and roundabout.

When I entered the hotel again it was rather old fashioned and grotty I was extremely disappointed. Maybe it is because I prefer a modern design but I always think aslong as the hotel is clean I dont mind but unfortunately this wasn't the case . I will nt be returning unless a refurb is carried out unfortunately.

The only good thing was the service game the rest let's it down.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cumwhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our friends booked us into the Curzon when we went to Chester this weekend. They had held their wedding reception here and were confident we would like it. We had a really pleasant stay in room 10. We liked the quirky touches like the teddy bear on the bed and the rubber duck on the side of the bath! The bed was very comfy and there was plenty of hot water and an excellent shower.
Breakfast was good, with properly cooked mushrooms and a really good poached egg.
Our friends chose well!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCountryVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We booked for one night and ended up staying for two. We had a family room which was spacious and comfortable. The owners were extremely helpful. great breakfast cooked to order, We particularly enjoyed "the bar" and a game of snooker. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8pairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Basically, this is an ordinary B&B, and, as such, is poor value for money.

We chose this hotel because of the generally good reviews and the proximity to the City Centre and Racecourse. Unfortunately, it was like visiting your elderly aunt's house. It was quite interesting looking at the Victoriana for a while but wasn't somewhere that you wanted to stay overnight. The Superior room we selected was tired and cluttered, and, in addition to the expected double bed, a single bed, which was neither wanted nor needed, had been added.

Another reason why we chose this hotel, was the generally good feedback re the restaurant, as we wanted the option to eat in of an evening, with a good bottle of wine. No chance - the restaurant is only open for breakfast (hence my comment that this is really a B&B). The owner suggested that we try the restaurant in the sister pub that he owns some eight miles away! We chose to eat in a restaurant in the City Centre, one mile away.

On arrival, we were shown the bar, and given a fairly extensive wine list. Later, we found that this was a serve yourself "honesty" bar, with no draught beer, and only cans of beer in a small fridge. Once they were gone, they were gone, with no member of staff to replenish stocks. Despite the extensive wine list, the only wine available was cheap, supermarket Chardonnay or Merlot. I would estimate that this would retail at £4 to £5, but cost £14, without any service, as you had to go behind the bar, find the wine, find glasses etc.

The owner's style has been referred to in earlier reviews and the feedback has been mixed. I can understand why. We wanted to check in early, and he could not have been more friendly and accomodating. After that, he passed us on several occasions, without saying a word. Check-out was a monosyllabic affair - not even asking whether we had a good time or whether we would be returning.On reflection, perhaps he had guessed!

There were also some good points - the other members of staff were friendly and efficient, the breakfast was good and the place was clean. None of these points, however, when compared to the long list of negative points, justify the £120 B&B price-tag. We are returning to Chester this week-end, and are staying B&B at The Hilton for £15 a night less. I suggest that if you are contemplating staying at The Curzon, you might want to consider doing the same.


suggest that if you are considering staying at The Curzon, you might want

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainford52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We arrived to a very average welcome, once filled in daetails they already had we were taken to our room. It smelt damp and musty when the door was opened, the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there was thick dust on the window cill and the windows wouldn't open they were painted shut. When i stood on the bed to try and open the window i found dead insects and bugs. The bedding was also stained with a brown substance ???????????? Aparently coffee.
The owner refussed to give use our money back but eventually we were moved to the four poster room still the carpets hadn't been hoovered.
Breakfast on the first day was nice but as the place was busier the following day breakfast was rashoned we only got half we had the day before.
It's a 30 minute walk to the centre of town not 10.
You've been warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyholiday29, Owner at Curzon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
Yes indeed other hoteliers BEWARE this woman will want to pay the lowest tariff and want the best room then stab you in the back at the earliest opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curzon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curzon Hotel

Property: Curzon Hotel
Address: 52-54 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Curzon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Curzon Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing