We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully quaint and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chester Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Town House
Ranked #58 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully quaint and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The room was cosy and restful and full of period charm. The breakfast was excellent and I must admit I did make a bit of a pig of myself.
The owner is a lovely man who leaves you to your own devices, but is on hand to help when required.
As the building is so old there are lots of interesting bits of detail about it, from the way the stairs split onto different landings, the heavy old sash windows to the crooked door frame in the breakfast room.
A truely charming B&B, perfectly located for exploring the centre of Chester.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekki666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Fell on my feet here, I`m a posh tramp, love my food and wine, and my B&B`s, I have been hitch hiking around England for a laugh.

Loved Chester and after a night in The Town House I asked if I could stay a second night, no problem said the owner, a real gentelman and if there was a university of BED & BRECKFAST this man is Don.

David is just a fantastic man, whome know who whats to talk or wants to be left along.

I want to talk and I love meeting people and David was a delight.

Steve Burbidge, Baker to THE STARS

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We discovered this B&B when we did not like the look of the hotel that we were booked into by the travel agent and decided to go elsewhere.
This town house is so full of character (both the staff and premises). There was not a straight line in the place which is to be expected since it was built in the 1680s. We are so pleased we made the decision that we did.
The room was small and cozy with an ensuite bathroom. The stairs were steep but the staff carried our bags up for us which was wonderful. We were on the first floor. I think there were more rooms upstairs as well as on the ground floor.
The only thing to watch is the cat which has a habit of sleeping right at the top of the stairs so you have to step up and over the cat. :-)
Breakfast was great and once again the staff excelled themselves. Eggs were always cooked perfectly. They also looked after our washing which can be a problem when you are travelling.
I would recommend this B&B with no reservations at all!
Wonderful place and situated in a great place to discover Chester.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Really good find this one and great base for exploring a wonderful city. Quaint, bags of character and good service made this a great find and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in room1 at this B&B in July for two nights. It was a good size with en-suite, although it would have been a little better if the bath had a shower curtain so we could shower properly without getting the floor drenched!

There was no sign of smoke at all. It was a very pleasant stay, friendly service. As others have said, there's a car park within walking distance of the B&B and city, so was a great location for exploring Chester. It made a nice change to stay in a place that had character.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellina186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Friendly welcome, lovely quaint old room, comfy bed, decent bathroom and fantastic breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in January whilst on our UK driving trip. We left the car in their car park and walked everywhere which was very welcome. The Town House is in the most perfect location for walking around Chester and seeing the sights and shopping. Everything was fantastic and we just loved the history and cosiness of this B&B. Pick this one!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pied Bull Inn
Pied Bull Inn
#18 of 79 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
80 Watergate Street
80 Watergate Street
#1 of 79 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Town House

Property: Chester Town House
Address: 23 King Street, Chester C1 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chester Town House, a charming 16th century house providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the walls of the City of Chester near to the Town Hall and Cathedral. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of the Chester Town House invites all visitors in a vicinity where all the major locations and attractions are a step away. Make the visit to this historic Roman city as comforting as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Town House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing