We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastand service was lovely.ic Location Within the Walled City”
Review of Chester Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Town House
Ranked #66 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Lismore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastand service was lovely.ic Location Within the Walled City”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Host was very friendly and welcoming. Chester Town House is a really charming B&B and located perfectly within the walled city of Chester close to CBD, shops, racecourse etc. The breakfast was delicious. Room was comfortable and clean. Top floor bedroom was quaint but spacious. Would stay again and more than happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Our top room was sweet but would try one of the other rooms next time just for a change of decor. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
25
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haslingden, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Wow what a gem. Had a fantastic stay at this very well located guest house minutes away from the city centres places of interest. Pleasant welcome from David our host and after having a choice of rooms to look at for our party of six we decided on room 2 for the first night and then we moved to room 4 with the larger bed on the top floor on our second night.

All the rooms were decorated to a high standard and with plenty of charm and character. The only minute fault was a couple of cobwebs and a little dust in odd spots and in need of some good quality tea and coffee in the room but nothing major and did not make a difference to our stay.

The breakfast was lovely excellent standard of produce all grilled and not fried (bonus) lovely selection of fresh fruit, cereals and preserves.

Location and parking within three minutes of the house. Had a fantastic weekend and cannot wait to return with my friends and family in the very near future.

Room Tip: There is also a lovely little cottage in the garden which is like something from a fairy-tale as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDavidHalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a very welcoming and convenient guest house for central Chester. My room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, with a beautiful 4 poster bed and feather bedding. The staff were so helpful and friendly. A great choice of breakfast: fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, cooked breakfast, toast, jams and fresh coffee. A cosy sitting room is available for guests to share with the resident cat Guiness. This guest house is tastefully decorated throughout, in easy reach of local eateries and attractions. I will definitely come back it was very reasonably priced and an absolute pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chester town house is situated in small cobbled street right in the centre of Chester a really great location for racecourse.shops bars and restaurants we spent two nights there and had a fabulous weekend.. its a charming old building with lovely comfortable clean rooms the owners were very welcoming and even escorted us to there car park which was nearby and did not charge a fee. breakfast was very good all cooked fresh and served in quaint dining room.It was nice to stay in a place with a bit of character and i would highly recommend you give it a try

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage in the garden it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a lovely delightful place to stay! Went for the Bank Holiday weekend and loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is just so lovely and in a perfect location down a little cobbled street with FREE parking! As it was built in the 1600 and is a listed building don't go expecting it to look like the Hilton - it doesn't! but is so charming. You are made to feel so welcome and the breakfast is absolutely lovely. Give it a go, I doubt you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we went for our 15yr wedding anniversary and stayed in the cottage in the garden,nothing was to much trouble had a lovely time,we went to sergios for our meal which was recommended by the owner and was lovely,and you are in the center of Chester we will definitely be going back

Room Tip: we had the cottage in the garden very private would recommend this as you have the privacy you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hotel lies just within the city walls just a short distance from the city centre. The Hotel is clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We opted to walk from the railway station which took about 20 minutes but the hotel was easy to find. Chester is a lovely place and during our 3 night stay we managed to see most things including having a 2 hour river cruise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
80 Watergate Street
80 Watergate Street
#1 of 79 in Chester
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#20 of 79 in Chester
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#9 of 25 in Chester
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Town House

Property: Chester Town House
Address: 23 King Street, Chester C1 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chester Town House, a charming 16th century house providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation within the walls of the City of Chester near to the Town Hall and Cathedral. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of the Chester Town House invites all visitors in a vicinity where all the major locations and attractions are a step away. Make the visit to this historic Roman city as comforting as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Town House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing