We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HOTEL AND THE MOST CARING STAFF AROUND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Saddle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saddle Inn
Ranked #6 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL AND THE MOST CARING STAFF AROUND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I visited The Saddle Inn last Tuesday and what can I say?

It is the loveliest hotel I've stayed at in a long time. It's a very comfortable place with a really welcoming vibe to it.

The staff there are really charming and extremely helpful. I must say they are VERY easy on the eye too ;-)

The food and drinks are really reasonable and had exactly what I wanted on there so I can't complain.

The room I stayed in was immaculate and the bed was so comfortable I slept like a prince!

I will definitely be returning to The Saddle Inn and would 100% recommend this place to anybody visiting Chester. The location is brilliant.

Many thanks for an amazing stay guys, keep up the great work :-)

Joey M xxx

Room Tip: No room for improvement, outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for the kind comments and feedback. It is always our aim to ensure our guests have a great stay. Please spread the word and come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    62
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
116
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
199 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A decent eatery / drinkery - the bar area being our only experience of this venue.

The choice of drinks, more particularly real ales - while not great (there being only three to choose from) - was alright. Saddle - a bitter from the premises (?) was excellent - settled for a couple of pints. The house Rose wine was perfectly quaffable also.

The food menu was a little short, but, it included the dish one was looking for - so no complaint.
There was no desert menu to hand - not a problem - did not feel hungry enough.
The food itself was fine - good quantity straightforward fayre.

The interior be reasonably roomy and not at all gloomy (apart from a small area to the side of the bar) - the big windows do help.
The décor was neat enough - if you like equines !
The tables were well laid out and the seating was comfortable. That said, it was quiet at the time - so no problems finding either.

The 'gentlemens retreat' was clean and neat, but as always appears to be the case - it was somewhat on the small side - for those of us on the large side !

The staff (both of them at the time) were excellent.

Abiding memory ? - the clipboards ! The menus took the form of around five pieces of A4 paper attached to a clipboard - presuming this to be only a temporary arrangement.

Being situated alongside one the towns designated coach stops - this be most convenient for those only having time for a meal break. Hope to return - "YEEHA" !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive comments. The menu was in the process of being updated and is now fully operational. Please call again to sample our improved menu. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped here recently as part of a hen weekend. We stopped in a family room with a double and 2 singles even though only 2 of us. The room was fab, very spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. There is some noise from outside but this is to be expected due to the fact it was late Saturday night and you are on a main road very close to the centre but nothing that really disturbed my nights sleep. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was delicious especially the bacon and black pudding was a bonus!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sponge1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Saddle Inn team always aims to give our guests a great experience. See you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackrock, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed with my husband and 2 children. Had a pleasant stay, room was clean, breakfast was good. My only constructive comments would be that the bathrooms could use with some updating, but I know they are working on refurbishing it, so understood. Also, Wifi connection was pretty woeful and non-existent in some places.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HickeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. The property has undergone a major refurbishment as it was very run down prior to us taking over. There are plans to make further improvements in the future. We are also awaiting a new system to improve the wifi connectivity throughout the building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed on Monday 16th June for one night in a double room after my original booking in another hotel cancelled due to my age (they had an over 25's policy) ... and I am so grateful that they did because The Saddle Inn was everything me and my boyfriend were looking for- very friendly staff, lovely room (the bed was incredibly comfortable) and the pub served a delicious breakfast for a reasonable price. The location is ideal as it's a 5 minute walk to the city centre and also to the beautiful riverside, and despite being on a fairly busy road, the noise can't be heard from the room.

We are already planning our next visit here because we enjoyed our stay so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback and are so happy you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed the weekend of 7th on a girls trip . 3 rooms over 2 floors . We wanted a nice clean environment, helpful staff and a comfy night - and we got it all !!! Location is great for town, rooms basic but clean, breakfast was lovely and between the 6 of us we probably tried most things on the menu!!!! Our take away is we would love to come back and would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Top floor at the rear no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker601116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Chester and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It has been a few years since I was in Chester, the last time I was in this pub it was the Chester Bells....well what a massive improvement now renamed as The Saddle Inn we came in with the family and sat on the outside terrace in the sun had a superb meal and the staff were amazing, we had drinks brought to the table and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely recommend and will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark k, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to convey your positive experience at The Saddle Inn. We have worked very hard trying to reestablish this old pub, as The Chester Bells it had been badly run down with no customer base. Since opening as The Saddle Inn we have lovingly restored the property and our aim is always to deliver on service and quality. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddle Inn

Property: The Saddle Inn
Address: 21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saddle Inn is located close to the amenities of the city centre and the racecourse and are ideally situated for you to enjoy a fun-filled weekend stay or a relaxing drink or meal with friends and family. The public areas on the ground floor have undergone a complete refurbishment offering our customers a stylish and welcoming environment. A newly designed bar area is sure to impress offering a wide range of draught beers, cask ales, spirits, wines and cocktails. The newly appointed dining area offers a range of home cooked food including light bites, pub classics and a traditional Sunday Roast offering. You can also relax in our lounge area and enjoy a coffee or speciality tea and make use of the free wifi. (Please check with us for our food opening times) The Saddle Inn, newly established in 2014 is in a fantastic central location that enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city's thriving cultural landscape. The Saddle Inn is a large historical building which is located near the Roman amphitheatre. We are situated next to the museum and also within walking distance of the race course and shops. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite or private facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and free WiFi internet access in the public areas on the ground floor. We are also available for private dining and private functions please contact us for details to make your celebration a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Bells Hotel Chester
The Saddle Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing