We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Ranked #8 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here for one night for my sister's "Hag Do". We wanted somewhere centrally located but not too pricey and we found this with the Grosvenor Place. The room was tidy, clean and spacious. The en suite was a little small but was adequate for us. It was good to have an en suite for the price of the room. Breakfast was tasty with good quality produce. The service from the owners could not be faulted - very warm welcome. Parking is convenient but costs £5 per night. The owner was happy to supply us with a free 2 hour parking permit which allowed us to have a lie in on Sunday morning. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FangoLumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    62
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
140
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have been wondering whether to leave a review or not as i hate to leave a bad review however i feel like everyone else must've been talking about another place. On arrival we had to knock 3 times and despite having rung to say we expected to arrive on the hour, he didn't seem to be expecting us. we were told we had had our room upgraded as the room we had booked was apparently small and cold and so this seemed to be a good start however when taken up 3 floors to the room we were told it would be extra money. we asked to see the room we had booked (not knowingly i add, we just booked the only available room online) but were told it wasn't ready as it didn't have towels and were talked out of staying in it as we were told it was cold and noisy and the bathroom was too small, we gave in and paid the extra money as we just wanted to get settled. The owner did seem genuine and nice enough just not very professional, He tried his best to advise us about Chester but there was an obvious language barrier- on leaving we were told the door lock was faulty- great. we made the most of it. it was still quite a cold room and the radiators came on at very odd times. the website said something about bounce back pillows but is that what u call it when they are all air and no substance and even 2 together aren't enough? the bed was very hard, worse than premier inn and the bedding was ok-cotton- but we were cold most of the time as the quilt was very thin. the bathroom was adequate, it was tiny though, we couldn't see how the bathroom could be any smaller in the ground floor room we booked as that cannot be possible! the shower head didn't stay up on its own but someone had thoughtfully stuck some cellotape on it which did the trick!!! there were hairs in the plug hole that were not ours- lovely!
the breakfast was an ultimate greasy fry up, some people would like this but we personally dont like our food swimming in fat. the egg wasn't cooked as the white was still gloopy however the coffee was good as was the toast which we were offered brown or white, orange juice, cereals etc. The owner did seem to want to keep everyone happy. we heard him telling another guest that he only had one egg left so he would cook him one for now then go to tesco to get more so he could cook him another one!
On the second day the breakfast was a distaster- we didn't want a full greasy fry up so i asked for a couple of sausages and some scrambled egg and my husband wanted a sausage sandwich. the lady had to come back at least 3 times to ask us to repeat our orders, in the end we still didn't get what we wanted. i got given scrambled egg on what looked like a tea saucer, when she asked if that was all i wanted i asked for sausages again and got given bacon, oh well - it got wrapped in a napkin and the dog enjoyed it when we got home! there was no choice of toast on this day - white was given and when the lady serving realised she had given us too much the extra was given(now likely to be cold!) to another table. When i asked for marmalade i also got another tables leftovers! there was no milk on offer for the tea and coffee either. i know we were not the only ones unhappy- people were pulling faces at each other especially those that had to share tables (some were reserved?)and those that got our second hand toast!
some good points- grosvenor place is a lovely georgian townhouse, 5 minutes walk into centre, 1 minutes walk from Francs- our favourite restaurant!
we've stayed in Chester many times but unfortunately this guest house is not for us- sorry!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marypoppins_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
We had actually wondered if you had stayed with us as the review seems so much at odds with our guests experience - we thought that there was so much fantasy that it was indeed written by your most appropriate pen name of "Mary Poppins" but just without the fun!! There are just so many inaccuracies in what you say and fact that its hard to know where to start. First of all, we did ask Trip Advisor if you stayed and they said that you did so on that basis I will continue. I can only think that the bitterness in review stems from the fact that you were offered a room upgrade from the £55 per night ground floor room to a £65 pounds room at a special deal that we sometimes offer on the day if there is availability of £5 extra a night. There was no obligation whatsoever for you to accept this but it seems the extra £5 a night must have really upset you!

In response to your review, Stephane speaks 5 languages fluently (English (professional exams taken), Spanish (native speaker), French (native speaker), Italian and Portuguese) - this is a huge benefit to many of our guests who are non-English speakers and none of our guests have ever had any problem understanding Stephanes English so I think to say that there was a language barrier is just patronising. It seems that it was actually you who had the problem with communication as we had no idea we had a guest that had such a bad stay and so you must not have communicated any of this during your stay!

With regard to some of the points that you raised, we do not have a 3rd floor - the highest level in the guest house is the 2nd floor! It is unusual to have to knock 3 times for the door to be answered as we try to answer the door to guests as quick as we can but sometimes it can take a little longer as sometimes we could be in the middle of a housekeeping task! All guests rooms are always ready for guests on arrival - the addition of fresh towels would only take a minute. If there were other rooms available on the night that you booked, then they would have showed on-line as all our rooms are released on the system but the ground floor room is cheaper than the rooms on the other floors so you would not have seen other rooms appear at the same price.

The very nature of a ground floor room does mean that it may be noisier than a room on the 1st or 2nd floor and also a bit colder than a room on a higher up floor but if you wanted the cheaper room that you had booked of course there was no problem with you having that. Our aim is to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and that is what Stephane had in mind when offering you an upgrade.

You said our beds were very hard and said that they were "worse than the Premier Inn" - this is of course your opinion and not fact and your opinion is wrong. The fact which cannot be disputed is that all the beds are fitted with luxury mattresses that are thicker than a normal grade standard mattress which puts them in the luxury category and they are of a medium to hard firmness. They are exactly the same quality and firmness as those that are found in 4 and 5 star hotels so guests that are familiar with the standard of mattress used in 4 or 5 star hotels can be assured that our beds and mattresses are of that quality. Other guests have picked up the quality of our mattresses and mentioned this in their reviews so this comment clearly demonstrates how this and indeed the rest of the opinions of the reviewer are not very valid.

The bedding and linen including the bounce back pillows come from a very reputable hotel supplier and are also hotel standard so your opinion here is also distorted.

The door lock in one of the rooms was faulty in as much as you had to twiddle the key in the door to open it apart from that there was no issue with it - certainly not a cause for great concern!

You thought that your room was cold and that the heating was on at odd times - the heating comes on early morning, lunch time, early evening, night and middle of the night - it seems logical to us and our other guests and we believe the guest house is well heated.

We dont have cellotape stuck to any shower head and if there were hairs in your plug hole - we are sorry about that and that we would have missed that in our housekeeping but we are pleased that in such a negative review that its the only comment that you could make regarding cleanliness and we will take that as a compliment to the cleanliness of the guest house which you have marked us a 2 out of 5 for but most guests mark us a 5 out of 5 as it is spotless.

Our breakfasts are of the highest quality ingredients and we do not serve left over marmalade from one table to another although it is possible if someone was served marmalade and hadnt touched it that it could be offered to another guest. If someone cooking your breakfast got it wrong apologies but it is unusual for someone to get it wrong so many times. You say your breakfast was "swimming in fat" but we use non-stick frying pans and so use little oil to cook the breakfasts and you say that your egg was "gloopy" which I imagine means that you like your yoke quite hard and thats not usually how we serve our eggs unless requested.

Im not sure what your comment was about a conversation your overheard about going to Tesco but we are never short of food for breakfast so I can only imagine - like your other opinions, your hearsay on what you thought that you overheard was also wrong!

We only reserve a table when we have our regular guests who are visually impaired staying with us and we like to offer them the most accessible table in the breakfast room - you must have seen them arrive with their white sticks and so the reason for that should have been apparent ... unless of course you were too busy "pulling faces" to notice!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just back from relaxing stay at the Grosvenor Place. Very warm welcome from the owner who gave us details of where to visit and eat in Chester. Room was spacious and very clean with a wall mounted tv. Bed very comfortable with quality linen. Bathroom was a bit small but the shower cubicle was a good size and the shower hot. Ideally located with lots of good pubs/restaurants nearby. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious and well cooked. Our only concern was that our room (No. 1) overlooked a pub which was quite noisy on the Saturday night. Saying that would definitely stay again but perhaps in a different room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf13Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

2nd weekend away in Chester and both times stayed in the Grosvenor Guest house, this is a gem of a B&B rooms are more like hotel standard than b&b, clean rooms comfy beds, amazing quality bedlinen and spotlessly clean on suite bathrooms with mini toiletries and of course the delicious full English breakfast to set you up for the day.
Prefect location everything is nearby from going for walks along the river or the Chester city walls to shopping and eating, and not forgetting all the lovely pubs inbetween.
Just perfect base for weekends away. Will be back again and again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Went to Chester and had an absolutely lovely time at the Grosvenor Place Guest House. This charming bed and breakfast is only a few minutes walk from the city centre and the owner, Adelaide is a fantastic host. We arrived to our room which was very smartly decorated and very clean. The linen on the bed were the kind you would find in a luxury hotel, and the beds themselves were extremely comfortable. The shower also had great pressure and temperature. The breakfast each day was perfectly cooked and the two people she had working there were very attentive and friendly. I would definitely return here anytime and probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chester!

Room Tip: The twin room was where we stayed at the top of the building, it's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_A_R230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

went to chester for a golfing/real ale break,this b+b is the perfect place to stay being only 200 yards from the city centre.the twin room is excellant and was very clean,bright and a big lcd telly mounted on the wall,this is a warm and very friendly place with a very good breakfast,will definatly be staying their again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Grosvenor Place Guest House for my 40th birthday weekend, We had an amazing time and couldn`t have been more pleased with the friendly and welcoming hosts, Our double room was briliant ,with a flat screen tv, Tea and coffee facilities, with en-suite and a full english breakfast. We would definetly book here again, Its a wonderful place, The owners made my 40th birthday a great time and we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Place Guest House

Property: Grosvenor Place Guest House
Address: 2 Grosvenor Place, Chester CH1 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Place is a Georgian town house set within the City Walls right in the heart of Chester.Our location could not be any better as we are the closest B&B to the city centre with no more than a 5 minute walk to all of the key attractions in Chester including the race course!The guest house has recently been lovingly restored to combine Georgian charm with all the modern comforts. With our luxury beds, deep bounce back pillows and duvets and crisp satin stripe bedding – we aim to deliver on affordable luxury. We source Cheshire local products and services wherever possible and this extends to our delicious full English breakfasts! Which include fabulous sausages and dry cured bacon from Cheshire bred pigs, local free range eggs, Cheshire tomatoes and mushrooms accompanied by beans to finish off your full English breakfast served with tea or fresh coffee served in a cafetiere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Place Guest House Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Place Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing