We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly lively and polite”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #88 of 579 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Deli, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 40 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food at The Botanist comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and grill.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Loved the meal here for the atmosphere more than anything. I went with my girlfriend and the menu although not bursting with different things has a nice amount of option and the food tasted good. The pub quiz was a great idea and kept us there for some lovely desserts, not to mention the great live music! The waiters and waitresses were very friendly offering discussion when required and very helpful - bar a minor mistake at the end it all went smoothly and we stayed to listen to the music. Definitely worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Botanist_Chester, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi Jayliffe, Thank you for your lovely review, it's super to read that you enjoyed your visit to us, and great to hear you joined in with the pub quiz! We hope that we will see you again soon! Kind regards, The Botanist Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,191 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Firstly, the interior is like nothing you gave ever been in. It is an eclectic blend of steampunk/shabby chique and is truly unique. The service is good and the food is unique as the decor. There is a fair amount of choice, but even the traditional choices are done in a clever way. It is not gastropub levels but much better than standard high street grub. If you like beer, there is an impressive drinks menu, however these are not cheap, but are worth the spend.

1  Thank begaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Botanist_Chester, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi Begaret, thank you for your wonderful feedback, it's lovely to read you had a great time with us and enjoyed your meal and our long list of fab beers! There's a few to work your way through on your next visit - just ask our bar tenders for any recommendations! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Botanist Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Staff so friendly, fish and chips amazing. The presentation of the food was wonderful.Great range of wines and beers. 10 out 10. Very reasonable prices to.

Thank pools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Botanist_Chester, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi Pools, thank you for taking time to write your review, we couldn't agree more about the fish and chips, delicious choice - well picked ;-)
Great to see you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to your next visit soon! Thanks, The Botanist Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really impressive interior for a Chester watering hole. We went one busy evening for drinks and the mixologists were really knowledgable and helpful when discussing spirits and even let us taste a gin we hadn't tried before. Unfortunately we had to clear our own table of 15 empty bottles and when a waiter said they'd come and wipe it down, they never appeared.
The following day we popped in for some lunch as we wanted to see what it was like in the day time. Nevertheless we discovered this place is good for drinks and drinks only.
Upon arrival we had to clear our own table, again, even moving uncollected tip trays. Still waiting we then resorted to ordering our own drinks at the bar- it wasn't even busy. The coffee served was granulated instant, and even had some granule still on the rim of the cup!
Only one of our starters arrived and after a wait I then had to go and ask where mine was and why it was taking so long, it was only crudités! aka a mass of vegetables and a minute dip.
Luckily the mains came out together and swiftly, unfortunately the fish was disgusting, it lacked flavour and the texture was slimy and when lifted it dripped water (frozen fried fish?!) Clearly they ration their mushy peas as portion sizes were childlike, this isn't gourmet.
Embarrassingly I had to spit my pie out as it burnt my mouth straight away and I had to eat my whole meal before it had even began to cool down, microwaved perhaps?! The best bit? The chips were nice. Needless to say we didn't stay for dessert and I wouldn't recommend anyone to eat here!
If it wasn't for the good cocktails the night before then I would be giving a negative review. For the price, the food is below average and the service is none existent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kkl1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Botanist_Chester, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi kkl1g, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to us. It's great to hear you were well looked after by our bar tenders, but we are disappointed to hear of your experience when you dined with us. We would like to discuss this with you in more detail, as we would like to rectify the situation and be given the opportunity to make it right for you. Please can you email your contact number to chesterbdm@thebotanist.uk.com so that we can get in touch. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, The Botanist Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a very quirky and novel place with a great atmosphere and very friendly staff.
Love the theme of botany which is everywhere including the way the food is served. Portions are not generous but the food is tasty all the same. Not cheap but not overly expensive either.
We would go again for the good quality food and excellent ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RossyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Botanist_Chester, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi GNP99, thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! The pate is an excellent choice and a great picture too! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, The Botanist Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing