We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Laburnum House

Laburnum House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laburnum House
Ranked #68 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends recently after a trip to the races and would definitely stay again! We were greeted with a very warm reception and the room was very sufficient for a nights stay. It's brilliantly central and ideal if you want to see the sights of Chester or have a night out! The breakfast was great and the service fantastic. Perfect !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly31floss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    9
    9
    15
See reviews for
9
24
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here just for 1 night after visiting chester zoo and was fine for what we needed, was in a great location and close to everything. The owners were nice and very welcoming, the room was a liitle cramped in my opinion but was clean but our room was next to the breakfast room and we were woken up by the noise from here. If i could i'd prob give this place a 3.5 rating but don't think it merits a 4!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dph1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for one night with two friends, absolutely cracking guest house made to feel very welcome on arrival, we had a room with two single beds and one double which was very spacious and the beds were very comfy, Russell greated us with an excellent breakfast in the morning and couldn't do enough for us.....highly recommended will visit again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I booked a room at the Laburnum as I was travelling through Chester and was too late to travel on to my next destination. An overnight B&B and travel on the following morning seemed the best option. I called the owner who confirmed my booking. As I would be arriving after 11pm and the owners don't live on-site she told me that a key would be left in an outside location (which obviously I will keep discrete) and that I could let myself in on arrival. I did so and arrived after a snowy and cold journey.

The Laburnum is an old townhouse/terrace style building and is therefore necessarily constrained by its architecture. As a result the room was on the small side and there was the minimal additional furniture beside the bed that the room could accommodate. The bed was comfortable, however, and the room was clean. There was a small en-suite bathroom that was quite modern and clean but only had a shower.

I slept quite well and to room was certainly clean. The following morning one of the owners was downstairs and greeted me for breakfast. I was the only person taking breakfast and it was cooked to order. The gentleman was friendly and quite chatty and the food was fine. If memory serves me right some of the ingredients actually came from their own self-sufficiency (was it the eggs? Can't recall exactly). The breakfast was certainly good and hearty and I left shortly after breakfast having paid my bill with the owner who was again very hospitable.

Allin all this was a perfectly adequate overnight stay and I have no complaints. If you are someone who likes a good sized room or who plans to spend some time in your room (or plans to do any work or study) I would go elsewhere as the room I stayed in was very small. For those looking for nothing more than a place to put their head down in a clean bed and get a decent breakfast in the morning, however, it should hit the mark.

It is very convenient for the centre of Chester and also a fairly easy walk from the railway station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamianHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

just spent three nights in chester at laburnum house. lovely people and great breakfast. Russell was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him or his wife Anne. the b & b is just round the corner from all the main attractions and there is some lovely eating places within five minutes walk

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just back from a 3 day stay at the Laburnum, the visit was very satisfactory. Friendly ,helpful owners Russell & Anne. Clean ,comfortable room, very good breakfast.
I could not fault this guest house at all. I heartily recommend it
Position is excellent too, Within 5mins of Chester's high streets

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morty237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

me and my wife have just arrived home from a short trip to chester staying at the laburum house hotel,after arriving in chester we couldnt find our way to the hotel so we was running late to check in,we then recieved a phone call from the landlord russell on telling him we were lost he told us to stay where we are he would come and meet us,in all the years ive been travelling the landlord has never came out of his/her way to meet me,the hotel itself is in a great location for the town and the city walls and does a great breakfast russell couln't do anymore for u if he tried,thanx russell for making our stay very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wooders25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#33 of 79 in Chester
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 79 in Chester
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#9 of 25 in Chester
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
0.3 mi away
Chester Apartments
Chester Apartments
#1 of 25 in Chester
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House

Property: Laburnum House
Address: 2 St. Anne Street, Chester CH1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Laburnum House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing