We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I`ve enjoyed the stay very much!”
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #22 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Kulmbach, Germany
1 review
“I`ve enjoyed the stay very much!”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The service was excellent. The proprietors very helpful and friendly and made us feel at home. The room was spaceous and comfortable. We were given a superb breakfast. We'll certainly return on our next trip to Chester.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorKulmbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
103
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I stayed 2 nights in a very roomy, comfortable double room which was on offer for only £1 more than a single room! Nicely appointed and decorated with a large ensuite.Can't fault it. I chose full English Breakfast which filled me up nicely for the day and David ,the owner, was keen to provide the customer's choice. In fact he was overall very friendly and welcoming. Location was in 'Guest House Alley' which is a stiff 15 minute walk downhill (and back uphill!) to the city centre. No problem for me but non-walkers may prefer a car, bus or taxi. Once there the Cathedral, Roman Walls and all the rest are in easy reach. A walk round the Walls provided a complete circuit of the City with lots of history (mostly Roman), plus views of the Racecourse, River Dee, Canal etc. Other attractions include the Grosvenor Museum (a must see, and free), The Rows with their unique building style and I believe there are some shops. For a meal I can recommend the pub/restaurant directly opposite the Guest House which offered excellent food at good prices, and no travelling. Overall well recommended and worth its 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuovadisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ehingen on the Danube
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We were at the Ch. Lodge for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Very nice rooms with TV, shower and toilet.
Dave does cheat a bit, his mum makes the great breakfast :-). Take the english breakfast and you don't need another meal 'til the evening.
Very polite, correct and always cheerful, that's Dave, who also provides you any info at all about Chester (beautiful town), or almost anything else.
Definitely to be recommended.
Close to Nth. Wales, fantastic scenery, Liverpool, we went to see the Mathew Str. Music Festival.
Please take the time to get a new PHOTO of Ch. Lodge. on the Internet. Unfortunately I forgot to take one.
Hanne and Peter

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KopExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Just got to say the service was excellent. Everyone was v v friendly. If I return to chester again I would definitely be checking availability at the Cheltenham lodge first.

FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsMarkymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The room and service was excellent. Cleanliness could not be faulted.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLDMarketRasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Arrived for the races in chester.B+B on the main road (a56) into chester.Not far from centre. Rooms beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Mr hudson ordered a cab for the 10 min journey to the races,nothing was too much trouble. he even lent me his lucky tie as i had forgotten to pack mine. For a meal or a drink check out the Oaklands opposite the b+b. Best nights sleep we,ve had for years.Very comfortable beds.Nice bright and airy rooms with sitting area and led tv,s in rooms. Next day very nice full english with a choice of breakfast and a good choice of cereals. will definately be back next year. A minor improvement might be shower gell and shampoo in the en- suite as we had forgotten them as well as my tie!!! Oh.....Yes it was a lucky tie We WON £225 on the gee gee,s !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomboomLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Cheltenham lodge was in an excellent location just a short walk into the town centre, the rooms were very clean and we were well looked after by the proprietor. There is also an excellent Chinese restaurant just down the road and plenty of places to eat and drink just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#15 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#9 of 79 in Chester
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#14 of 79 in Chester
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#31 of 79 in Chester
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#39 of 79 in Chester
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing