We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No reply to enquiry” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #22 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No reply to enquiry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I emailed an enquiry to the Cheltenham Lodge more than 3 days ago and still have not had a reply. I hope this is not an indication of the service they offer. Needless to say I've booked somewhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltlodge, Owner at Cheltenham Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear sir /Madame. At the time of your enquiry we were away aboard on holiday. Unfortunately as we are a small family run Guest House we have to close to do so. As for your comments about the service provided at the Cheltenham Lodge please read ALL MY OTHER REVIEWS where you will find everyone was more than satisfied with the service given. Normally we reply to all our emails even if we are unable to accommodate people offering them alternative dates.

However I do apologise for your inconvenience. I hope you enjoy your stay in Chester as it is a beautiful City that offers a wealth of historic interest as well as being a vibrant city offering you a diverse range of activities including shopping, dining, horse racing, or cruising on the River Dee.

Best regards

David Hudson
Cheltenham Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
101
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
GlengormleyNI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed at this B&B on route to Liverpool-Belfast ferry. Owners very friendly and helpful. We had our 8 month old son with us and landlady helped us drying clothes and preparing breakfast for him. Rooms clean, comfortable and tidy and a hearty breakfast in the morning. Convenient to M53 from Liverpool and about 15 minutes walk from Chester centre. There's even a pub directly across the road for a nightcap.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

An enjoyable stay. Convenient for local bus routes into the city centre. Also within walking distance,around 30 minutes walk. Local pubs and eateries on the Hoole Road too. friendly hosts, with a good knowledge of the area. Nice spacious room with separate en suite bathroom. Good choice of breakfast available.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_sweblancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Excellent all round - the downstairs room was very convenient for my wife, who has a walking disability. We certainly intend to stay here again! The pub across the road provides an excellent lasagne for two for £9 - but don't order the sausages!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glossop
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We were looking for a warm, friendly and cosy b& b that would accomadate a 22 month old child- believe me this is hard to find and we found it here.We were given the ground floor room for easy acsess for the push chair, lovley cot bedding and most inportantly nothing was to much to ask David.This is probile the cleanest b&b we ve stayed in.The breakfast here is brilliant - you wont need much lunch!David also was very noligable of the area, were to go , how to get there ect....we loved it so much here were already planning on coming back in September.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachphilandruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

I stayed at the Cheltenham Lodge for 6 months and found it extremely comfortable, friendly and homely. Before choosing the Cheltenham Lodge I tried several hotels but after finding the Cheltenham Lodge I stayed. They made me feel so welcome and I would certainly return there if my work takes me to Chester again. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Travelled to Chester for a family wedding with twin teenage daughters and 6 year old son. Girls room and family room more than adequate. Useful facilities: en-suite, tv/dvd, coffee making. Fresh clean towels. Owner even lent the children dvds to watch. Breakfast was marvellous. Will stay here again and would recommend that you do too.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#20 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#12 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#39 of 81 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing