We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable, warm and good food”
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #23 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, warm and good food”
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We spent a weekend, together with friends, at Cheltenham Lodge (in between the snow falls). It was a first visit to Chester and we were impressed with the city and the guesthouse. A warm welcome from David who was great with his information on what to see and where to eat. For ease, there is a Hungry Horse on the opposite side of the road if you come back exhausted from all that Chester has to offer. The breakfasts had an extensive choice and kept us going all day. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
102
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I went onto Chester for one night, and the lodge was really good.the owner David, was a wonderful guy who helped you in every possible way.makes you feel like at home.gave me all the things I needed.ironing board,alarm clock,and a super breakfast!the wi-fi was really handy since I needed it to use the internet.the room was small but cosy.The bathroom was good and very clean.you can stay even whole day undisturbed.and can have a wonderful nights sleep.nothing to complain at all.Lastly I would say that its super value for money.I would definitely choose this place if I goto chester again.well done guys!Keep up the good work..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

An excellent place to stay at a very reasonable price. Very friendly service and a good breakfast to start the day. I had a single room which was on the small side, but it had a bed and a shower and was clean - good enough for me! David is a very knowledgeable host with plenty of suggestions with what to do. Just outside the town centre (which I like) with good transport links to the M53, M56 and beyond. While there I had a problem with water leaking into my car. David gave me a couple of old towels to soak up the water, service above and beyond the call of duty as far as I'm concerned. Would not hesitate to stay again if I should return to Chester.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Bigwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Received a warm welcome from the owner on arrival. Very nice guest house. We stayed in the premier room and it was very spacious. The only thing I would have to say that is on the down side is that the bed was not that comfortable, I suppose this is down to personal preference though and i'm sure David the owner would have sorted some more pillows if we had asked. Also there is only a shower in the en-suite. This was a very minor problem though. Had a lovely time and the brekfast was gorgeous, there were a couple of options for the hot dishes, which was nice. There are a lot of B&Bs and Guest Houses on this stretch of road so choosing one was a bit overwhelming, this was a very goog choice though, and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We booked in on the Saturday lunchtime and thirty minutes later we were in the centre of Chester. The owner is a mine of information about where to go and what to see.
The accomodation was clean and inviting, the rooms large and airy, and the location was ideal. The breakfast was great with a variety of options, and the service was second to none. All in all I would recommend this accomodation to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Booked last minute, never been to Chester before or the Cheltenham Lodge. The stay was great; room was extremely spacious, biggest B&B room I have stayed in. Food was excellent, breakfast choice perfect; we filled up every morning for a full day’s itinerary. Owners extremely helpful, recommended eateries, if you go you must try the Caribbean restaurant up the street. Loved Chester, lots to see and do, we will be back. Oh forgot to say - great shopping!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmith37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The staff were very friendly and helpful with places to visit, to eat at and for night time entertainment. The room was very clean with all the amenities you need for a weekend away. The breakfasts were lovely - good choice and you didn't have to wait long for it to arrive. The hotels location was only a 15 min walk away from the town centre, with the river close by, and plenty of shops and restaurants. They even let us keep the car there at the end of our stay while we went into town so we didn't have to pay for any parking!
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteemma215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#14 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#31 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#9 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing