We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret it”
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #22 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You won't regret it”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Absolutely up to standard. I mean, there are a whole loads of other B&Bs and hotels even on the very same row itself but Cheltenham certainly is at the top i reckon (since i've nvr stayed at any other accommodations before). My girlfriend and I were very satisfied that we were reluctant to leave at the end of our trip. David has been absolutely helpful and friendly, smiling all the time and helping us out on getting around Chester.
If you're looking for a place that is quiet for a good night sleep and a comfy room, i would definitely recommend this. Breakfast is prepared by the owners and are usually done within 10 minutes. They've got cereals, toasts and a typical english breakfast.
If you're driving, the location is superb and Cheltenham even has a spacious parking space. Even if you're walking, it's only 10 mins away from the train station and 15 - 20 mins from city centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatsudaShun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
104
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

After being delayed by road works we arrived on a Friday evening to a warm welcome from David. The hotel is in a very good location. Twenty minute walk into town, also on a bus route. Convenient Hungry Horse pub across the road. Lovely luxury room with sofa, TV, large shower in the en-suite. Excellent breakfast. David is full of knowledge about Chester, places to visit, places to eat, and so helpful. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Very good location- in walking distance of Chester town centre but with nice local amenities in village of Hoole. 10 min drive to Cheshire Oaks Shopping Village. Lovely luxury room with nice seating area with TV, settee and chair. Very clean. Good breakfast. Lots of good advice from owner.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We spent a weekend, together with friends, at Cheltenham Lodge (in between the snow falls). It was a first visit to Chester and we were impressed with the city and the guesthouse. A warm welcome from David who was great with his information on what to see and where to eat. For ease, there is a Hungry Horse on the opposite side of the road if you come back exhausted from all that Chester has to offer. The breakfasts had an extensive choice and kept us going all day. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I went onto Chester for one night, and the lodge was really good.the owner David, was a wonderful guy who helped you in every possible way.makes you feel like at home.gave me all the things I needed.ironing board,alarm clock,and a super breakfast!the wi-fi was really handy since I needed it to use the internet.the room was small but cosy.The bathroom was good and very clean.you can stay even whole day undisturbed.and can have a wonderful nights sleep.nothing to complain at all.Lastly I would say that its super value for money.I would definitely choose this place if I goto chester again.well done guys!Keep up the good work..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

An excellent place to stay at a very reasonable price. Very friendly service and a good breakfast to start the day. I had a single room which was on the small side, but it had a bed and a shower and was clean - good enough for me! David is a very knowledgeable host with plenty of suggestions with what to do. Just outside the town centre (which I like) with good transport links to the M53, M56 and beyond. While there I had a problem with water leaking into my car. David gave me a couple of old towels to soak up the water, service above and beyond the call of duty as far as I'm concerned. Would not hesitate to stay again if I should return to Chester.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Bigwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Received a warm welcome from the owner on arrival. Very nice guest house. We stayed in the premier room and it was very spacious. The only thing I would have to say that is on the down side is that the bed was not that comfortable, I suppose this is down to personal preference though and i'm sure David the owner would have sorted some more pillows if we had asked. Also there is only a shower in the en-suite. This was a very minor problem though. Had a lovely time and the brekfast was gorgeous, there were a couple of options for the hot dishes, which was nice. There are a lot of B&Bs and Guest Houses on this stretch of road so choosing one was a bit overwhelming, this was a very goog choice though, and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#9 of 79 in Chester
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#17 of 79 in Chester
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#29 of 79 in Chester
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing