We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes Guest House
Ranked #55 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at this guest house on Saturday 30th June 2012, we booked two family rooms, four adults and two children. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. The breakfast room was nice and the breakfast was good. I would deifinately stay at this guest house again if I went to Chester

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahmac2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My Daughter and Myself visited Chester on spec and decided to stay over.

As it was Chester Race Day, there were very few rooms available.

As we liked the look of The Limes Guest House, we knocked and asked anyway - and the Owner, had just had a last minute cancellation - what luck.

The Limes was clean, comfortable, homely, and was first rate.

The Owner was welcoming, and very accomadating.

She even cooked us an early breakfast, as we had to set off for home at 7.30am.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone - and would return myself, in the future.

The Breakfasts were nicely cooked and substantial, and there was a choice of fruit juice, cereals and fruit, in the Dining Room, which was spotlessly clean.

If you visit Chester, you must stay at The Limes.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment - as people will return to this Guest House, as it is so well run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at The Limes 12 years ago and spur of the moment decided to visit Chester. Thankfully The Limes is still running & we had the ground floor double room. Lovely shower room, nice big towels, very comfortable bed with blankets, but this made a pleasant change. Large sofa in the room and a very clean carpet. Nice breakfast to start the day with lots of coffee. The Limes is a short walk from the City & ideal for a short drive to the Zoo. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is very large with a sofa and very good size modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This B&B is very well placed for all Chester's attractions, the rooms are very comfortable, spotless and very nicely furnished. Excellent breakfast, and Mal (the owner) kindly recommended places for evening meals, which was highly successful. All in all a very pleasant stay, we will be recommending The Limes to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple after a wedding at Chester zoo and were happy to be able to check in at 1030am before the wedding meaning we had somewhere to get changed and drop our bags.
The breakfast was tasty and we were able to sit with our friends on a 4 seater table.

Personally I prefer duvets to sheets as I find them more comfortable and our friends room across the hall seemed a lot bigger than ours so may be worth asking for a particular room before you check in...

Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherglen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Excellently located for the centre of Chester and all main roads to the surrounding area. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great - good choices and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, and an easy walk to the city centre. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful (Although a request for poached eggs was denied??).
There was a leak from the ceiling in the morning, turns out the people above us had left the shower curtain outside of the tub whilst they were showering, should maybe invest in shower screens.
Didn't really have any interaction with the hosts, so I can't comment on that. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#17 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Garth Guest House
Glen Garth Guest House
#47 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#8 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#14 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Guest House

Property: The Limes Guest House
Address: 12 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Limes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Guest House Hotel Chester
The Limes Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing