We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice weekend at this welcoming guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes Guest House
Ranked #56 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Managed to park easily in the good size carpark. A warm welcome from the owner Mel on arrival and issued a key each for the front door and bedroom.

We were on the top floor (room 6) with a double and 2 single beds. Nice spacious room with nice clean linen on the comfy beds (sheets and blankets rather than duvet) .Plenty of extra bedding and pillows in the wardrobe.
2 comfy chairs and quite a few scatter cushions as well.

The ceiling light also had a fan which could be turned on at different speeds-very welcome on this warm weekend.
Plenty of electric sockets in the room. Hairdryer supplied but the safety cut-out seemed to kick in when it got hot after using it for a few minutes.( Used my own travel hairdryer to finish my long hair off so worth taking one along.)
A notice on the wall said iron/ironing board was available.
Wall mounted Freeview flatscreen TV .We couldn't get BBC signal on ours, don't know if that's the case throughout the house, but plenty of other channels available.

The usual beverage tray with tea,coffee,sugar,milk with 4 glasses as well as the 4 cups & saucers.

Plenty of drawers, tops and cupboards for our possessions.

Decent size bathroom with electric shower over the bath. The nice big fluffy towels replaced each day and complimentary shower gel,shampoo and soaps. It was nice to have a toothbrush holder on the wall, not seen this in many places .

Room well maintained with nice clean carpet and curtains.In fact the whole place was clean and well decorated .
The breakfast room was spacious with help yourself to cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices.Also perculated coffee. Toast and tea served at table , along with the cooked breakfast which was very well presented and well cooked . All served by Mel and a friendly young girl. Pleasant outlook over the garden area from the breakfast room. A good start to the day!

Ideally situated being only a short walk into town but far enough out to get away from the hustle & bustle later at night . Banks with outside cashpoints and shops very close by.

Next door,just a few metres walk over the road on the opposite corner to The limes , is The Lodge Bar which is part of The Bawn Lodge hotel. Very popular and also has a beer garden with patio heaters.Free Wi-fi in there as well much to our sons delight. Nice and handy just to roll out of the bar back to the guest house just a few steps away ;)

We felt really welcome and at home at The Limes Guest House and will certainly book here again.

Thanks to Mel and staff for making it a brilliant weekend :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in room 9, a really pleasant room, of good size on the ground floor, shower adequate, double bed comfortable, we were concerned that we may have a problem with noise but this was not the case. Windows need some attention as they were difficult to open. Breakfast was tasty, well presented and plentiful although an extended end time would be appreciated. Mel and staff were kind and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, a really pleasant room, of good size on the ground floor, shower adequate, doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights ,car parking on site so easy to walk to the race-course. Only took 25 minutes from the B&B to the course. Look out for Toby Carvery vouchers on " offer " web-sites as nearest carvery is only 1 mile away.

B&B very nice , welcoming staff , decent breakfast , could have done with a bath as well as a shower ,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

stayed at the limes 6 april early check in was very handy staff were warm and friendly room was very big clean and tidy shower was good plenty of power also there was a trouser press hair dryer tea and coffee facilitys excellent value for money breakfast was very nice would love to stay again

Room Tip: room 9 ground floor was very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123jag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've now stayed in the Limes four times and find it a very clean and homely choice. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast is excellent and Mel is extremely helpful and hospitable.
The car park is a plus and the city centre is only a steady 15 minute walk away. A good choice

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at The Limes for a single night as part of a weekend break in Chester.

Overall, we found The Limes to be suitably priced for a standard double en suite room. The location wasn't really central but was on a main road with a bus stop right outside, so this wasn't really a problem.

Our reception was warm and welcoming and we were shown up to a surprisingly spacious room. However, we couldn't help but feel it was a little dated and bland, with mismatched furniture, but it was nevertheless 'comfortable'. We noticed squeaky floorboards near the foot of the bed and patches upon the bathroom floor where the wood was looking very worn. A general update to the room, with a few improvements here and there would really do a lot for this hotel. Despite this, we could not complain about any noise as the hotel was quiet at all times of the day, and the room in itself was clean.

As for breakfast, there was a decent choice of food and beverages on offer and we opted for a cooked breakfast which was acceptable, but nothing to shout about.

Throughout our stay all staff members were very polite and helpful, and when we decided not to go out for our night-time meal due to cold weather, the owner of the hotel had no problems with us bringing takeaway food into the room.

Chester itself offered enough to keep us busy for one day, but no more. However, we feel that warmer weather would provide more opportunities for this place, as the town itself is very idyllic and the riverside would have been a perfect place to sit on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcainley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed for one night 1st December to do some Christmas shopping/relaxing. The B & B is around a ten minute walk to the city centre - not too far on a clear day. We stayed in Room 9 on the ground floor and were amazed by the size of the room as described by a previous reviewer. The shower wasn't the most powerful but was certainly enough to do its job! I was surprised at how the comfy the bed was and had a great nights sleep.

We left the following morning after a tasty English breakfast (information about breakfast etc was on a sign on the wall as soon as we entered our room) and had a pretty nice stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Can't comment on any of the others, but Room 9 on the ground floor was huge! Even though it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJH_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Guest House

Address: 12 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes is a family run bed & breakfast in Hoole just outside the beautiful walled City of Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Limes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Guest House Hotel Chester
The Limes Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing