We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good welcome, a bit old fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We picked this hotel because it is dog friendly but then didn't take the dog! Also chose it because we were meeting family in Hoole and Upton so very well placed. Hotel run by charming couple - very friendly. Our room first floor front was spacious enough, clean enough but decor very 'traditional' and flowery. Bathroom very cramped and although nice towels, toiletries very basic. Breakfast was fine and on arrival we were told we could have what we liked from the 'bar' and 'fess up' to it when we left. We went to a good Chinese restaurant - The Shanghai - just up the Hoole Road on the night we arrived. It is a bit of a hike into Chester but no problem to us. Overall, enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

Location given as 10 minutes away from town centre but it would take you a lot longer to walk the distance. Room was very small, dated furnishing and badly in need of decorating, shower room very small with a very noisy electric fan. Strong smell of fish when light was left on for any length of time. Inadequate toiletries supplied and not replenished daily. Although sheets/pillow cases were clean it became obvious that the bedspread hadnt been washed after being used by previous guests as the smell of perspiration was quite strong. Breakfast was adequate and freshly made however I agree with a previous reviewer that the coffee was always luke warm

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband & stayed for a night in this lovely place. Although the walk into town was longer than anticipated and there did not seem to be many conveniences nearby, our room was clean with a very comfy bed and the host was just lovely with an excellent sense of humour and a sparkle in the eye. We had a very tasty full breakfast in the adorable front room (although the coffee needs serious improvement!) Overall, I would recommend this B&B to anyone willing to walk into Chester.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

staying at the Hamilton Court in july 09 we booked it because of its location and its 4* rating.advertised 10min walk to city centre it took us 25 mins,we were given our keys never shown to the room and the room was tiny. the decor and furnishings were vere very dated and the bathroom tiny.the pedal bin was broken the shaver light did not not work and the towel rail was loose.the bar was never open and the breakfast although cooked well could have more substantial(bacon,egg,sausage).the coffee was luke warm from a perculator and our dirty plates were not collected till we got up to leave the table.overall dissapointed a good 2* but never a 4*.wont go back.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank blainscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

When your wife agrees to meet a long lost friend in Chester that's a good idea! Deciding to meet on a weekend race meeting, that's a bad idea! We have visited Chester on day trips and for race meetings and always chosen hotels. As this was a last minute booking we had to consider a guest house and what a good choice that was! We found Hamilton Court just off Hoole Road, about a mile and a half from the City Centre. Booking in at 12 was a delight and we were met by a charming host who guided us to our room.
The room was clean, tidy and hospitable with en suite facilities. Everything our previous booked hotels had only minus the expense. We were guided into the City Centre on foot by the helpful and friendly staff.
After being dragged around Chester shops etc we returned to the guest house where the shower and facilities were excellent. A taxi into Chester at night was ordered for us at no cost or inconvenience and we were offered good off the beat watering holes away from the drunken revellers and race goers.
On the Sunday morning we had an excellent breakfast with choice of full English, eggs on toast (poached/scrambled etc), cereal and as much tea and coffee as you wanted.
There was no noise from fellow guests either at night or early morning.
For £69 we had the best stay in Chester in over 10 years.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Claudio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 45 in Chester
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 45 in Chester
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#10 of 76 in Chester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#6 of 76 in Chester
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheltenham Lodge
Cheltenham Lodge
#23 of 76 in Chester
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bed & Breakfast Bed & Breakfast 5 Hamilton Street, Chester CH2 3JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £66 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing