We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just back from 2 nights at his lovely hotel/pub. We were in room 2 which is a standared double, no TV or radio but it didn't bother us. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern although there was only a shower and this wasn't at all powerful but this was only a minor issue. Tea/coffee, towels, shower gel and shampoo were provided.
The location is spot on only 2 mins to the city walls/river and 5mins to the main shopping centre. The pub itself was very nice and while we were there a band was playing on the Saturday night, as our room was above the bar it was quite noisy especially as it was a hot night and a lot of people were outside drinking. We've booked to go back in September and have asked for a rear room but it wasn't too noisy and wouldn't put us off staying in the front rooms again.

Room Tip: ask for a back room if you want a quieter one but they may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had gone to Chester for some shopping and ended up staying over. We had only gone in the pub for a drink, but ended up enquiring how much the rooms were..at £49, we couldn't refuse!

We were given a superior room as that's all that was left! It was spacious with a 4 poster! It was convenient for the shops plus free parking at the back! I can recommend this lovely inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My girlfriend and I popped in here for a quick drink this past Saturday night and we really liked it. The decor is fabulous; dark, rich wood and leather, lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even exchanging a drink with no questions asked when my girlfriend's half a cider didn't agree with her after the initial sip. Definitely worth a punt if you're in Chester city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _richardkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch with my mum and sister when in chester for a day out. From the outside I wasn't expecting much - just a standard pub lunch. Inside it was a quant pub lit with candles and there was nice classical music playing. There wasnt many people inside although it was a weekday lunchtime and was pouring down outside.
The menu is standard pub food - burger and chips, lasagna, bangers and mash etc. I ordered bangers and mash and the others in my party ordered burger and chips and steak and ale pudding I think. When the food came out we were all starving and the food looked lovely. My bangers and mash was really nice. The sausages were a very good quality and there was a red wine gravy that really complimented the whole dish. The burger that came out was huge! It was definiltley handmade. The chips were nice and thick and crispy. There was a balsamic and pesto drizzle at the side of the chips which was nice for dipping. All dishes were all presented in a very nice way. Much fancier than we expected on walking into the pub. The price was also very good for the food.

All in all it was a lovely birthday lunch and I will definiltley make sure I return to this pub when next in chester.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank moosey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

my daughter surprised me for my birthday and my wife with a weekend away in chester ,im so glad she booked the olde kings head the rooms were comfy and clean, food and beer excellent and saff very friendly have booked to go back for my wifes birthday in december cannot wait.our friends could not book into the same place as they were fully booked they stayed up the road but next time they are in the same place as they love it . from ken dibdin

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mair d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Ideally located for seeing the city with the added bonus that it has parking so you can leave the car and explore the city on foot. We received a warm welcome from the staff and the owner even took the trouble to greet us. We had a quaint but tastefully furnished and very clean room with fresh flowers on the bedside table - a lovely touch. The breakfast was freshly cooked and tasted so good that we decided to eat there the following evening when we found the food was every bit as good and reasonably priced. All the staff were very willing to please and nothing was too much trouble - thank you for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChalfontC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Food was very impressive - we both had the lasagne, and agreed it was probably the best pub lasagne we'd ever had, thick and meaty with a decent pail of chips on the side. Staff were friendly and welcoming, although there was quite a wait between the starter and main. Even after they asked if we were ready for it there was at least another 10-15 minutes before the food arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £93 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Ye Olde King's Head Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing