We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I can not say enough good things about this place, i have been a few times in the past and each time i visit i find the changes amazing, Harry and Becky the owners are really working hard to make this the place it is now, had a family meal while we were walking along the river last month and could not fault the food or price.
I stayed last night in a fantastic room at a good price, the option of staying and not rushing back to Wrexham after a few pints was worth while when you weigh up your cost of public transport and having free car parking.
The charm of the staff and the character of the pub makes a fantastic place,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    90
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The kings head is in a brilliant location, literally a three minute walk to the river one way and the town hall the other way. It's close to the bus exchange (around ten min walk) and there are restaraunts literally two minutes from the door. 24/7 tesco close by for bottled water etc. Breakfast was excellent quality would recommend sausage and egg on ciabatta although service quite slow. Room was comfortable and pretty, which made up for size as it was quite small, but nicely decorated and had a nice view of surrounding old buildings. I would definitely recommend staying here, the location made all the difference to our stay, as it was so easy and fast to go where we wanted to. Staff all very friendly and helpful and atmosphere generally relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shcorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were staying in a b and b so just wanted a drink and meal. Our drinks were fine but also ordered food at same time, Only to be told about 15 minutes later that the chef had to make some more chips Ok. But during this time the chef was seen walking about the pub.. When asked when food would bw served no reply, so we gave up and got our money back and left.
I dont agree with the many revues on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I have spoken to the staff concerned, they have assured me that when placing the order, you were informed of the delay for homemade chips. All our food is cooked fresh when ordered, this can sometimes command a longer waiting time. We are extremely sorry that your order was delayed longer than expected, for this we apologise and a full refund was given.

Our head chef had a number of orders in the kitchen at the time and was definitely not in the bar. Another member of the kitchen staff could possibly have popped down, but it was not the head chef.

You state that you don't agree with the majority of our reviews on trip-advisor, but this does not echo the numerous complimentary comments received both on trip-advisor, via email and social media.

We do apologise again for your wait, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just back from 2 nights at his lovely hotel/pub. We were in room 2 which is a standared double, no TV or radio but it didn't bother us. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern although there was only a shower and this wasn't at all powerful but this was only a minor issue. Tea/coffee, towels, shower gel and shampoo were provided.
The location is spot on only 2 mins to the city walls/river and 5mins to the main shopping centre. The pub itself was very nice and while we were there a band was playing on the Saturday night, as our room was above the bar it was quite noisy especially as it was a hot night and a lot of people were outside drinking. We've booked to go back in September and have asked for a rear room but it wasn't too noisy and wouldn't put us off staying in the front rooms again.

Room Tip: ask for a back room if you want a quieter one but they may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had gone to Chester for some shopping and ended up staying over. We had only gone in the pub for a drink, but ended up enquiring how much the rooms were..at £49, we couldn't refuse!

We were given a superior room as that's all that was left! It was spacious with a 4 poster! It was convenient for the shops plus free parking at the back! I can recommend this lovely inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My girlfriend and I popped in here for a quick drink this past Saturday night and we really liked it. The decor is fabulous; dark, rich wood and leather, lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even exchanging a drink with no questions asked when my girlfriend's half a cider didn't agree with her after the initial sip. Definitely worth a punt if you're in Chester city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _richardkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch with my mum and sister when in chester for a day out. From the outside I wasn't expecting much - just a standard pub lunch. Inside it was a quant pub lit with candles and there was nice classical music playing. There wasnt many people inside although it was a weekday lunchtime and was pouring down outside.
The menu is standard pub food - burger and chips, lasagna, bangers and mash etc. I ordered bangers and mash and the others in my party ordered burger and chips and steak and ale pudding I think. When the food came out we were all starving and the food looked lovely. My bangers and mash was really nice. The sausages were a very good quality and there was a red wine gravy that really complimented the whole dish. The burger that came out was huge! It was definiltley handmade. The chips were nice and thick and crispy. There was a balsamic and pesto drizzle at the side of the chips which was nice for dipping. All dishes were all presented in a very nice way. Much fancier than we expected on walking into the pub. The price was also very good for the food.

All in all it was a lovely birthday lunch and I will definiltley make sure I return to this pub when next in chester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moosey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Property: Ye Olde King's Head
Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Ye Olde King's Head Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing