We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went with friends and had the most amazing meal in a very warm and friendly atmosphere . The food was absolutely wonderful & The staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble . We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've visited Ye Olde King's Head many times and had lovely freshly cooked food but sadly won't be visiting again as the food quality isn't up to their usual standard.
The food wasn't good atall, the description on the menu ' BBQ Chicken Goujons - Hand battered in a secret recipe batter' - sounded great but .. wasn't.
There appears to have been a change in the staff to their detriment and the pub lacks atmosphere during the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

It is quite disappointing to think that on the numerous occasions that you have visited us and enjoyed your visit, including the time when you and your partner received a complimentary bottle of wine for your anniversary...you did not think this fitting to add a favourable review on tripadvisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, but we have not served the mentioned dish for a number of weeks now. We are aware that you have been informed of the departure of one member of staff, of which you were extremely fond. We do hope that this has not jaded your opinion and given you the impetus to write your review. Apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited the kings head on the 17th of May. Which we should of been staying but unfortunately do to gas leak the accommodation is not open. We still popped in for a drink. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the manager Chris could not do enough for us. Fantastic pub with great history we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your support, we can not apologise enough that you were unable to stay with us on this occasion due to the unexpected gas leak. We are pleased to hear that you stayed for a drink in the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere of the property. We are hopeful that all the work will be complete within the next week. We thank you again and look forward to you joining us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I booked this hotel a month ago & arrived at 9.30 pm May 1st to find it in darkness & all locked up. A notice in the window announced 'CLOSED" with no number to call.

I asked at a nearby bar if anyone could help me. The Crosskeys staff were wonderful & told me about another place to stay. Someone looked in through a downstairs window & could see someone drinking by the light of a candle. ghost, homeless person or owner, who knows!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank minarety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We can only apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. Unfortunately, we had a gas leak and obviously our main concern was for the safety of our staff, customers and guests, therefore the property was closed immediately. The staff then spent hours contacting guests and informing them of the situation. Unfortunately some bookings which were made through booking agents don't give us all the guests contact details, if this was the case, we contacted the booking agent directly and asked them to contact individuals on our behalf. We apologise that they did not inform you. The person sitting by candlelight that you mention in your review was probably a staff member continuing to contact guests. We have never had a problem like this in the two and half years that we have owned the business and we hope it never happens again. The pub is now open and we hope to have our rooms available for guests within the next week. We send our sincere apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Had a party thrown upstairs in the function room, staff decorated the room how we wanted it, and the saff who were on bar all night were fantastic and friendly all night, would recommened this place for a function, a hotel get away, or even juat a drink in the bar downstairs, we have never been dissapointed with this place! We Love it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just had a 3 night break at Ye Olde Kings Head, nice roomy old worldy accomodation, evening meals lovely, bar staff fantastic, very welcoming and friendly, a good laugh was had by everyone. Close to river and central. Girls - the Baileys coffees were fantastic, thanks for making our stay so much fun. I think we frightened the ghosts away, as the only spirits we saw were in the bar!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz21856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Truly amazing little B&B with 8 bedrooms this property is full of character and is the most haunted building in Chester with just adds to the experience. Booking direct with the owners we got a great deal £89.00 B&B including parking. We arrived a few hours later in the sunshine and we were greeted by the manageress who tbh booked us in swiftly and showed us to our room, number 2. The room had a great view to the front and was brimming with charm with its own en-suite and sloping floors. This place really is packed with history and right in the heart of Chester. You cant hear any noise from the pub downstairs as the walls are really thick.

We spent the majority of the evening in the pub as the drinks were reasonably priced and the place had a good atmosphere and entertainment. Breakfast was good, fresh and plentiful. We didn't experience any ghostliness which was a shame but we will definitely stay here again for sure. Step out the front door and your right in the heart of the shops, close to places to eat and within a few minutes walk to the river Dee.

A credit to the owners, personable staff and very friendly a true representation of Chester and its history.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Ye Olde King's Head Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing