We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff provided an excellent level of service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly Staff provided an excellent level of service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed one night at the Property in room 1 (four poster) with my wife following a last minute decision to get away and see Chester. From start to finish nothing was too much trouble, Bar service was prompt and the food excellent.
Make sure that you get a parking place in the garage at the rear (£10) and go for the breakfast it was excellent.
It's not often that I'm tempted to eat where I'm staying, especially when I want to get around and see the sights. On this occasion however, given the friendly informal atmosphere we are glad we feasted at the Inn.
Well done team, we will be back in the near future!!

Room Tip: Go for room 1 (four poster with the bell), it's fairly compact however very atmospheric (say no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    90
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked this hotel over the internet using bookings.com before coming to the UK - paid and received our confirmation, was very keen due to the reputation as being haunted - thought that would be fun, in fact it was the main driver behind coming to chester otherwise might have kept on driving and stayed elsewhere. Anyway - turned up to the hotel about 6ish and presented our booking info to the person behind the bar only to be told "we don't do accommodation anymore, weren't you told?" - well apparently not other wise I wouldn't be here! When I pointed out that this booking was made many weeks prior I was told it was the internet booking agency's fault. So - they refunded our money on the spot and did give us a free drink while we surfed the internet on our ipad looking for a vacancy....the person behind the bar tried to help and gave us the name of a few local hotels we could try. Took us 2 hours to find another hotel unfortunately which left us little time for dinner or to do anything else.

Room Tip: Ring and check your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Called in with friends on a recent visit to Chester.Fabulous food and really friendly atmosphere at ye olde kings head ..Friendly staff and a great place to sit and chill out. Will definitely come here again when we next visit Chester .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went with friends and had the most amazing meal in a very warm and friendly atmosphere . The food was absolutely wonderful & The staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble . We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've visited Ye Olde King's Head many times and had lovely freshly cooked food but sadly won't be visiting again as the food quality isn't up to their usual standard.
The food wasn't good atall, the description on the menu ' BBQ Chicken Goujons - Hand battered in a secret recipe batter' - sounded great but .. wasn't.
There appears to have been a change in the staff to their detriment and the pub lacks atmosphere during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It is quite disappointing to think that on the numerous occasions that you have visited us and enjoyed your visit, including the time when you and your partner received a complimentary bottle of wine for your anniversary...you did not think this fitting to add a favourable review on tripadvisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, but we have not served the mentioned dish for a number of weeks now. We are aware that you have been informed of the departure of one member of staff, of which you were extremely fond. We do hope that this has not jaded your opinion and given you the impetus to write your review. Apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited the kings head on the 17th of May. Which we should of been staying but unfortunately do to gas leak the accommodation is not open. We still popped in for a drink. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the manager Chris could not do enough for us. Fantastic pub with great history we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your support, we can not apologise enough that you were unable to stay with us on this occasion due to the unexpected gas leak. We are pleased to hear that you stayed for a drink in the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere of the property. We are hopeful that all the work will be complete within the next week. We thank you again and look forward to you joining us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel a month ago & arrived at 9.30 pm May 1st to find it in darkness & all locked up. A notice in the window announced 'CLOSED" with no number to call.

I asked at a nearby bar if anyone could help me. The Crosskeys staff were wonderful & told me about another place to stay. Someone looked in through a downstairs window & could see someone drinking by the light of a candle. ghost, homeless person or owner, who knows!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank minarety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We can only apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. Unfortunately, we had a gas leak and obviously our main concern was for the safety of our staff, customers and guests, therefore the property was closed immediately. The staff then spent hours contacting guests and informing them of the situation. Unfortunately some bookings which were made through booking agents don't give us all the guests contact details, if this was the case, we contacted the booking agent directly and asked them to contact individuals on our behalf. We apologise that they did not inform you. The person sitting by candlelight that you mention in your review was probably a staff member continuing to contact guests. We have never had a problem like this in the two and half years that we have owned the business and we hope it never happens again. The pub is now open and we hope to have our rooms available for guests within the next week. We send our sincere apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Property: Ye Olde King's Head
Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Ye Olde King's Head Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing