We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”

Hanky Panky Pancakes
Ranked #12 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hanky Panky Pancakes is a creperie with a British twist. We have a lovely range of local cheeses, ice creams, teas and beers to go with your pancake. Naughty but nice! *Please note on bank holidays we are open 10am-4pm*
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I discovered this place upon recommendation of a friend and i instantly loved it from the art on the walls to the menu absolutely delicious. Staff are incredibly friendly definately a cheerful little gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmygoshbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are very pleased you found us and enjoyed your Hanky Panky visit. Thank you for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    106
    22
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pancakes”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of a friend, the milk shake was nice. I had the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup which was very nice, although could have done with more maple syrup. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonEdholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your bacon and maple syrup pancake., If you choose this one again and would like more maple syrup please let us know and we will happily bring you some more :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We popped in to Hanky Panky Pancakes on our way back to Reading from Holyhead ferry. It is a lovely little cafe with interesting feature frames on the walls. Very friendly and attentive staff. It is extremely good value for money. A quite large milkshake for the kids for £1 best value I have come across. The stack of pancakes with blueberry compote I had were delicious and with a free pot of lovely tea for about £6 again very very reasonable. I would definitely recommend it for service, value and quality. Thank Hanky Panky Pancakes!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank singapore597625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for visiting HP whilst on your travels., and thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our feature frames have been fun to do, each one has the same brief "Hanky Panky" it has been fascinating to see how each person has interpreted this. The blueberry pancakes are a big favourite with us too, although we do have quite a few favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive but poorly described pancakes!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited with both my daughters. The look of the place is good and the staff friendly. My daughters chose sweet pancakes and I had a savoury one. The sticky toffee pancake was exactly as described, very sweet but delicious. The other sweet pancake was described as being accompanied by white chocolate and passion fruit ice cream. However, there was no flavour of either but the ice cream was nice. I chose a blue cheese pancake but was disappointed by the amount of blue cheese. Pancakes are essentially tasteless without filling/topping so I ended up leaving about a third as I'd run out of filling. Service was good though and we didn't have to wait too long for the pancakes to arrive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nsadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review HP here on Tripadvisor. We hope you enjoyed your visit despite the issues you mentioned.

One thing we are definitely finding is that is very difficult to cater for everyone's tastes, all we can hope is that customers will let us know so we can cater accordingly. Burt's blue cheese is lovely and quite strong. So far, we have had more people ask for less rather than more. We are really sorry you were disappointed but hope you visit again, we assure you we will happily prepare your pancake to your taste if you let us know.

The white chocolate ice cream is delicious (just tried some) but as you mentioned does not have a strong white chocolate taste, we will have a chat to Backford Belles and see if the recipe can be tweaked. Thank you for your feedback it is really helpful to hear how HP is from a customers perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“If you like pancakes then you will love this place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had lunch here with my son, daughter and grand-daughter. Great place if you're looking for something to go with a pancake.

You can get the basic sugar, or go more exotic and try the ham, egg and baby spinach, I did, yum yum.

Great place for kids young and old, you can even watch them make the pancakes. If busy it will be a bit of a wait, but well worth it.

The choice of teas and other drinks is good, only fly in the ointment was their "coke" substitute, overpriced and not very nice.

Overall I enjoyed the visit and would go back again and again, bang goes the diet....!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesKeggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Owner at Hanky Panky Pancakes, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are delighted with the mix of people and ages who are enjoying HP, it makes for a lovely atmosphere.

When considering the kind of place we wished to open, local produce and "different to the rest of the high street "were key ideas. As a result, as far as possible we are trying to supply drinks, ice creams and ingredients you won't find in all the large chain restaurants. Fentimans traditional drinks are very popular and not a large multi national so we have decided to sell these.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your Curiosity cola, please let us know in the future and we will be happy to exchange or refund accordingly.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at HP :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanky Panky Pancakes also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Hanky Panky Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing